We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ride the waves at Surfcomber SOBE !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% off
Ranked #18 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Ride the waves at Surfcomber SOBE !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Just spent 5 days in Miami ( SOBE ) with my accommodations this year at the Surfcomber. I'm a Kimpton ' in touch' member, but booked this through a travel group - Magellan Vacations , as last year our agent was able to get a super upgrade- which was amazing!

We started off a touch rocky , as our ' upgraded' room faced busy Collins Avenue.. a total ' deal killer' for me.. for many reasons. 1. My In touch memberships states: quiet room with good light.down pillow and a New York Times . - and these basics were not even close. 2. Our Magellan reservation was to have been a ' courtyard view' .. and again .. not even close.

My friend and I- both seasoned travelers , so immediately went to the desk to ask for a review of our requests and were told that this was the only room available if we wanted an early check in ( it was already 2PM on a weekday). We stated.. we'd rather wait.. as that room was not going to help provide the R&R we needed.!
After just a short wait... only about 15 minutes.. the desk agent- Sonia- re-assigned us to a room that met our needs. Oddly.. my In Touch profile was never linked.. but they hit the hot buttons on two of the key items.. so we rolled with it. Sonia totally made sure we were happy and became our ' go to' at the desk for any other needs. She's terrific!

Kimpton - Surfcomber. Great location, friendly staff ( the bellman was amazing) , wine at 5-6 daily - although oddly other Kimptons serve some kind of snack ( preztels or such) as well but this hotel did not.
All of our needs were promptly addressed- from needing a pair of scissors, to bringing us hair conditioner and shower caps - both missing from our toiletries.
Our house keeping person- Island- a doll of a woman - made sure we had adequate towels and that our room was spotless. I always tip my house keeper.. and to be honest.. this kind woman left us a thank you note ! What a sweet surprise!

Truly -after the first bump.. most everything else was great. Quiet room, amazing bed, crisp sheets .. good lighting and light control. Water pressure at ' prime time' does drop when every guest is showering post beach as they prep for the night out. If you have thick hair.. shower early!

Pool is lovely - but we prefer the ocean. and.. loved, loved , loved our beach guys- Pepe and Marizio . From their shopping to restaurant recommendations- they made us feel at home.

Breakfast is not included, and make sure you ask if your BEACH package is included. ( otherwise- beach chairs and umbrellas will cost you daily). If you use the valet.. it's best to personally ask the valet team to bring your car up .. allowing ample time for weekends and prime time. It can take 30-50 minutes on a busy night.

We loved this location and hotel .. as it's busy and energetic.. but not over the top party wise.

Suggest this hotel for couples who are wanting chill time , girlfriends wanting a solid platform and

Green Features: Each room has 2 trash cans. In San Francisco it's obvious which is for recycling materials and the other trash. It would be helpful to label these. Coffee cups ( free coffee in morning) are recyclable.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Logistar-

Thank you for the recent stay and detailed review. I would like to apologize for the rocky start to your trip, but was happy to see we were able to recover and make your stay enjoyable. I loved hearing about Islande's kind thank you note! We will be sure to make adjustments where needed and share the great feedback with the team. We look foward to seeing you soon!

Regards,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,137
    552
    159
    49
    30
See reviews for
403
644
77
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barranquilla, Colombia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This place is definitely the place to stay, its got the whole package ! For an older style hotel, they have done an excellent job to keep it young and trendy. The moment you walk in, the vibe is fun and fresh. The room I had was small, but for my purpose, it suited me, the main thing is that it had everything that one needs and really clean.
The food was delicious and of the best top quality, their recommendations were perfect. The bar staff were so friendly & helpful, the hotel even had free cocktail and wine cards, (the Chinese surprise cocktails were amazing) nothing was a problem and always keen to help. Even though it was easy to just stay at the complex with a great bar, fantastic relaxing pool area, right on the beach and even a schedule of fun things to do around the hotel, (which I didn't participate in) the staff had a wide knowledge of the surrounding restaurants and entertainment. ALL of the staff were friendly and helpful but a very special thanks to Clayton & Erin, my stay could't be any better

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Tracy1111_13 -

Fun and fresh vibe, great location on the beach, delicious food, relaxing pool area....I think we accomplished what we are going for! Thank you so much for the recent stay and great review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ste-julie
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Nice boutique hotel with direct acces to the beach. The bathroom is VERY small, but has a good size shower. When you are facing the hotel, ask to be on the left wing... More quiet at night ( on the right wing you are close to the SLS hotel and the air conditioning units outside, which both do a loud noise ( SLS: loud music) ). Pool isn't wow ( compare to the Loews ) but there is always chairs available, And staff is great (need to mention Chris bones and Eric Ribe at the pool). Other interesting thing : the hotel have a 5 to 6 wine tasting : free!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
jthomassin-

Thank you for the recent stay and candid feedback. We look foward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I just celebrated my 29th birthday with my sister n best friends. This hotel treated us with the upmost respect. Everyone was very pleasant which made our stay more enjoyable. I recommend this hotel to all. Chris Bone, one of the cabana boys was the best!!!! He treated us like queens. An amazing person. We loved all the cabana boys: Chris #2, Eric and Marco! The receptionists were also amazing!!! Thank you all for making our weekend memorable!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Saudhi L-

Happy belated Birthday!! I am so happy we were able to be a great host and make your weekend memorable. Perhaps you can come down to celebrate your 'half birthday' this winter. Afterall, it would be too long to wait until next year!

Regards,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

What a great stay. Amazing pool and amenities. Free wine and sangria happy hour, free wifi, direct beach access, everything you can ask for from a south beach hotel. The rooms though a bit on the small side is average of larger than most south beach hotels. This was my first stay at this hotel but I would definitely stay again. It's away from all the major hustle and bustle of south beach though on walking distance of all the main attractions and one block from Lincoln road. My only caveat would be when I requested an extra blanket one night and it took about 45 minutes to arrive. Other than that it was clean and comfortable I would highly recommend.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
sweetbabiet-

Thank you for the recent stay and great review. Love the comments about 'clean and comfortable' (so did our houskeeping team!). My apologies about the delayed blanket delivery; we will be sure to fix. Please don't be a stranger, come back soon!

Regards,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed in South Beach for 2 days after Cuba. At first glance, I was afraid they will be uppity but that was not the case at all. From the beginning (from checking in, to staying in and showing up a few minutes before breakfast ends--and still graciously letting us in, to little tweezers and nailclips) till the end of our stay (printing us directions to transfer to airport hotel), staff is Grade A-- very nice and accommodating. PS: the breakfast croissants are "to die for". We thoroughly enjoyed their wine tasting at 5:00. David recommended a small pastry shop which we were very happy about. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Small observations: the beds are not for tall people (thank goodness we're not) and a little noisy here and there. My kids ordered room service on our last night and the food (mac and cheese and grilled cheese and tomato soup) was fantastic. It's a great location (near shops and beach) for what we came for which was to relax (no sightseeing, etc.). Will come back, for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
gonzfamilyexplorers -

Thank you for the recent stay and great report card. We are definitely posting on our fridge! We look foward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The Surfcomber is a wonderful hotel. It has a great location in the heart of South Beach. The rooms are good sized and very clean. It has an amazing pool and is right on the beach. They have some nice small touches such as free loaner bikes and a wine tasting for the guests every afternoon that set them apart from most other hotels. Last and most important, was the staff. They were helpful and extremely friendly. I would recommend to anybody going to South Beach to check out the Surfcomber.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Joe S -

Thank you for the recent stay and wonderful review. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our new bikes. Kimpton has partnered up with Public Bikes in all of our hotels and they are very fun to ride! Looking foward to seeing you soon.

Regards,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.