We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off + FREE Upgrade
Ranked #14 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
“Best time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Had the best time at surfcomber this summer. The staff were really nice and helpful, the rooms were clean and nice. There were complimentary refreshments in the morning and also in the afternoon (5pm was sangria time!). During the world cup they had a massive screen placed with seats for people to watch and it was near the beach. The people working on the beach were great too. The lady Andrea looked after us in a superb fashion while we were enjoying our time at the beach. Another guy James as well did a great job! You cant go wrong if u stay here

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Stevan P-

Thank you for the recent stay and sharing your experience. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the incredible service our beach team provides! We will see you again soon!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    987
    458
    134
    40
    22
See reviews for
346
549
68
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Everything was perfect.Delicious coffee, tea... wine tastings. The evening bar & restuarant manager was delightful. He helped us with our late night swim orders, and even brought over extra french fries. We rode bikes before work. And did have the opportunity to enjoy our free beach chairs. Beach service perfect! Only problem were late night partiers outside my door. If not for that it would have been perfect!

Room Tip: We were located on the first floor - loved it! We didn't have a luggage rack and only one robe...
See more room tips
Green Features: Anything they can and are wiling to do we are in full support of.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
TravellingScoo -

Thank you for the recent stay and great review. We think Ehren is delightful; really happy that you agree and shared the picture. Next time just give a call down when the neighbors are too noisy so we can address. We hope to see you soon!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I hosted eight girls here for a bachelorette weekend and everything was fantastic. The staff was so accommodating and really went above and beyond to make sure the weekend was perfect. The pool and cabana area were great for hosting a group. We never had to leave the pool once we got down there. The rooms were spacious enough for three of us to stay in one room. The location is central to dining, shopping and night life. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
NolaTravels324-

Thank you for choosing the Surfcombe to host the bachelorette weekend! So happy to hear everything was fantastic. We look foward to welcoming you back soon.

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My wife and I just stayed at the Surfcomber and we had a wonderful time! The reason why we had a wonderful time was the great staff! They were polite, courteous and a lot of fun. I’ve been to South Beach and Florida many times and mostly the hotels are all the same. But what makes a hotel great is the staff and the Surfcomber has an excellent staff. If you are going to South Beach I highly recommend the Surfcomber!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
John P,

We love hearing that our staff make our hotel amazing! Thank you for the stay and sharing your experience. Please come visit us again soon!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This was my first trip to South beach in Years. The Surfcomber was the perfect spot for my trip. Very relaxed atmosphere, Quiet & clean. Nice pool, Great hotel, great staff, great service. could use a better gym..

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the beach
See more room tips
Green Features: top notch. Very "Green" & healthily hotel
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
rob k,

We thank you for choosing the Surfcomber! Happy to hear you had a great stay. We hope you come back soon!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Great location, but not as quiet as I'd hoped. I had a room next to the courtyard, and every morning before7, a housekeeper or bread an or somebody with a squeaky bread cart rolled down the sidewalk noisily. The reception area is not properly staffed and you spend a while waiting if you want to check in or ask anything. I ended up going to a hotel next door to ask their concierge what I wanted to know.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
shoesArkansas,

Thank you for the recent stay and sharing your experience. I am really sorry about the room noise and staffing at the front desk. This certainly is not typical of the experience. We do hope that you give us another chance.

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

In the middle of the "South Beach Scene" this boutique hotel gives you all the Chic-ness without all the noise that you find in some of the other more popular hotels. Rooms have been beautifully upgraded, the pool throws you back in time to another fine "Era" of South Beach. The staff is anxious to help and make sure you have a great experience. Can't wait to come back to the Surfcomber.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
ENSXE-

Your review is well written and describes us very well! We are happy to hear that we were able to make your time in South Beach special. We can't wait to see you again soon!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.