We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ladies wknd with phenomenal service, location and amenities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fly South This Winter
Ranked #13 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Great ladies wknd with phenomenal service, location and amenities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

The location is unbeatable for SoBe and the service by everyone -- from the concierge (Brad) to the beach attendants (Andy, Laz and Goog) to the ladies at the front desk were all world class. If that's not enough, there are a ton of free amenities including beach chairs, yoga on the beach, hosted wine hour in the lobby, etc. great value for the money too!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,032
    486
    140
    41
    23
See reviews for
358
579
70
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Thank you to everyone at the Surfcomber for making my birthday/graduation celebration experience amazing, From Mercedes, Brad, Chase, Gilbert, the friendly Vallet guys and everyone else whose name I am forgetting, your kindness and cheerfulness went a long way, especially the personalized birthday card signed by some of the staff, such a nice touch.
Can't wait to visit again!!

Room Tip: If you can upgrade to a suite it is so big
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My boyfriend and I stayed here to celebrate my 30th birthday and had a great time for the most part. The hotel is nicely located on Collins so pretty much sits on the beach, and quick walking distance to Ocean Drive and the main strip on south beach.

It's a Kimpton so nicely designed lobby and rooms. The rooms looked great, but were a tad small for my liking but I guess that's what you get for this area so it's standard, I was not a fan of the bed but my boyfriend found it comfortable. The bathroom looks nicely designed but didn't function as best it could. The shower only had glass for half of the length, no door. We found the floor of the very tiny bathroom soaked every day after our showers.. even when trying to be conscious of the lack of a door.

Also standard on South Beach, but kind of a bummer - the $20/day resort fee. It was nice they had chairs on the beach, but I don't know if it was $20/day worth... especially in December (we went to the beach for an hour during a 4 day trip.)

The staff was very friendly to us and very helpful. There were bikes you can sign out but we had an issue with one and were given a card to rent the citibikes instead, for free of charge. Since it was my birthday, they brought up sparkling wine and cookies, along with a card signed by the staff. Nice personal touch, I appreciated it.

The Social Club restaurant located in the hotel was very nice. Loved the vibe and food was great. It was perfect for us as we were exhausted from traveling the day we arrived, so we were thrilled to not have to go far for a good dinner.

As we checked out, my boyfriend was sitting on a couch in the lobby and I was shocked that he was approached by a man who would help men get prostitutes booked. As he was being harassed, staff noticed this but did not remove the man from their lobby.. shocking.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here many times before the new owners and remodel. It was nice then, But now its excellent. We love it at Surfcomber. The customer service is excellent. Our room was nice and clean, the intire staff was very helpful and always ask if we needed anything. Shot out to the beach staff as well, Andrea, Andy, Christopher, The Pina Colada's were the bomb guys, Keep up the good service, see you all again in April.

Neeta Berry and Ed Bailey, From Michigan.

Room Tip: If you want to be in the center of it all, this is the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I visited the hotel a month ago with a friend, and we really enjoyed the room and the pool. I have nothing bad to say except for the fact that the servers who worked around the pool had to ware outrageous outfits. All the servers were girls in minimal sized bikinis and a see through scarf around the hips. They all looked very uncomfortable and were constantly pulling down the scarf to cover their bottoms. It was sad to see that kind of sexism at an otherwise great hotel.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donte J, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Malin S,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your great experience. I am glad to hear that you felt this is a great hotel, and I hope you will be just as happy to hear that the uniforms for our female pool servers has recently changed from the outfit that you are referring to. We certainly hope that you have the opportunity to come back and stay with us again soon.

Thank you again!

-Donte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is superb. Staff is friendly and consistantly ensured our stay for 4 nights was memorable. Kenneth at the front desk gave us details on the entire hotel and facility while also suggesting a fabulous tapas restaurant down the street. Martin at the desk assisted above and beyond in a pinch of a situation. Goog, Andrea, Laz and the beach service team were on point and never let us feel like we were at an ordinary hotel. They asked how we were doing and if we needed additional food and beverage often. Islande, our housekeeper was so gracious and kind - she made us feel right at home!

Above all - this hotel shines bright and I'd recommend anyone visiting Miami to enjoy its quaint south beach charm. Bravo!

Room Tip: They have only a few ocean view rooms - pay the little bit extra for a one of a kind view.
See more room tips
Green Features: Kimpton is well known for being LEED Certified so I know this hotel practices a ton of environmentally friendly strategies.
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donte J, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Tommy A,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your amazing experience. I am so thrilled to see that you were able to enjoy so much of the hotel and even more so that our team from the front desk to housekeeping did such a great job making you feel welcomed and at home. I will be sure to personally thank Kenneth, Martin, Goog, Andrea and Laz for their outstanding service during your stay. We certainly hope that you have the opportunity to come back and stay with us again soon.

Thank you again!

-Donte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed there in a working trip. The place is just god for one or two nights. Next time we will look into TA before. The walls are weak so you have somme problems to sleep. I will not return. ...... people are nice and helpful.


  • Stayed September 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donte J, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
pgerom,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. I am so sorry to hear that you felt you could not stay with us for more than 2 nights and that the walls were weak causing issues sleeping. We never want a guest to feel that this is not a hotel they would love to come back to. We certainly hope that if for work or holiday you make another trip to Miami that you would give us the opportunity to make your next stay positively memorable.

Thank you again,

-Donte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.