We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% off
Ranked #27 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pompano Beach, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

From start to finish, our weekend stay at the Surfcomber was superb. I have zero complaints. Front desk and housekeeping staff were very friendly and accommodating. Rooms and lobby are updated and clean. This hotel is a complement to the Kimpton brand. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
sofl1234,

Thank you for letting us know we exceeded your expectations, that's our goal and I'm glad we did that with you. I see you're a local, from Florida, so let us get the chance to exceed your expectations again and again!

Best,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,318
    630
    179
    59
    39
See reviews for
469
739
90
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto (GTA)
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed with my mother here for a mini get-away in the middle of the week. We got a room with 2 double beds and upgraded to a room with slightly more space when an e-mail offer came in after booking. We both had a really wonderful time. Every single staff member we encountered was genuinely pleasant, which really stood out. They seem to enjoy their jobs and enjoy helping people have a nice stay.

My #1 recommendation is to SIGN UP for their In Touch membership program. There are a lot of perks which made it an extra nice place to stay, e.g., $10 mini bar credit, $10 food credit per day, beach chair rental at the beach per day ($24 value), free wi-fi, and probably more that I'm forgetting. Even if you don't sign up, there are nice perks at the hotel, like free wine and little nibbles (e.g., popcorn, ceviche, quesadilla) from 5-6pm in the lobby -- they give you a plastic wine cup that you can take out to the pool or even out to the beach, which are right out back, and both very nice.

We were celebrating a big milestone so we spent a little more $ than we usually would have to be pampered and have a memorable time. We rented a cabana by the pool for one day - it was nice for my mom who does not enjoy sitting out in the sun, though I prefer to be right out there. We ate lunch and drank wine by the pool, and also at the beach - the $30 bottle of prosecco is nicely priced and also very good - light and refreshing while you're out in the sun. An 18% gratuity seemed to be automatically added to the food, etc. (might be a thing in the area?).

The hotel is only 3 stories high but has long hallways with lots of rooms. It's nicely decorated with a quirky charm of a smaller boutique hotel (e.g., sheep and cow statues strewn about the property). It's in a great part of the beach and also in close walking distance to restaurants, shops, bars, and liquor stores. We would definitely stay again if we return to the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
australaura,

Thanks for your trip advisor posting, and thank you for being a Kimpton InTouch member. We appreciate your loyalty, and who doesn't love the $10 raid the mini bar perk? It's the perfect way to indulge in something from the mini bar that you may usually not due to temptation.

Our goal is to spoil you!

Best,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Surfcomber in April and really enjoyed our stay. From the staff at reception to housekeeping and the pool staff, everyone was friendly and helpful. Our room was compact but very clean and had all we required in it. The pool area was lovely with plenty of chairs available while we were there and an added bonus of free wine at 5pm every night. We ate a meal at the restaurant by the pool our first night there which was very nice with a helpful waiter recommending drinks to compliment it. We had complimentary breakfasts as part of our room rate which we hadn't realised before hand and was a nice surprise. The the location is great with shops and restaurants close by. I would be happy to stay here again if we ever came back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Sioux22,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on tripadvisor. Your feedback helps us provide excellent service for years to come. We really appreciate the shout out!

Thank you again,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was at this hotel over the weekend and found that the location is literally perfect, the grounds are clean and the staff very friendly. The hotel is a lot bigger inside than it appears. It is quite a large hotel with clean updated rooms. The beds are super comfy and the decor serine. I would go back in a heartbeat. Thank you Surfcomber for making my Labor Day holiday great!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
LovesMiamiSOBE,

We hope we were able to make your Labor Day (hopefully laborless) weekend great!
I think it's time to change your trip advisor name to LovesMiamiSOBE&Surf.
Thank you so much for posting about your experience, we really appreciate it.

Cheers!
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is right on the beach! Great location and close to Lincoln drive and Espanola Way for great dining!! This hotel rolls out the red carpet for all their guest! I was there with my husband and 9yr old son and we had a blast! You get two beach chairs set up for you everyday. Umbrella is extra if you want to pay $13/day but we didn't need it during our stay. The pool boy was so amazing! They will set up your chairs anywhere you want and offer kids ice cream at 3pm! There is infuse water at the pool and front lobby, and coffee and tea in the morning! They have complimentary wine hour at 5-6pm but we spent must time at the beach. The room we stayed in was on the smaller side! Like Paris style boutique hotels. This hotel is happy to please and you can see that in their staff. They all love what they're doing and it shows. We are glad we came at end of August start of their slow season! They have bikes to borrow for you to explore the beach pathway, Ocean Drive and the marina! We did one day sight seeing the Everglades. Will come back again next year! If you have family this is the perfect hotel on the beach! If you want RnR and not so loud music blasting stay here and you can party next door at SLS! Try the Italian restaurant at Espanola way, it's a nice outdoor style!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
wiregirl,

We're proud to be your favorite place in SOBE, thank you. I'm glad we were able to roll out the red carpet for you and make you feel like celebs.

Let's do it again sometime.

Best,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager aka Oscars Red Carpet Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The staff at the Surfcomber are incredibly friendly and helpful. Literally every employee there will great you with a smile! The location is perfect if your on vacation right on the beach! And lots of shopping and restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Ns201392,

We love smiling. Smilings our favorite!
Thanks for your posting and come back and visit us again.

Sean Flanigan
General Manager aka Director of Smiles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This hotel made our trip in Miami Beach; great food, brilliant service and very central location. Sun loungers always available both at the pool and on the beach, free sun cream and chilled water by the pool, always quiet and relaxing. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Katy_London_1,

Thank you for your recent trip advisor posting! Happy to hear you had a wonderful time and hope that means a second trip is in the works. Enjoy your weekend!

Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#11 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,418 reviews
Thompson Miami Beach
#4 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 698 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#18 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,171 reviews
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#8 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 615 reviews
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#48 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.