We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accommodations at Surfcomber” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% off
Ranked #27 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
1 review
“Excellent Accommodations at Surfcomber”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Our stay at the Surfcomber was a very good experience. I would stay there again and I would recommend it to all my family and friends. Our room was great, the design and ambiance was wonderful!!!!!! It was very spacious and clean!!!!! The bathroom was very clean but a bit tight. My only concern is that the shower/tub needed a door and handwrail inside the shower/tub. Thank you so much for making our first stay so wonderful.

Kenneth at the front desk was wonderful and very informative!!!!!!!

Andrea who worked the beach for refreshments/meals was great!!!!! And very informative!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Ramona W-

Thank you for the recent stay and reccomending our hotel to the world! We will be sure to share the great comments with the team. We look foward to making the next stay amazing!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,317
    628
    179
    59
    39
See reviews for
469
737
91
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gurnee, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I've been to South Beach a bunch of times, but mostly on business trips. My husband and I went for a long weekend, and I wanted a place on the beach in a good location. After lots of hemming and hawing over which hotel to pick, I cannot be happier that I picked the Surfcomber. We visited lots of the neighboring hotels for drinks, to scope their scene, etc, and while there are lots of nice places, we will definitely go back to the Surfcomber again. Service was top notch! From the greetings at the front door, to the desk staff, to the housekeeping service, to the beach service (Rene is on his game! I hope I got his name right?). It's not a huge place, which I liked. Location is outstanding, the beach there is fabulous, and everything is walking distance.

Room Tip: We had a king balcony room that looked out over the pool. It was a great location. Just a little o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
GinaG10,

We are very happy you chose to stay with us during your last trip to South Beach! We are really happy to hear that you had such a great stay. We will be sure to share the great feedback with the entire team. Look foward to seeing you soon!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Stayed with friends for a girls weekend! Everything was awesome! We especially loved wine hour and the sangria. Everyone was super nice....especially Lateef at the door and the front desk girls Marcedes and Raia. We will definitely be back to visit!! Thanks for everything :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Keeta83-

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your girls weekend! I agree with you completely; that summer sangria is delicious! We will be sure the share the great feedback with the team, especially Lateef, Mercedes, and Rai! We look foward to seeing you soon!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Not everything was perfect, but top atmosphere and excellent service made up for it. Staff is very competent and troughly caring. Families seem to be as welcome as business travellers - resulting in a good guest mix.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Peter K-

Thank you for staying with us in South Beach! We appreciate your kind comments about our caring and hard working staff. Thank you again and we look foward to seeing you again.

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Can't say enough good things about this hotel....art deco perfection...great location..good food...pool..restaurants...worth every penny....Kenneth at the front desk is amazing!!!!...Kimpton has the best training program for employees. .am a Kimpton Karma member and they do take care of us! Thank you Kimpton for always making my stay special. Love you guys!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Elisa G-

What a great review! Thank you so much for sharing the wonderful feedback and the continued loyalty. We think Kenneth is amazing too. Our rewards program, Kimpton Karma, was just revamped - so there are now more perks including Kimpton Karma for dining in the restaurant! Be sure to login to your Kimpton Karma account on the website to checkout special offers! We can't wait for your next visit!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I can't say enough nice things about Keith, the bellman. He was pleasant, attentive, and made me feel so welcome. Even his co-workers adore him; Adrian, the bellman he was training, told me learning from Keith means you are learning from the best. Adrian was also personable, polite, and knowledgeable (even though he had only been there for 2 weeks).

The hotel also has a very nice pool with a waterfall and a little "beach area" with chairs and sand.

I definitely plan to return to the Surfcomber!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Susan K,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share the great comments! Keith is creating clones so that every single guest is well taken care of during the overnight. We are glad the cloning is paying off so far! We look foward to seeing you again.

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

7 girls, 2 rooms, 1 bachelorette party. I'll keep my review to the hotel to keep from mucking things up for you.

The basics: The hotel is nice and clean, they have a really nice staff but it seems more family oriented than for the party crowd. It's conveniently located but not in the midst of the Ocean drive madness. You can certainly walk to most places but not all and certainly not in heels!
They have a restaurant on site which serves ok food but beware, if they are a little busy your order is guaranteed to come out wrong (our average was 3 out of 7 had something wrong). There is a pool which gets pretty darned warm by mid-day. The pictures make it look a lot larger than it is and when there is a bunch of kids splashing around in there it feels even smaller. The pool has a bar and serve staff so drinks and food are delivered to your lounge chair. The hotel also has beach access but your room only gets you a couple of beach chairs and no umbrella (that's an additional $20) which i think is a little kick in the pants. You pay enough for the room and service charge that this one seemed a little excessive. They have a happy hour (wine) from 5-6 which is a nice little break before you schlep to your room to ready yourself for the evening. They were supposed to have a Saturday pool party but alas, that is only once a month now and we only found this out when we realized it wasn't the Saturday we were there. The next door hotel was going nuts with their pool party so it made us a bit jealous but what can you do?

Pros: the staff is uber-nice and for the most part will have you feeling like you're the focus of their work there. I would have to say that the most notable was Keith. This guy was super-friendly. He took care of us beyond what we have normally experienced in other hotels. The pool staff was also exceptionally accommodating and helpful. They always had a smile on their faces and made us feel taken care of.

Cons: the cleaning staff leaves a lot of room for improvement. Remember, we had 7 girls and 2 rooms? we asked for extra towels and shampoos. They delivered upon request, but come the next morning, the cleaning staff promptly removed all and replaced with enough for just 2 people even though we tipped her the very first morning. She also did not leave any extra toilet paper (which we had to request and wait for over an hour). The second morning when she did the cleaning she managed to even leave dirty cups and wine glasses everywhere. I'm not sure what she did beyond making the beds, but clearly she wasn't up to par with the rest of the hotel staff.

All in all i would say the place is clean with a great staff. If you're a couple or with family i would highly recommend staying here. If you're a bunch of girls or guys out for a good time, there are more 'party friendly' hotels out there that would be more suitable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
shellyse,

Thank you for taking the time to share you experience with the TripAdvisor community! We use our guests feedback to continue to refine and improve the experience. It sounds like you and the bachelorettes had a great time overal; so we are very happy we could be a part of the special experience. The comments about our restaurant and housekeeping were really dissapointing; we are certainly better than that. I am truly sorry that we dropped the ball in those two areas so much. We have already brought the feedback up with the team so they same mistakes don't happen in the future. Our pool will feature parties once per month. There will be more to come on some of these enhancements soon on our website. Once again, thank you for choosing to spend the weekend with us. We do hope that you come visit us again.

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#11 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,416 reviews
Thompson Miami Beach
#3 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 691 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#19 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,164 reviews
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#8 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 613 reviews
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#48 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.