We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Off Advanced Purchase
Ranked #18 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Hampshire
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was our first time to South Beach. My boyfriend and I had the BEST time!! We stayed at the Surfcomber (this was our first time at any of the Kempton properties, which I was informed that they have so many!). After this trip we will always look for a Kempton property, it was lovely! What really made our stay was the staff! They made sure that all of our needs were met, especially Chase! He went out of his way to make sure we had a great time! He told us somethings do to around Miami and gave great suggestions. Thank you Surfcomber for a great experience in Miami and thank you Chase for making a difference in our stay!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donte J, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Nikki H,

Thank you so much for taking the opportunity to share your amazing experience. It is always great to hear that our guests are having such a great time with us AND that our staff can take such great care of you, especially Chase! I will be sure to personally thank Chase for doing such a great job with his hospitality and care. We certainly hope that you have the opportunity to come back and stay with us again soon.

Thank you again!

-Donte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,109
    524
    154
    46
    30
See reviews for
393
620
74
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

the staff was amazing here, we got in late from the airport and they were super helpful we were in our rooms and able to change in a speedy check in, we stopped down stairs at the restaurant bar, was not too busy but the bar staff was friendly and the cocktails were good, the pool was nice clean and plenty of chairs the next afternoon, the passionfruit mojito was just that, good but expensive!! they really add up quickly, overall a great place to stay and close to so many other places we were heading.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donte J, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
656deenanyc,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your amazing experience. I love to see that our team was able to take such great care of you and your girls while you are here. The drinks are amazing, and even though everything down here on South Beach is a little more expensive, I always see the bartenders taking the time and love to make each drink special. We certainly hope that you have the opportunity to come back and stay with us again soon.

Thank you again!

-Donte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilltown,
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We decided to have a last minute team meeting and decided on a South Beach location. The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful, even with a number of last minute changes. They also helped us arrange several team building events that went on without a hitch. The rooms were clean. The food was great. The morning and afternoon beverages and bites were a wonderful treat. The meeting room was small, but worked well for our group. We've had several staff members return to the Surfcomber since we held our meeting.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donte J, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
KarenHf,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your amazing experience. I am thrilled to know that we were able to host your team meeting here at the Surfcomber Hotel. Regardless of what brings you down to South Beach we want to ensure that we can cater to every need and make it the best stay imaginable. I certainly hope that you think about us the next time you are heading to South Beach for a little get away or another team meeting.

Thank you again,

-Donte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

The hotel was clean and beautiful. The wrap around balcony room was wonderful especially in the evening when it cooled off a little outside. Beautiful view of the pool and beach. The pool was great. The dine in food was delicious and high quality a little pricey, $200 for and entree and desert and a drink for 2 adults and 2 children.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donte J, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Milena S,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your amazing experience. I am thrilled to see that you were able to take such great advantage of our beautiful Balcony Suite. Sometimes the little things can be such a luxury to have, especially when getting away from reality for a bit. We certainly hope that you have the opportunity to come back and stay with us again soon.

Thank you again!

-Donte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I spent 5 nights in March at The Surfcomber, which is a Kimpton Hotel located in an idyllic location in South Beach. The hotel is an older low lying structure that has been renovated but has maintained a number of art deco accents both on the exterior and in the lobby. A primary reason for going to Surfcomber was its Kimpton name, direct access to the beach, its nice size pool and location, which gets you close to Ocean Drive and other prime South Beach destinations. We were not disappointed; the weather helped but the property is sparkling and generally well staffed. We found the pool crew (Manuel) and the front desk (Kenneth) to be particularly helpful. At times other staff at the front desk appeared a bit confused but they always tried to be helpful. We recommend you park at a public lot on 17th street to avoid the lofty valet charges.

We received a complementary upgrade upon arrival to an interior room facing the garden walkway, which was a good thing as otherwise our room would have faced the quite active Collins Avenue. The rooms are modern but on the smaller size; we particularly liked the comfortable king size bed and rain-shower fixture in the bathroom. The room has a refrigerator stuffed with pricey goodies, which can be temporarily removed to make room for wine or your special beverage.

We spent time at several Kimptons in recent years and feel the brand delivers nicely. However, we did have a couple of peeves with the Surfcomber. The absence of functioning bikes, an advertised feature, is disappointing especially considering the $25 a day resort fee. In addition, we purchased the add-on breakfast, which, compared to breakfasts at other Kimptons was a simple bare bones continental affair. The wait staff did, however, allow for some substitutions, a gesture that was very much appreciated.

All in all the Surfcomber is a nice place to stay and a comparatively good value considering the overall features, location and service.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Surfcomber was a delight. The service was impeccable starting from he moment we drove up in our car. Room was clean and well-appointed. Resort amenities are varied and top notch. We enjoyed the pool area (showers, lounge chairs, ping pong and cornhole) and the beach services (chair/umbrella,drinks). Perfect. Location is walking distance to Lincoln Rd Mall and Ocean Drive/South Beach, but far enough away to have a chance of some quiet. We prefer a sophisticated hotel, not pretentious, with a distinct personality and the Surfcomber meets that for us. Will definitely stay here anytime we are in Miami Beach.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donte J, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
KAnthony2008,

Thank you so much for taking the opportunity to share your amazing experience. I am always thrilled to see that our guests are able to take advantage of all of our amenities and that our staff provides that amazing service that we are known for. We certainly hope the next time you find yourself in South Beach we will see you again.

Thank you again!

-Donte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After an exceptional experience at a Kimpton property in DC for New Years Eve, we decided to head to the Surfcomber in SOBE. The staff knows how to run this place and they're excellent at it! With an exceptional level of service, kindness, and all around hospitality, one of the best decisions we made on our recent trip to South Beach was to stay at the Surfcomber. My friends and I were obviously excited to get out of the northeast snowstorms and head down to Miami, but our time at the Surfcomber really made the trip. What's great about this boutique hotel is that it's intimate, right on the beach, not trying to be big and showy like other places, and yet they manage to deliver class and elegance without being over the top. (Kimpton properties tend to deliver well on this in my experience). We spent most of the time at the pool, and the staff around the pool couldn't have been more doting and hospitable. One employee in particular- Chase --kept coming and checking up on us, helping us with anything we needed, did a wonderful job interacting with both our group, and others around the pool, and he was outstanding. We'd absolutely come back to The Surfcomber again and have already told a number of friends about our great experience and encouraged them to stay here in the future.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.