We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off + FREE Upgrade
Ranked #14 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, AB Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Small room with no balcony which we knew. Pool and beach awesome. Free wifi and evening complimentary wine and morning coffee. Very good food. Pool staff worked hard and made us feel at home. 2 Chris's, Marco and Jonathon at pool were excellent as was Day Mgr Chris. So helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: No balconies...just be aware.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
FidelCalgary,

Looks like you were able to enjoy our day life out at the pool, no better way to soak up the sun in South Beach! Thanks for your review!

Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    987
    458
    133
    40
    22
See reviews for
346
549
68
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harvey, Louisiana, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Ok where do I begin, From the time I walked in the Hotel I felt like Family. Dorgis was great..He took our bag & held them for us because we was early. Valerie was great when checking us in. The hotel is truly amazing & clean. Everyone post that the rooms are small,we had a courtyard King it was the best no noise spacious & perfect for my husband & I. Ryan helped us book my birthday dinner,as well as Brian very attentive staff. Jackie was overall the best I asked her if we could get a late check out & gave gave us one. Oh I forgot about the Wine hour AWESOME!! The pool was great Chris was very attentive & sweet.. I never had a bad experience,,I def will be back I loved my birthday gettaway,,Awesome Staff & keep up the good work!!! Tina from New Orleans :)))

Room Tip: I recommend courtyard king,very quiet & spacious,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Tina O,

We are excited you feel like part of our big Kimpton family. Family visits a few times a year, right? So when's your next trip? I'll have Dorgis waiting for you at the door with open arms.

See you soon!
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was our second stay at the Surfcomber, and we plan to stay there the next time we travel to South Beach. The location is great - on the beach but only three blocks to Lincoln Road Mall and within walking distance of Ocean Drive activities. The hotel is clean, the staff is very friendly and helpful, and the InTouch program is a nice feature. The pool is very nice but we spend most our time relaxing at the beach - which is great! The rooms although not large, are just a little bigger than most South Beach hotels. We want to mention several staff that exceeded our expectations for service. Chris B. and Chris S. at the pool were great and remembered us each day and gave us a warm greeting - even if we were just passing thru to the beach. Mitch at the beach stand was always helpful and friendly. Carr at the poolside bar was engaging and made us some great drinks. Suzette kept our room in top condition each day. And Jenny on checkout was very helpful and pleasant to work with. Overall you have a great staff. We were asked numerous times each day if there was anything they could get us or help us with. We have stayed at other South Beach hotels - but glad we found this one.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Beachlady1st,

Thank you so much for your recent trip advisor posting. You got the chance to meet at least one person in almost every department - I'm impressed!!! Thanks for shouting out some of our rock star staff. I will be sharing your review every morning this week, I am thrilled to see how many members of our team were able to create such an impactful experience for you.

Thanks!
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Couple of my girlfriends and I decided to have a girls weekend in South Beach Miami. It was our first time and we stayed at the Surfcomber Hotel. Great location! Walking distance to lincoln road. Steps away from the beach. The staff was amazing. Special shout outs to several bellmen. Tony who gave us great recommendations where to party. Curan who escorted two of my girlfriends back to our room after a creeper followed my other friend and I up the elevator. And finally Keith who always waved a taxi down for us. You guys are great! You made our stay awesome!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Stephanie S,

Thank you so much for posting such an awesome review about your girls weekend with us. Thanks for shouting out 3 of our doorman that make up our DREAM TEAM - Tony, Curan and Keith all had a pleasure taking care of you and your friends!

Best,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Our Vacation/celebration of love began Sept.27 and ended Sept.30,2013...The moment that we stepped though the door Brian and Tony were amazingly accommodating. Brian opened the doors wide making me feel super home and anticipating what I would experience next. At check in Sonja offered my Fiance glasses of champagne to began celebrating our anniversary. Brian was the Bell Captain to assist with our luggage man dose he know how to welcome you in!!! He is a Awesome Fellow definitely the type that can keep you entertained.
The room was great you don't need much space for 2 ppl but my king size bed was veryyyy comfortable and had all the space in the world! The set up was very simple glass sinks and showers Oh and I can't forget the desk was glass also. I think our room location was perfect considering my Fiance is a smoker we were really close to the stairs leading to the pool and beach. We left out the room for a while to grab some grub and to our surprised when we returned Sonja and Wendy had a Bottle of Champagne sent up to our room to help celebrate our special occasion with a hand written card.
Visiting the pool and the beach are a must why NOT? they make it sooooo easy! both are amazing places to relax. At the pool someone will come around with a cool towel to help you stay comfy. I believe I was helped by Jenna our pool side Waitress (amazing) and Chris from New Jersey he set up our pool chairs. Also providing outstanding service. They Have Friut infused waters poolside and Sun Block if you forgot yours!. Because I am a Kimpton Intouch member I received free beach chairs MAJOR PLUS MY FRIENDS!!! just a extra 15 for umbrellas!
Location is Great we were maybe a 15 min walk from Ocean drive and a in walking distance to EVERYTHING. We took the Supper shuttle in and didn't take a taxi once!!! Staying here is a must. No Matter where you go the staff is supper nice everyone sparks a convo no matter where you are! Lobby,pool,beach,hallway.... everyone except the juice bar area. it was like pulling teeth to get someone to acknowledge us... We ending up just going out to eat!

BTW housekeeping was amazing who ever cleaned my room during my stay was amazingly attentive and went above and beyond in keeping our beds made and room tidy! Great Job

WOULD I COME BACK??? HELLLLL YES (EXCUSE MY FRENCH) SERVICE WAS AMAZING EVERYONE KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK!!!! know THAT YOU ARE APPRECIATED
~Nichole&Amber~

Room Tip: I didn't really have a view 271 was our room number it was facing another building... if your l...
See more room tips
Green Features: Just how all kimpton are they have recycle bins in your room and a timer can be set room your room lights!
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Nichole&Amber,

Thank you for posting such a detailed review of your experience with us at Surfcomber. I can say we are all looking forward to have you grace us with your presence again and again!

Best,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Wow, such a nice place! If'you're in South Beach you definitely need to go to the Surfcomber. First of all, it was the best staff ever. There was always someone to open the door for us or to call a taxi, and we had a lot of fun with the staff at the reception, especially JACKIE :) It's one of the best spot on the street, the rooms were clean and we like the vibe that was going on there. The only thing I think they can improve is the wine they are serving free from 5 to 6, but hey it's still free wine! I will recommend all my friends to go there and when I'll come back to MIA, i'll be at the surfcomber and nowhere else!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
OliTheWhite,

Best hotel service experience ever! Thanks for that award, makes me proud of my team and what we are able to provide for our guests! Jackie is pretty awesome, and she's also from Canada!!

Come visit us again soon.
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was the best stay I've had in South Beach in twenty plus years of coming here. I've stayed at the Standard, Mondrian, Crest Hotel, Albion and others and at previous iterations of the Surfcomber (as an independent hotel and when owned by Hilton) in the past, but Kimpton's takeover of the Surfcomber makes this property and service the best of all. The renovations of the rooms and décor makes this place much more comfortable and welcoming and all the staff have a great service attitude...something often lacking in Miami. This was a birthday trip for me and the staff did everything possible to make it special...a birthday card, champagne, a follow-up email, etc. Love the clothes that the staff wear and they all seem to work well together and that is reflected in the level of service. Thanks, Surfcomber!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
TuckerWashington_DC,

Thank you for such an awesome review. I'm glad to hear you finally found your home in South Beach. Seems you travel here often, so you will be back right? I look forward to getting the chance to meet you the next time you visit us.

Best,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.