We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We have never had a bad stay in Sobe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fly South This Winter
Ranked #13 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
“We have never had a bad stay in Sobe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I wanted to take a moment to let you know what a wonderful stay I had at the Surfcomber Hotel in Miami, Fl.
We arrived for one night only and upon entry, all staff was pleasant. Jackie was the woman who helped us at the front desk. And I have to say, her sense of humor was awesome! She made us laugh probably ten times while helping us and she also suggested that we upgrade our room to an ocean view with a balcony. We took her up on her recommendation and were very comfortable! The bedroom was separate from the living room space. Each area had it's own air conditioner and the balcony provided two loungers for us to hang out on. The bathroom was clean, both in appearance and decor, which is very important to me. Our only regret was that we were unable to stay longer.
It's so nice to meet staff who seem to truly enjoy what they do. After this experience, we will definitely be returning... we live in Florida so we come to Miami often... and recommending stay to friends and family in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Robin H,

I laughed when I read your review because I know exactly what you mean about Jackie. Her sense of humor is unparalleled and she really does know how to make people feel right at home. I will be sure to share your review with her. Thank you for your posting.

Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,031
    484
    140
    41
    23
See reviews for
357
579
70
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The noise factor is the only reason I did not give this hotel 5 stars. It's very noisy in the AM. Front desk staff is very helpful and friendly. Great location and easy beach access. Nice perks like flavored water in hotel lobby and coffee in the AM.

Room Tip: Don't let them put you next to housekeeping!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
LizDelSol,

Thank you for mentioning the music volume. I will certainly look into this.

Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I was here for my school reunion as well. This was an ideal location to host this reunion. The weather was excellent. The hotel sits at the beach. The staff was absolutely excellent in all of the assistance they provided to our group. The rooms were gorgeous! The ocean views were incredible. I look forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Susan F,

So I take it you will be planning next years reunion with us also?
Let me know if you need help with the planning!

Best,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights for my husband's business school 5 year reunion. Very accommodating and friendly staff! It was refreshing to see a hotel staff that seemed to really enjoy their work.

Beautiful beach, beach bar, great pool, nice service. We enjoyed drinks and apps at the Social Club. Rooms were very nice - bathroom is tight, but you're not in Miami for the bathroom.
Loved the design of this property - very Miami, lovely palm trees on the property. Beautiful to sit at the pool at night.

Nice gym for a work out, or you can jog on the beach. We received a really good group rate for the reunion weekend so I felt the value for what we paid was very good.

The only thing is breakfast is a little pricey ($28 per person we paid). Other than that we loved our stay and the service here was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
trvlbugg11,

Thank you for your review! We hope to have you again soon!

Best,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Sitting poolside enjoying another lovely day at Kimpton Surfcomber in Miami. Our pool attendant jonathan has made our stay fun and comfortable. Friendly service is a hallmark here. Super location to boot. We will be back next year.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
wilmafred1,

The pool is the best location to hang out at the hotel. I'll be sure to let Jonathan know you're already planning next years visit!

Thanks again!
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I stayed here in September of 2012. It was a nice experience, wonderful staff. From the conceirge to the pool staff very accommadating folks. I would definitley return!!
The deal breaker for me was, upon checking out of the hotel and leaving the premises. I realized I had left something behind in the room. I couldn't trun back to retrieve it as we needed to head to the airport to make our flight on time. I immediately called the front desk and told them I had left something behind in the room, mind you it had been about 10 mintues since checking out. The lady I spoke with told me she would notify housekeeping but no one had turned anything in as of yet. I called the hotel once I reached back home.

Spoke to the conceirge a gentleman who remembered who I was. Expalined the situation, he asked me for my mailing address. He assured me if it was found he would mail it to me.

Unfortunately, I called the next day. It was not found. He was very apologetic about it. Told me if I were to stay at there hotel again he would personally replace what I have left behind. which I thought was very kind of him!

On the other hand as far as I'm concerned it was housekeeping who made themselves owner of the property I left behind. Which was disappointing to me, with the incredible staff they have on site.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back of hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Maria S,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your experience. I will be sure to share your review with the entire team.

Best,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia, pa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

There are so many reasons that I would return to this hotel: the attentive, friendly staff (special shoutout to Jackie at the front desk); the cleanliness and order of all the public spaces from hallways and lobby to pool and eating areas; the great location right on the beach, within walking distance of Ocean Drive and near Lincoln Road mall; the good but expensive breakfasts (still wondering why I had to pay $9 extra for yogurt with my granola and fruit rather than milk). But there is nowhere on the property save the beach and the hotel room to escape the loud, relentless music. Conversations, phone calls, naps -- forget it. I have a high tolerance for background music but after a few days I thought I would lose my mind. As I walked along the beach walkway, I looked into the quiet pool areas of other hotels with longing. Despite completely loving the Surfcomber in all other ways, I may have to stay at one of those next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
kbomoon,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I will certainly be addressing with the team for future improvement. Hopefully you will give us another shot!

Cheers,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.