We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off + FREE Upgrade
Ranked #9 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed with my family there in early November.It is a very nice hotel and looks new and very comfortable. It has direct access to the beach and all around good food options. All the staff are very helpful and friendly. We had a very nice vacation !



Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
TtravellerUk,

Thank you for your review. I hope next time your travels bring you to South Beach you choose to stay with us.

Best,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,556 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    944
    434
    125
    35
    18
See reviews for
336
515
65
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This hotel is in a great location in Miami. It's next to the exclusive SLS hotel (used by the rich and famous!) so shares the same location. Hotel staff are very friendly although I didn't find the bar staff too welcoming - they seemed to favour local guests. We didn't get a pre-selected room upgrade which was disappointing. The process seems odd as you get the chance to select about a week before travel - at a cost. You then don't know whether you have been successful until you arrive. Even then I didn't know and had to ask. We had a "courtyard" room which actually meant a room facing the street. Although quite noisy with traffic, music etc the people watching was good. There was a slight annoyance as the person in the room next door had their TV on for 2 days continuously. The walls are thin! Lobby staff were excellent. Room service and breakfast good quality. Nice and clean. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Roadside rooms noisy but good for people watching. Rm 310 was a decent size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay with us.

We hope you visit us again soon.

Best,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I wanted to take a moment to let you know what a wonderful stay I had at the Surfcomber Hotel in Miami, Fl.
We arrived for one night only and upon entry, all staff was pleasant. Jackie was the woman who helped us at the front desk. And I have to say, her sense of humor was awesome! She made us laugh probably ten times while helping us and she also suggested that we upgrade our room to an ocean view with a balcony. We took her up on her recommendation and were very comfortable! The bedroom was separate from the living room space. Each area had it's own air conditioner and the balcony provided two loungers for us to hang out on. The bathroom was clean, both in appearance and decor, which is very important to me. Our only regret was that we were unable to stay longer.
It's so nice to meet staff who seem to truly enjoy what they do. After this experience, we will definitely be returning... we live in Florida so we come to Miami often... and recommending stay to friends and family in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Robin H,

I laughed when I read your review because I know exactly what you mean about Jackie. Her sense of humor is unparalleled and she really does know how to make people feel right at home. I will be sure to share your review with her. Thank you for your posting.

Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The noise factor is the only reason I did not give this hotel 5 stars. It's very noisy in the AM. Front desk staff is very helpful and friendly. Great location and easy beach access. Nice perks like flavored water in hotel lobby and coffee in the AM.

Room Tip: Don't let them put you next to housekeeping!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
LizDelSol,

Thank you for mentioning the music volume. I will certainly look into this.

Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I was here for my school reunion as well. This was an ideal location to host this reunion. The weather was excellent. The hotel sits at the beach. The staff was absolutely excellent in all of the assistance they provided to our group. The rooms were gorgeous! The ocean views were incredible. I look forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Susan F,

So I take it you will be planning next years reunion with us also?
Let me know if you need help with the planning!

Best,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights for my husband's business school 5 year reunion. Very accommodating and friendly staff! It was refreshing to see a hotel staff that seemed to really enjoy their work.

Beautiful beach, beach bar, great pool, nice service. We enjoyed drinks and apps at the Social Club. Rooms were very nice - bathroom is tight, but you're not in Miami for the bathroom.
Loved the design of this property - very Miami, lovely palm trees on the property. Beautiful to sit at the pool at night.

Nice gym for a work out, or you can jog on the beach. We received a really good group rate for the reunion weekend so I felt the value for what we paid was very good.

The only thing is breakfast is a little pricey ($28 per person we paid). Other than that we loved our stay and the service here was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
trvlbugg11,

Thank you for your review! We hope to have you again soon!

Best,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Sitting poolside enjoying another lovely day at Kimpton Surfcomber in Miami. Our pool attendant jonathan has made our stay fun and comfortable. Friendly service is a hallmark here. Super location to boot. We will be back next year.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
wilmafred1,

The pool is the best location to hang out at the hotel. I'll be sure to let Jonathan know you're already planning next years visit!

Thanks again!
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.