We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off + FREE Upgrade
Ranked #8 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Perfect Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Andrea on the beach was a great server! Hotel staff super nice, especially Marlon on room service. Lovely location! Great art throughout common areas! Crispy snapper and Social burger Devine!! Beach service was consistent every day. They even had big spray at the front desk for those of us that Mosquitos love!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Chris29405-

Thank you for the recent stay and great review! We will be sure to share the great feedback with Andrea! We look foward to seeing you again soon!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,466 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    888
    410
    118
    35
    15
See reviews for
306
494
61
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We come here every year right before July 4, to celebrate our anniversary. We are never disappointed. The people, the food, the drinks are all amazing. It is a low-key environment with high-end service. If there is something that you want that you don't see or have, just ask and it will be provided.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
TravellerBrooklyn_NY,

Same response every year - THANK YOU! We appreciate your continued business and loyalty. We look foward to seeing you next year.

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My best friend and I came to celebrate our 21st birthday's in Miami and had a great time thanks to the Surfcomber! Kenneth at the front desk was so amazing, got us hooked up at all the best clubs and made sure we had the time of our lives. He even sent up a bottle of champagne the day of my friend's birthday which was super sweet. The location is perfect, we barely had to take cabs and when we did they were super cheap. This is a great hotel for young people looking to have some fun in Miami, the guys at the front desk make sure of it!

Room Tip: Request A View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Reagan S-

Thank you for spending such a big birthday with us in South Beach! We are glad Kenneth was able to hook you up with the VIP experience! We look foward to welcoming you back!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Let me start off by saying that we had the best time ever at The Surfcomber (Kimpton Hotel)! We were there for Jo's (Joanna's Dirty Thirty) birthday celebration we stayed in room 368. While booking the hotel I spoke to Angie Pinilla, and she was so sweet, nice, patient, and very helpful. She made everything possible and she was able to make all my request come to light with no problem. The staff Angie Pinilla, Kenneth Walker, Chris Bones, Andrew, and Foxy, if I forgot anyone please forgive me because they were all amazing and went above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed our stay and had a great time! The beds were great, they felt like home, room was clean, and the pool and Lounge areas were fabulous. Right on the Beach and its located on the good part of South Beach. This Hotel is beyond sexy, and the Wine Happy Hour was so nice, they had the best appetizers ever. I could go on, on about this hotel. I have stayed at many hotels on South Beach and have never wrote a review, so this is my first one and I am very happy about writing this one because this hotel deserves all of the praise! It was like being apart of a family, and I don't think they will forget us! lol

Thank you Surfcomber South Beach!
Elayne D. Eason

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Elayne E-

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience! Happy that our amazing team was able to take great care of you and help make Jo's dirty thirty special. I wonder what the 40th will be called...lets not wait until then for your next trip! Hope to see you soon!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Hills, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Awesome trip from beginning to end. Best Customer Service Ever! Kimpton staff really know how to set the bar. It started with Dureall the reservation rep & the impeccable treatment flowed right into the actual hotel. our room wasnt ready when we arrived they took our bags & we went about our day. when we didi check-in our room had been upgraded no questions asked. My husband & I were there to celebrate our wedding anniversary & we felt like the red carpet had been rolled out for us. The Front Desk hotel managers Alex & David were very nice & always jumping in to help. We were on a first name basis by the 2nd day. Hubby & I spent alot of time out by the pool & we got to know Chris the pool manager very well. He took care of us when my husband didnt have a spot to watch the world cup. He along with Alex provided us with a cabana during the hotel's awesome saturday pool party so my husband could watch the game pool side. The poolside staff Marcus & Smith were geat, always ensuring we were ok. They even gave us some local tips on were to hang out & places to eat. Our cabana server was so sweet. We invited some friends to hang out with us poolside & we kept Sam so busy ordering food & drinks. She was just a sweetheart. Our friends stayed at another hotel & want to come back & stay at this hotel becasue of the service & amenities. The employees are the backbone to this great establishment. I said all this to say the staff here is AMAZING!!!!

Oh, the hotel itself. The decorum of the hotel was a beautiful, it was a breath of fresh air. The room was a tad bit small, but we expected that. Plus, we didnt spend much time in the room anyways. The social club breakfast was delicious! Hotel wine hour from 5-6 daily was a bonus. The sangria & hors d'oeuvres were great!

We are definitely coming back! Already planning for my birthday in September & when we could bring the kids. For a couple of first timers in miami, Surfcomber truely made it memorable. If your looking for beautiful hotel with top notch customer service, this is the place.

Green Features: It's so cute they have a trash & recycle bin in the room.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Msmaliksthe1-

WOW - what an incredible review! Thank you very much for sharing your experience. We are very fortunate to have a team that truly enjoys making our guest's stay memorable. You are absolutely right; our service is what makes the Surfcomber the best place to stay in South Beach. We cannot wait to have you come back for another great stay!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manhattan beach, ca
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for a few days over spring break with the kids. First of all, the most important thing is the location here. It's right on Collins in South Beach and a short walk to anywhere you want to go. It's right on the beach and there's a pool as well. When we first arrived after a red eye, the people who greeted us were AWESOME. So helpful, so nice. it's a lovely lobby area and a very nice bathroom to change in (our rooms weren't ready because we were so early). Once we got up to the rooms however we were a little disappointed. The rooms were SO small, which I believe is a common complaint I read with this and many Miami hotels unfortunately. Traveling with 2 kids (ages 10 and 12) was very cramped and we share rooms all over the world with them. Besides the smallness was the fact that the rooms have no balconies and the windows barely open a fraction, so it felt really claustrophobic. To add to that feeling was the fact we could never get the A/C temp right, it was either freezing or deathly hot. The rooms would benefit by an overhead fan just to get some air moving in that room. Very small bathroom and really no where to put 4 pieces of luggage, much less two if it were just my husband and I, we were literally stepping over suitcases just to get around the room.

Another thing I can't stand at hotels is the nickeling and diming of amenities. When you go down to the beach, you have to pay to have a chair and even more if you want an umbrella. And in that heat, you may want some shade. Also, a huge pet peeve of mine is charging for internet. In this day and age, and for what these hotel rooms charge, that should always be FREE!! One caveat: if you join their loyalty program, which I did as others had recommended, the internet is free, so that solved that problem at least. But still...

One other weird thing during our stay: a few people got stuck in the very (teeny tiny) elevator for quite some time, on a couple different occasions. One woman was trapped for quite a while and my husband happened to be in the lobby when she finally got out and went ballistic to the entire lobby and staff about her lengthy trap (I would have been very claustrophobic too) and why no one had helped her. The staff just kind of looked around at each other and one meekly called out "I agree" or something to that effect. I don't know what happened after that but hubby said it was one of those strange things to witness.

So, the plusses:
location, location, location. Friendly lobby staff (beach and pool not as much I felt). Modern cool vibe, good with kids/family. Clean. There's a wine o' clock thing in the evenings and also a morning coffee thing for which I always managed to be too late.

Minuses:
very small rooms, expect to shell out more for beach amenities, avoid the elevators! Must join the loyalty program to have free internet.

Would I stay here again? Probably not for what they charge (it was during spring break I understand), but it wasn't the worst place I've stayed by any means.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
tjoneser-

Thank you for taking the time to share your candid feedback from your recent stay. We agree that our location cannot be beat! The staff truly makes the experience different from our neighbors. Our rooms may not be the biggest on the beach, but I can promise you- they are not the smallest! I reccomend suites when travelling with large families so there is room to spread out. We have a number of oceanfront balcony rooms which are great for catching the fresh ocean air. I am shocked to hear about the lack of response after something like an elevator getting stuck. I have confirmed our elevator company has resolved any issue, and will ensure our team handle more appropriately. We do hope you consider giving us another chance so we can show you an event better experience next time.

Warm regards,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretna, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff at The Surfcomber was absolutely wonderful. I stayed at this hotel for my bachelorette party and the staff treated it as a special event. I was given champagne on check in and then a whole bottle was delivered to my room while I was at dinner the first night with a handwritten note from the concierge. The pool wait staff were fun and very attentive. After my first night, most everyone addressed me by my name and asked how my party was going. I will return to the Surfcomber the next time I'm in SoBe no matter what the occasion.

Room Tip: I did not have a choice whether I wanted a courtyard view or not but lucked out with one. My friends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Lenore M-

Thank you for spending your bachelorette weekend with us! We are honored that we could be a part of the occasion, and happy we helped make it memorable. Don't forget about us for the honeymoon!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.