We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel very small bathroom” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 10 more sites!
Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Upgrade Offer
Ranked #6 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
ste-julie
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel very small bathroom”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Nice boutique hotel with direct acces to the beach. The bathroom is VERY small, but has a good size shower. When you are facing the hotel, ask to be on the left wing... More quiet at night ( on the right wing you are close to the SLS hotel and the air conditioning units outside, which both do a loud noise ( SLS: loud music) ). Pool isn't wow ( compare to the Loews ) but there is always chairs available, And staff is great (need to mention Chris bones and Eric Ribe at the pool). Other interesting thing : the hotel have a 5 to 6 wine tasting : free!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
jthomassin-

Thank you for the recent stay and candid feedback. We look foward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,279 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    771
    365
    98
    32
    13
See reviews for
269
435
51
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I just celebrated my 29th birthday with my sister n best friends. This hotel treated us with the upmost respect. Everyone was very pleasant which made our stay more enjoyable. I recommend this hotel to all. Chris Bone, one of the cabana boys was the best!!!! He treated us like queens. An amazing person. We loved all the cabana boys: Chris #2, Eric and Marco! The receptionists were also amazing!!! Thank you all for making our weekend memorable!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Saudhi L-

Happy belated Birthday!! I am so happy we were able to be a great host and make your weekend memorable. Perhaps you can come down to celebrate your 'half birthday' this winter. Afterall, it would be too long to wait until next year!

Regards,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

What a great stay. Amazing pool and amenities. Free wine and sangria happy hour, free wifi, direct beach access, everything you can ask for from a south beach hotel. The rooms though a bit on the small side is average of larger than most south beach hotels. This was my first stay at this hotel but I would definitely stay again. It's away from all the major hustle and bustle of south beach though on walking distance of all the main attractions and one block from Lincoln road. My only caveat would be when I requested an extra blanket one night and it took about 45 minutes to arrive. Other than that it was clean and comfortable I would highly recommend.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
sweetbabiet-

Thank you for the recent stay and great review. Love the comments about 'clean and comfortable' (so did our houskeeping team!). My apologies about the delayed blanket delivery; we will be sure to fix. Please don't be a stranger, come back soon!

Regards,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed in South Beach for 2 days after Cuba. At first glance, I was afraid they will be uppity but that was not the case at all. From the beginning (from checking in, to staying in and showing up a few minutes before breakfast ends--and still graciously letting us in, to little tweezers and nailclips) till the end of our stay (printing us directions to transfer to airport hotel), staff is Grade A-- very nice and accommodating. PS: the breakfast croissants are "to die for". We thoroughly enjoyed their wine tasting at 5:00. David recommended a small pastry shop which we were very happy about. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Small observations: the beds are not for tall people (thank goodness we're not) and a little noisy here and there. My kids ordered room service on our last night and the food (mac and cheese and grilled cheese and tomato soup) was fantastic. It's a great location (near shops and beach) for what we came for which was to relax (no sightseeing, etc.). Will come back, for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
gonzfamilyexplorers -

Thank you for the recent stay and great report card. We are definitely posting on our fridge! We look foward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The Surfcomber is a wonderful hotel. It has a great location in the heart of South Beach. The rooms are good sized and very clean. It has an amazing pool and is right on the beach. They have some nice small touches such as free loaner bikes and a wine tasting for the guests every afternoon that set them apart from most other hotels. Last and most important, was the staff. They were helpful and extremely friendly. I would recommend to anybody going to South Beach to check out the Surfcomber.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Joe S -

Thank you for the recent stay and wonderful review. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our new bikes. Kimpton has partnered up with Public Bikes in all of our hotels and they are very fun to ride! Looking foward to seeing you soon.

Regards,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, excellent customer service. Rooms are a little small but cute and spotless.

A special thank you to Valerie at the front desk that have me her own umbrella due to the monsoons outside and the fact we were not coming back to the hotel. Excellent service!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
northernlights40 -

Thank you for highlighting our rockstar Valerie at the front desk! We appreciate your business and look foward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The hotel is situated on the beach. A lovely pool and access to hotel bikes to go cycling along the long stretch of pedestrian pathing thatgoes all the way down to the touristy end of South Beach. You can choose to stay at the pool or utilise the loungers at the beach. Very attentive and happy pool and hotel staff with complimentary magazines, water, sunscreen.

Room Tip: Small boutique hotel so any room would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
KathyFlorham-

Thanks for the recent stay and great posting. I agree, the boardwalk behind our hotel is perfect for a bike ride or jog in the morning! We look foward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber
Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Green Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Amex, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.