We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off + FREE Upgrade
Ranked #14 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Norwalk, Connecticut
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, excellent customer service. Rooms are a little small but cute and spotless.

A special thank you to Valerie at the front desk that have me her own umbrella due to the monsoons outside and the fact we were not coming back to the hotel. Excellent service!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
northernlights40 -

Thank you for highlighting our rockstar Valerie at the front desk! We appreciate your business and look foward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    987
    458
    134
    40
    22
See reviews for
346
549
68
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The hotel is situated on the beach. A lovely pool and access to hotel bikes to go cycling along the long stretch of pedestrian pathing thatgoes all the way down to the touristy end of South Beach. You can choose to stay at the pool or utilise the loungers at the beach. Very attentive and happy pool and hotel staff with complimentary magazines, water, sunscreen.

Room Tip: Small boutique hotel so any room would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
KathyFlorham-

Thanks for the recent stay and great posting. I agree, the boardwalk behind our hotel is perfect for a bike ride or jog in the morning! We look foward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

very nice hotel to stay at miami soutch beach! nice room (big enough), hotel service and people very very friedly! pool nice and comfortable! poolboy chris bones is the best! in total a perfect hotel! will visit this hotel again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
huwuse-

Thank you the great posting and recent stay. We look foward to seeing you soon!

Regards,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, NY
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed here with friends 4th of July weekend. We had stayed in the Courtyard King rooms. The hotel is a beautiful, quaint little property right in the heart of South Beach, only 2 blocks from Lincoln Rd and sits right next to the SLS. The stay here was nice and relaxing, the staff was very friendly and the service for the most part was great. Of course, just like any other hotel in the world, there are always little hiccups here and there. Upon check in, one of our rooms was ready, thus we went up there and changed for the pool.

I have stayed in some of the most luxurious hotels in the world, but I must say a room is just a room, it doesn't need to be massive to be appreciated. But these rooms, are truly on the small size, averaging 200 sq ft. The room was nicely appointed, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom had an interesting design to it.

Down at the pool, my friend at the hotel arranged for a large double cabana for us, which was great to get out of the sun. The service level at the cabana was lacking though. We had asked for some mixers for our liquor and some ice, but we needed to ask a few times and then some more times. Which ended with one of my friends going to the bar and grabbing the mixers himself. The pool was very relaxing, heated but didn't need to be in the summer in florida, and the atmosphere was great. The dj was spinning some beats, but the music from the SLS pool area trumped the music at the Surfcomber pool by several decibels.

The beach area, seemed to be nicely managed and most of the hotel guests were staying down there during the day. I can understand, why lay by the pool when you have a gorgeous beach with clear blue water and a temp in the 80's! All of the hotels in the area had their beach chairs/loungers set up side by side, the only way to tell the difference was by the umbrella color.

The restaurant on property was nice for breakfast, but that's about it.When asking for restaurant recommendations from the door men, we were given a small place a few blocks away, but it seemed to be outside of the realm of action and people watching that weekend, thus we walked back to Lincoln rd, which is always good.

The overall stay was a nice one, and we had an excellent time. I would most definitely go back there again, but in the future I'd want to stay in the balcony rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
worldtraveler0411 -

Thank you for your recent stay and sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor Community. It was great to hear you had a nice time overall. We will be sure to dial in and fix those service issues in our cabanas. We look foward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indaiatuba, SP
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

very good hotel ,excellent location in miami beach,good price, good swimming pool
rooms clean,not big but honest.breakfest continental ok, good.
staff excellent, i strongly recomend this hotel.
food in the swimming pool very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
cto1-

Thank you for the great review. Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! Come back soon!

Regards,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have to say that overall I had a pleasant stay at this hotel. I liked it but left feeling like if they changed a few things I would love it.

Staff:
- Indoor and poolside staff was very accommodating and on top of things! We were welcomed every time we came back to the hotel, Our door was always opened by staff, we were greeted by every staff member who we encountered (I loved this, very friendly)
- We felt that the beach staff could have been a bit friendlier. There is a clear distinction between the friendliness of the staff inside the hotel/pool and the staff on the beach.
- It would have been nice if the beach staff came around for food and drink orders more often. One of the days I remember they came around just twice.

Food:
- The restaurant next to the lobby is really cute
- The server was chipper and helpful
- The room service food was also delicious
- We thought the prices for food and drinks were a little steep. Ordered 2 sandwiches and 2 beers for $40 not including tax and tip. At the pool we ordered 2 drinks for $30 and my mojito was awful! I understand a $10 drink but $14 - $15? Come on.

Rooms:
- The rooms are so well decorated and the details are amazing
- There were definitely noise issues with the rooms. We were first placed in a room next to the street and it was annoyingly loud. We could hear the cars, jack hammers and whatever else was going on out there. The second room had a window facing the courtyard while it was quieter we could still hear the music from the hotel thumping and unfortunately we could also hear our neighbors.

Location:
- The location was great; It was next to the beach and a block or two away from walgreens and cvs.
- I really liked that the beach designated for surfcomber had few people. Other hotel's beach areas seemed really crowded.

In short - If the hotel reduced their prices for food and drinks and sound proofed the rooms I would come back in a heartbeat and revise my rating to excellent instead of very good! Until then I think this hotel is just good.

Room Tip: Don't get a room next to the street if you want peace and quiet. If you get a room facing the co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hi Bibi L -

Thank you for your recent stay and candid feedback. We use our guest feedback to improve our service and develop the experience further. We will certainly be discussing your comments in upcoming meetings. We don't want to be good, we want excellent! Send me a private message when you are considering returning to the area so we can change your mind!

Regards,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed staying here. The location was great. All you have to do is walk out the back of the hotel by the pool and you're on the beach. 5 p.m. daily wine happy hour was great. Service was great. Everyone was attentive. A special shout out to Chris and the poolside crew for being very attentive. You're also only one block away from Lincoln Road and all the stores and restaurants that you can imagine. It was our first time staying in Miami Beach and we definitely look forward to going back and staying here.

Room Tip: The rooms were cleaned well daily but they are on the smaller side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Lee C-

We are happy to hear you and your wife had a great stay! Thank you for recognizing Chris and our pool team's service. We look foward to welcoming you back!

Regards,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.