We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fashionable Hotel, good Service, Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fly South This Winter
Ranked #13 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
New City, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fashionable Hotel, good Service, Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Nicely Renovated Hotel on the Beach in the Center of South Beach
Reasonably Priced and excellent Services , great Value.
It has come a long way since my first Stay at this Hotel Since 1969
The Location is just off Lincoln Road, an area of Great Restaurants, Art Galleries, and Shopping

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Shrothman,

Thank you for the return visit! One of the things I love most about South Beach is the history We would love to see some before and after pics of your visit from 1969 compared to today! We really appreciate your business and hope we see you soon!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,031
    484
    140
    41
    23
See reviews for
357
579
70
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indian Head, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the Surfcomber in mid July 2014 on my way to Curacao. The hotel is in a great location within walking distance to nightlife, food & the beach. South Beach is known as a party town so I was worried about whether it would be appropriate for for my 9 year old daughter but the Surfcomber staff made her feel right at home. The Surfcomber is very trendy, impeccably clean & the staff is friendly, professional & knowledgeable. Beginning with arrival the Bell staff greeted my family with umbrellas in the pouring rain & assured us that the rain would stop shortly. Jorges hipped us to all the great local spots. The Front Desk staff was very accommodating & the food at the Social Club was amazing. The hotel has a path directly to the beach, however it rained the entire day. BUT to my surprise our poolside cocktail waitress offered my family a complimentary poolside cabana to enjoy the WorldCup because management felt bad that it had been raining all day. Talk about customer service! The fun began with Wine hour & lunch @ the Social Club. The General Manager was very engaging during wine hour & even poured a few glasses. We also decided to visit a recommended spot for pizza & brought it back to the hotel. To my surprise again, Foxie offered my family plates, linen napkins & told us to sit & enjoy our pizza together while it was still hot. When we finally returned to our room that evening, to my 9 year old daughters surprise in our room was the best red velvet cupcakes that I've had & a chilled bottle of champagne. I've been a Kimpton InTouch member for years & I hold Kimpton in high regard. Although my stay was short, the Surfcomber exceeded my expectations. Upon departure the GM was in the lobby greeting and wishing guests farewell. What a nice touch! Needless to say... I'm getting back to the Surfcomber ASAP. Kimpton 4 LIFE!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Danielle M-

Thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We are so happy to hear that you had such a great time with us. We do our best to keep the fun going even when it rains! We appreciate you taking the time to call out the hard working team that helped make your stay memorable. For our GM, there is nothing more important but to make sure every single guest leaves happy! We cannot wait to welcome you back!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I stayed at the Surfcomber from July 18-23 with three of my friends for a bachelorette. We absolutely loved the hotel, it's location, and the customer service received. We are not from Miami, which is why we wanted to get to do as much as possible. Brad Low in concierge was extremely helpful and patient. He helped us plan all of our activities and gave us a lot of really good recommendations. He works hard and tries to ensure that you are having the best experience possible.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
valerie P-

We couldn't agree with you more; Brad is incredible! He enjoys making sure our guests have the best possible experience while visiting Miami Beach. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look foward to seeing you again.

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DENVER COLORADO
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This was our second time visiting the hotel. We love the location, pool, beach and their staff is amazing. Kenneth at the front desk is wonderful, always a smile and a "can do" attitude. Enjoyed their new restaurant, and the cabanas by the pool are comfortable and beautiful. Highly recommend, and make sure you are a Kimpton Karma member, their properties are awesome.

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms are great
See more room tips
Green Features: Their properties are certified by the Green Key Eco-Rating system.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
ELICASTLE09-

Thank you for your return visit to Surfcomber! We are happy that you took advantage of all of the perks of being a Kimpton Karma Member. Free wifi, room preferences, raid the bar, and free room nights. We can't wait for your third stay; come back soon!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed at the Surfcomber in May 2013, for our first time in Miami Beach. It was quite difficult to choose a hotel but we relied on the other reviews and our previous Kimpton experiences, which were always a success. And we definitely do not regret our choice! The location is great, the staff is, as always, extremely helpful and friendly, the hotel stylish, the pool area great (we loved Remi the black sheep), and the access to the beach easy. As in all Kimpton hotels, the beds are so comfortable.... and the bigelow bath amenities are always a great plus!
We can't wait to be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Alphabrune,

We are glad that you chose to stay with us at Surfcomber! We appreciate your continued loyalty to Kimpton Hotels and look foward to welcoming you back again.

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

My wife and I just returned from a short week stay at the Surfcomber and it was perfect... We come down very often since we have lots of family in the miami/ ft. lauderdale area..We have stayed at many of the hotels in Miami, hollywood & ft. lauderdale and this one took us by surprise as to how perfect it was.. The pool was beautiful and never overly crowded.. The beach was the same there was always plenty of chairs & umbrella available.. Rooms were very clean.. Hotel smelled amazing the entire place smelled like fresh flowers.. The staff was on a personal first name basis with us after day 1 and provided us with everything we needed.. There was actually an individual at the pool one day who was staying at another hotel next to us who could not believe how friendly the staff at the pool was.. Gia at the pool was the best she gives a good vibe and keeps your drinks full all the time.. Leslie at the inside bar made these amazing drinks that you can actually take to the pool which was great.. I dont remember the mans name that worked the valet but he was a complete gentleman with my wife everytime we went in and out.. I can keep going on forever!!! We booked this hotel last minute because we were going to stay at the Eden Roc where we have stayed before.. We decided to try something new strictly on tripadvisor ratings and it totally paid off... We were within walking distance to everything!!! They had free coffee in the morning for us in the main lobby & a free continental breakfast everyday or complimentary drinks at the pool or bar.. Free wine in the main lobby from 5-6 everyday with 3 different selections and some finger foods.. The only thing i can say is that you would be foolish not to stay at this hotel.. We came down as a couple to get away but next time we will bring the kids it was perfect for both...We always like to try new places but i think for sure the next couple times we come down we will be staples at the surfcomber!!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor with a garden view.. the room was perfect for us but we didnt really sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
cmenduina,

We are very happy to hear you had such a great stay! Thank you for sharing the detailed experience with the world. We will be sure to share the incredible comments with the entire team! We look foward to making your next stay amazing!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I must say that I enjoyed my stay and as soon as you arrive you're greeted with smiles and willingness to assist. My experience with Surfcomber was wonderful from the time I drove up to my front desk check in, my towels brought to me for my midnight swim, to my lunch by the pool in a cabana and all the way to checking out . great service and wonderful place to relax and be revived. Beach was excellent too. I loved every moment there..... Thanks Surfcomber's Staff

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Tonya L,

Thank you for sharing the great experience with the TripAdvisor community! We appreciate your business and look foward to seeing you again!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.