We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fly South This Winter
Ranked #14 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great weekend visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The Surfcomber is a clean, stylish and comfortable boutique option to the mega hotels on South Beach. The service was excellent - Marco at the pool area was super on top of it and ready with whatever guests could need. Chris, the manager, was also friendly and made a point to personally invite everyone to the daily wine happy hour.
There are two free bikes available for guests (I wish there were more!) and also a free boot camp class on the beach that was excellent and as challenging as any class I've taken at my gym. This was my second time visiting the Surfcomber and I hope to stay again soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
kiranfrye,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us!
Happy to know you had a great visit.

Best,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,039
    488
    140
    42
    23
See reviews for
360
580
71
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Great job all-around by the staff on this excellent boutique property. We got the king room with the balcony.

High points: (1) yucca fries with garlic aoli; (2) beach service (Vinnie took great care of us); (3) cruiser bikes; (4) poolside couple's massage; (5) blackout shades in room.

Areas for (slight) improvement: (1) room wasn't ready when we arrived at 3 pm; (2) balcony has lots of mosquitoes so we didn't spend too long out there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Ben H,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us. I also am a big fan of the yucca fries, when in Miami do those over the regular fries!

Cheers,
Sean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I never post things online, but I wanted to share my great experience at the Surfcomber. This hotel is a great property with a non-pretentious staff and provides very nice amenities at moderate prices for Miami Beach. The hotel GM, Sean, is wonderful. He was very helpful and attentive when my girlfriends planned a girls weekend for me. The staff is extremely friendly from the front desk, servers, to housekeeping. The laid back Miami Beach vibe was perfect. The beach staff and pool staff were very attentive. Our shower had a clogged drain once and maintenance came to fix it quickly and gave us a bottle of wine for the inconvenience. Beach was beautiful, great poolside and beachside dining. I travel a lot and enjoy boutique upscale hotels and the Surfcomber is exactly that! Perfect place for a weekend of fun at the beach.

Green Features: the hotel suites are truly wonderful for entertaining groups of 10-20!
Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
seaside30a,

Thank you for your review! It was great meeting you while you were on property! Happy to know the team made your ladies weekend perfect.

Best,
Sean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We loved staying at the Surfcomber! Beautiful hotel, friendly staff, and close to everything, the pool boys were also very cute!! There were lots of activities to do as well. We had lots of fun relaxing and enjoying Miami! Definitely booking here again!

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Megatron3,

Thank you for sharing your review with us! Please come and visit us again soon.

Best,
Sean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Overall wonderful stay at Surfcomber - would stay here again. Perfect location, great staff, clean and cute rooms. Luxurious sheets and comfortable bed. The deck off the room was fabulous and I'd recommend that strongly. I came primarily for the beach and swimming, did not spend too much time in the room. Loved the easy beach access. Loved the juice bar in Social Club. Good food and drink overall. Easy, breezy resort - it was always easy to get a chair by pool or to grab a cabana at any time of day. Loved the coffee service in the morning and wine in evening. Mostly adults at this hotel, which is definitely a plus.

The staff was wonderful -- always friendly and helpful. Doormen, valet, front desk, restaurant and bar staff. A few favorites - Brad at the front desk and Shanica in the Social Club restaurant. Shanica's smile every morning got my day off to a great start. And Jess who provided beach service - wow - she is superhuman - flawless and friendly service.

Overall I loved it, but there's some room for improvement. Social Club: Breakfast service was extremely slow and off even when not busy - I couldn't tell why this was as everyone looked busy but every day I'd need to ask for napkin, utensils, water, and it'd be 30 minutes before I'd get even a yogurt. Luckily I was not usually in a hurry and the staff was nice. Coffee: I also wish there was coffee in the room so I didn't have to get dressed and go downstairs and could just relax in my room. Beach umbrellas: Would love to pay a flat fee - maybe a Resort Plus fee tier? - for these as the $19 is very nickel-dimey and takes away from the whole experience. Noise level: This did not bother me that much as I was expecting it, but the weekend pool party (day) and SLS next door on weekend nights can be very loud.

I usually stay at Kimpton's on the West Coast and it was the same great experience here as at their other properties.

Room Tip: Oceanfront with balcony required! I would only stay here again in the same type of room - otherwise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Jill206 -

I loved reading about your experience! I'll be sure to share your comments with the rockstar team members you mentioned!

Thank you!

Best,
Sean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The Surfcomber is beautifully located, with a gorgeous part of the beach, very friendly and helpful service there, and not particularly overcrowded (other than the pool, which was always fully packed during the two days we were there). Rooms are clean and stylish, We have not witnessed any signs of worn-out other travellers complained about. However, they are fairly small, so if you travel with two kids like we do, it can be quite full - cupboard space is limited, and there is exactly one chair you can put stuff on. Staff is generally friendly, but can get a bit disoriented, as we experienced in the restaurant when we ordered one breakfast later than the other three and waited for it some 20 minutes (only to see that it was not what we had ordered when it arrived). It can also take the better part of the day until your room is being made up, and if you complain, the receptionist can react quite unnerved, like in our case. Apart from this, the stay was fine!

Room Tip: Windows are quite small, our room had neither ocean nor street view, but view of the neighbouring ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Flabbergast52 -

Thank you for sharing this review. I will certainly address these comments with the team. Please come and visit us next time your travels bring you to South Beach.

Best,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Kentucky
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Recently visited the Surfcomber. Absolutely great location. Located within walking distance of Lincoln and Espanola Drive (shopping and dining district), and adjacent to beautiful beaches.

Doorman service was outstanding!! We arrived very early and had requested and early checkin. The hotel wasn't able to accommodate us which seemed to be the result of too many late checkouts. Our arrival was at 9 am and we couldn't get in our room until almost 2 pm. They held our luggage and allowed us use of the facilities until then. We opted to walk down to Lincoln and have brunch.

Desk staff was friendly and gave my kids complimentary goodie bags upon checking which they thought was nice.

We used the complimentary Beach chairs that were provided w our room. Service was good on the beach and staff was quick. Umbrellas didn't come with the chairs and were an extra 19$. It would have been nice if included. Food and drink service available at the beach.

The day we arrived the hotel was hosting a pool party from 12 to 8. We were very unhappy with this as the pool deck was filled with people not staying at the hotel. A large music system was set up and the music was way too loud. We were hoping to enjoy the time at the pool w our children and that was impossible, security at the pool was hassling us about coming to and from the beach and where we could and couldn't walk due to employee access for the event. Staff also told us mixed things about whether the pool was even open to our children during the pool party. One said it was for 21 and over only, another said the kids could swim. When we complained we were offered to use facilities off sight that were family friendly. However, we found this ridiculous. If I wanted to use facilities at another location we would have just stayed at the other hotel. The pool party crowd was 20 something's. The pool area was also filled with tons of smokers which we also disliked. Pool party is usually on Saturday but was moved to Sunday this week for some reason. Ultimately we used the beach and went shopping. When we returned we took the kids to the pool but it was close to 10 pm. The pool is open 24 hrs which we liked but had trouble finding pool towels. A staff member did bring us towels for the kids use which was appreciated but we had to track him down. Hotel advertises a heated pool but the water was freezing. While the kids didn't mind but it was too cold for the adults in our group.

Wine was served in the lobby between 5 and 6 which was delicious. Appetizers were not. Our room upgrade included complimentary breakfast, It was continental and was okay. A game for the kids was set up and enjoyed by several.

Cab service was not readily available but we stayed during Sunday/Monday so it may have been timing.

The room was of course small but clean. The mini bar was well stocked w a good variety of items. Bathroom door handle was broken and we didn't have enough towels for the 2 adults 2 children in the room.

Overall the property was very nice and furnished well. Interior walkway to pool deck was beautiful. Bicycle free to use was available. Not sure with all the other choices that we would select this one again. Our total hotel cost was $500 per night. Good for south beach I suppose but in all we were disappointed in our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Vacationtakeusaway,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your experience with us. I hope you give us another chance and come to visit us again.

Best,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.