We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute best place to stay in Miami! Seriously” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fly South This Winter
Ranked #15 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolute best place to stay in Miami! Seriously”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

This is now our second time we have stayed here at the Surfcomber, as we were left so impressed after the first time! We have stayed for 2 weeks and it is great value for money! Literally all the staff, and I mean all, are extremely helpful, accommodating and so very kind! We have had so much fun here! We were greeted warmly with a glass of champagne by the front desk staff on arrival and would like to thank David T, Clayton B and Amanda for all their help.The rooms are great, cleaned every day if you so wish. The pool is fantastic, with a sanded area where you can relax. There is also a ping pong table which is great fun!! The pool staff are wonderful, we've had so much fun and i would like to thank Tracey, Chris Bones, Jonathan H, Marco D, Jenna V, chris Smith, Eric R and Diana! marco and jonathan to teach your kids to shoot a basket ball, kids will have a great time here! And the hotel is a minute walk to the beach! There is also a bar by the pool with the friendliest staff, Carr, Lesley and Bryan and they have great food and drinks. I recommend the piña coladas!! There are two restaurants with delicious food, for breakfast lunch and dinner! Richard at the front restaurant is great and so very helpful! Every morning there is complementary tea and coffee which is great, and flavoured water with real fruit pieces, all day long! The hotel is in a great location minutes walk to Lincoln road and ocean drive for great food, shopping and night life! And if youre a pet owner, pets are welcome :) I really can't say enough, it is the best hotel in Miami, I have stayed at others and they just don't come close to the Surfcomber!!! I love this place and will be coming back here next year!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Absolute best place to stay in Miami. Thank you, we are honored. I will be sharing your review with the entire team today, it will for sure bring a smile to everyone's face.

I'm glad you already planning your return.

Best,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,039
    488
    140
    42
    23
See reviews for
360
580
71
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I have been to miami 9 times and have never enjoyed myself more. words to describe this hotel: excellent, clean, modern, incredibly friendly and generally a fantastic place to be. The staff could not be any better, they accomodate your every need, and i have made very good friends here, especially look out for jonathan. H (the footballer with tats) jenna. V ( she has cool piercings and you will hve a laugh with her) chris banes, chris smith, eric. R, marco. D( especially to learn how to play basket ball in the pool). Carr, byran and lesly are the fantastic crew at the bar, which you will have many laughs with and make you feel right at home. also a shout out to the receptionists david, clayton and others who really make anything possible, also the pool manager tracy is great. If you want a great hotel look no further.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Cory888,

Thank you for mentioning so many of our stellar employees! They make my job a lot easier and make me happy when I hear we really made you feel like this was an extension of your home.

Let's do this again soon!
Cheers,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We got married in Wynwood on October 12th and chose the Surfcomber as the hotel we would stay at, and our guests/family. We also had a post-wedding brunch on the Surfcomber beach, the sand by the pool. Everything exceeded our expectations!

The property was perfect for a destination wedding and the hotel staff couldn't have been more accommodating. We stayed 4 nights in a room with an ocean view, which was just lovely to wake up to each morning. As Kimpton in touch members, we enjoyed the champagne at check-in and raid the bar. Even when things weren't exactly on schedule, our room wasn't ready for check-in when we arrived, one morning breakfast took longer than it should have, the hotel went above and beyond to accommodate us.

The hotel was exactly what we wanted for our wedding weekend, a place where everyone could hang out at a beautiful pool/beach and relax in a really fun atmosphere. Unlike other neighboring hotels, the Surfcomber is more laid back and not stuffy at all.

We have to give a shout out to Dorgis and Tony, who made sure we had everything we needed, and helped make our stay special. Also to Marco, Chris, and Alan at the pool/beach for the attentive service.


We can't wait to return to celebrate our one year anniversary! If you're looking for a hotel on south beach, this is the one.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Jrr139,

A belated congratulations on your wedding! All of us here at the Surfcomber are so excited for your adventure together as newlyweds and look forward to your return for the big 1 year!

Thanks for choosing us for such a special weekend.

Best,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Spent the weekend with 7 other girls at Surfcomber and were given the royal treatment. We were greeted with champagne in the lobby since we were celebrating a 40th birthday and champagne showed up in our rooms on my friend's birthday with a personal note from the hotel manager. The décor is hip, fresh and eclectic and while the accommodations are quaint (this is a boutique hotel), the pool and beachfront are fantastic and spacious. From Ghulam, Tony and Monty in the lobby greeting us, taking care of our luggage and getting taxis each day in funky fresh suits and smiles, to Mitch and Michael making sure we wanted for nothing while on the beach, everyone was there to make us happy. I stayed at the Ritz the last time I was in Miami and I liked the vibe and personal touches of Surfcomber much more. Chris was so personable and was there constantly making sure we were taken care of and chatting with all of us about our stay and plans. Surfcomber is an easy walk to Lincoln Road and a nice stroll from Ocean Ave, so it is the perfect locale. There's also a complimentary coffee bar in the morning, wine bar in the evening and delicious fruit infused water throughout the day, so each time you stroll through the lobby you feel refreshed and ready to hit SoBe. Great Stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Melody,

Thanks for taking the time to review your experience with us on tripadvisor. I am so happy to hear you were able to meet so many of our fantastic team members. Even more happy to know that your girls weekend was not just good, but fabulous! That's our goal is to make you have an experience you'll always remember.

Please visit us again soon!
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

October 2013.Booked in to be given a street facing room which was too noisy for oldies. Moved to a courtyard upgrade without any fuss. Great receptionists Jackie, Jess and Valerie for whom nothing was too much trouble - let them recommend and book you evening restaurant for dinner. Chris on the Wine Tasting Happy Hour, Mitch on the beach and Aaron making sure it all hums along need a mention. We will be back. Mike & Lynn England

Room Tip: Stay off the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Mike and Lynn,

Thanks for mentioning some of the people on this team that make this such a rockin place! I will be sure to give them all high 5's for making your experience one to remember. I hope you're already planning your next trip!

Cheers,
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed at the Surfcomer for a 4 day getaway with old college friends. Overall this is a great hotel choice if you are looking for a relaxing beachfront hotel. It has a nice modern classy feeling. A good call for people who are too old for the boom boom daytime club feel of the SLS or Shore Club but not too too old for some daytime drinking fun.

This is a long review so bear with me!

ROOMS
The rooms are small by modern hotel standards but this is a boutique hotel and on par with the size of many of the Miami beach hotels. The room is well appointed with ample towels, comfortable beds, wine glasses, robes, etc...They will bring you practically anything you forget or need IMMEDIATELY. We asked for a razor and one showed up within 10 minutes in a nice bag with shaving cream. We asked for a nail clipper on our way out to the beach and one was in our room when we got back. The telephone did not work but someone came and fixed it within 5 minutes. Same with clean wine glasses. The only issue was that they didn't clean our room until very late in the day. Also we weren't blown away by housekeeping.

Try not to get a room that faces the walkway to the pool. They randomly blast music in the morning and it is loud. The walls are paper thin. Our room location was really bad. We were in Room 101 across from the employee lounge and we could hear people early in the morning and employees vacuuming the hallway early, etc...Also, the first floor has NO ice machine. Luckily the one time an employee saw me wandering around with a vacant look on my face and ran and got me ice at the restaurant but otherwise we had to trek up to the 2nd floor.

POOL/BEACH
The pool is very nice. We had no problem getting chairs at various times throughout the weekend. The staff quickly turns over chairs of people who leave. Service is great - setting us up chairs with towels but a bit slow with the drinks which is typical. Overall a great service experience at the pool and the bar located at the back end of the pool near the beach. Actually, the bartender there was friendly, quick and very accommodating. The pool isn't quite as beautiful as say the Fontainebleau or Raleigh but very nice. You can definitely hear the music pool party over the shrubs from the next door SLS. The beach chairs looked by far superior in comfort then the ones at the hotels surrounding us. Also 2 chairs are included with the resort fee - additional chairs cost $13 and umbrellas cost $19. The ocean was AMAZING when we where there (October 11-14). Best beach weather we could possibly ask for. Only saw 1 jellyfish and a little bit of trash and seaweed - very little. Service again at the beach was fantastic but "last call" was at 3:30 in the afternoon for food and drink at the beach. I think that is a bit too early! Also they shut down service when a few dark clouds passed by - I mean it didn't even end up raining and they shut it down.

Advice - The hotel has a wine tasting happy hour from 5:00pm to 6:00pm and they DO NOT skimp on the wine pours and you can drink them by the pool. It is a fantastic perk and break from the $13 drinks! We usually laid out on the beach all day - got our last call drinks at 3:30 and then packed up and laid by the pool and drank 3 glasses of free wine until 6:00pm. The food/wraps on the pool and beach menu were surprisingly very tasty!

The fellow guests were a mix of young adults, families, Europeans, older couples...

HOTEL GENERAL
The hotel lobby décor is modern but welcoming. The front desk is very nice. They let me check in early at noon which was nice. Coffee is only available from 7-10am so it stops way too early for a Sunday morning after a Saturday night in Miami. We decided we didn't care about paying for coffee and asked for a large pot to be delivered to the room after 10 but they only had a small pot. They promised to come back and refill but they didn't by the time we left for the beach - no worries - they removed it from our bill. Also they did offer me coffee when I was waiting for my cab to the airport at 5:30am. Again, the staff was very polite and accommodating. Kimpton is a good brand. Never had a bad experience with a Kimpton.

The locations is great. Right on beach near the Raleigh, Delano, SLS...and within walking distance of a lot.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are loud and no ice machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
HappyNewlywed08,

Thank you for your recent trip advisor posting! Thank you for taking the time to really detail your stay out and comments about your experience! It helps us perfect our service for years to come. We look forward to having you visit us again soon!

Best,
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west boylston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed three nights at the Surfcomber. I really enjoyed my time there. The staff are very friendly,positive and accommodating. They did a great job of making sure all my needs were met. The location is awesome!! Just a few steps away from the beach, shops and entertainment. My favorite part was being served cold drinks and lunch while on the beach. The pasta salad and chicken sandwich were delicious!! The room was clean. The pool area is very nice. They also offer coffee and tea in the morning and host a wine hour in the evening that is a lot of fun. I had a fabulous time. Thanks to the Surfcomber team.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
lfsunshine3,

Thank you so much for your review! I am so glad to hear you had a fabulous time and were able to enjoy the hotel amenities, what's better than a cold beverage on the beach and finishing the night with a glass of wine at our wine hour?

Come and visit us again soon!
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.