We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in South Beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fly South This Winter
Ranked #17 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
lakewood, ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great Stay in South Beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My husband and I spent just a couple of nights at the Surfcomber while on a layover between flights. It was our first time visiting Miami, which can be slightly overwhelming at times. We really loved the Surfcomber as it was a relaxing resort that met all of our needs. Unfortunately it rained most of the time that we were there, so we didn't get to enjoy the beach as much as we'd hoped. The pool was really refreshing and we especially enjoyed the hotel restaurant and bar. We were able to walk to some other clubs in the evening, so the Surfcomber was definitely in a great location. Now that we've been to Miami and have gotten a sense of what the city has to offer, we're looking forward to going back and would definitely return to the Surfcomber!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
brandiwithay,

Thank you for the recent stay and review. We know you will love the resort even more with better weather!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,064
    500
    144
    43
    27
See reviews for
374
593
72
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Had the best time at surfcomber this summer. The staff were really nice and helpful, the rooms were clean and nice. There were complimentary refreshments in the morning and also in the afternoon (5pm was sangria time!). During the world cup they had a massive screen placed with seats for people to watch and it was near the beach. The people working on the beach were great too. The lady Andrea looked after us in a superb fashion while we were enjoying our time at the beach. Another guy James as well did a great job! You cant go wrong if u stay here

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Stevan P-

Thank you for the recent stay and sharing your experience. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the incredible service our beach team provides! We will see you again soon!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Everything was perfect.Delicious coffee, tea... wine tastings. The evening bar & restuarant manager was delightful. He helped us with our late night swim orders, and even brought over extra french fries. We rode bikes before work. And did have the opportunity to enjoy our free beach chairs. Beach service perfect! Only problem were late night partiers outside my door. If not for that it would have been perfect!

Room Tip: We were located on the first floor - loved it! We didn't have a luggage rack and only one robe...
See more room tips
Green Features: Anything they can and are wiling to do we are in full support of.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
TravellingScoo -

Thank you for the recent stay and great review. We think Ehren is delightful; really happy that you agree and shared the picture. Next time just give a call down when the neighbors are too noisy so we can address. We hope to see you soon!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I hosted eight girls here for a bachelorette weekend and everything was fantastic. The staff was so accommodating and really went above and beyond to make sure the weekend was perfect. The pool and cabana area were great for hosting a group. We never had to leave the pool once we got down there. The rooms were spacious enough for three of us to stay in one room. The location is central to dining, shopping and night life. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
NolaTravels324-

Thank you for choosing the Surfcombe to host the bachelorette weekend! So happy to hear everything was fantastic. We look foward to welcoming you back soon.

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My wife and I just stayed at the Surfcomber and we had a wonderful time! The reason why we had a wonderful time was the great staff! They were polite, courteous and a lot of fun. I’ve been to South Beach and Florida many times and mostly the hotels are all the same. But what makes a hotel great is the staff and the Surfcomber has an excellent staff. If you are going to South Beach I highly recommend the Surfcomber!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
John P,

We love hearing that our staff make our hotel amazing! Thank you for the stay and sharing your experience. Please come visit us again soon!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This was my first trip to South beach in Years. The Surfcomber was the perfect spot for my trip. Very relaxed atmosphere, Quiet & clean. Nice pool, Great hotel, great staff, great service. could use a better gym..

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the beach
See more room tips
Green Features: top notch. Very "Green" & healthily hotel
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
rob k,

We thank you for choosing the Surfcomber! Happy to hear you had a great stay. We hope you come back soon!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Great location, but not as quiet as I'd hoped. I had a room next to the courtyard, and every morning before7, a housekeeper or bread an or somebody with a squeaky bread cart rolled down the sidewalk noisily. The reception area is not properly staffed and you spend a while waiting if you want to check in or ask anything. I ended up going to a hotel next door to ask their concierge what I wanted to know.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
shoesArkansas,

Thank you for the recent stay and sharing your experience. I am really sorry about the room noise and staffing at the front desk. This certainly is not typical of the experience. We do hope that you give us another chance.

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.