We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at the Surfcomber.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fly South This Winter
Ranked #15 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Miami Beach
1 review
“Stay at the Surfcomber.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Very friendly personnel. Very helpful. Super clean. They made my guests feel really great. I would have loved a little bit more of flavor, music, by the pool area. Don't be intimidated by your neighbors!
Tip: The corridors are freezing!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,039
    488
    140
    42
    23
See reviews for
360
580
71
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Pete Beach
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

What can you say about the SC, well quite a bit, since Ryan and Chris are on the scene the place has stepped it up ( it shows from check in to the whole vibe).. This is the place to hang in SB.. the staff truly make the scene and take care of you as return vips, not guests. Stella loves her room and wanted to say wow.... getting better every stay
Cheers.. coming back in September! Tom and Stella McDermott

Room Tip: Rooms with pool view great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I'll start off by letting you know that we travelled with a group of 5 guys from June 13-17. When we first arrived, we met Luz and Valerie who were incredible to us from the get go. We asked to upgrade to a suite and after making sure it was available, they got us into the city view suite no problem (even though we didn't have that previously reserved). We are an outgoing group who likes to party it up, but at the same time we like to chill out too so the Surfcomber was the best choice because we could do our thing out and about South Beach and come back to a chill and welcoming environment. I wanted to give a special thanks to the staff members we met during our trip who made our stay memorable...from the very friendly and outgoing pool staff, we loved Eric, Jenna, Marco and Chris! Anything we needed or asked for, they would meet and exceed our expectations with a smile on their faces. Jackie, Luz, Valerie, and Vanessa were too friendly and helpful as well, catering to our needs and simply greeting us everyday with positive vibes. I'll go ahead and wrap this up, I've stayed at the Surfcomber before but this time I decided to bring along a group of friends who'd appreciate South Beach and everything it has to offer. Long story short, if you're looking for the best location, a great nightlife, easy access to the beach, incredible service and hospitality...stay at the Surfcomber! Don't believe any negative reviews on this hotel either!

Sincerely,

Cliff and the rest of the Dream Team!

Room Tip: The double rooms are pretty small, not gonna lie. Do yourself a favour and upgrade to a City view Su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed at Surfcomber for my friend's bachelorette party and they started our stay with 3 glasses of delicious prosecco (she had her tiara and sash on so they knew we were celebrating). When we arrived, we were a bit surprised with the room size (it was a bit crowded for a group of 3) but it was super clean and they have a lot of complimentary items for ppl who forget to pack certain items. For example, we needed extra contact solution, female razor blade, and nail clipper and they brought it to our room for free! They also have other items that are complimentary - toothbrush, toothpaste, cell phone charger, female hygiene products, etc. They obviously know how to treat a traveler!

The employees there are incredibly nice and were extremely helpful in a non grimy way. Most hotels have service ppl waiting around for a tip after they help you but not the ppl at Surfcomber. They did their thing and then walked away with a smile, never expecting a tip. They always opened the hotel door for us and greeted with a warm smile and asked us how our excursion went (they actually remembered us!).

The hotel also offered free fruit water, sangrias, and an afternoon refresher of ice tea (mmmm, delicious!). The resort package also included 2 free chairs on the beach which was great too. Their pool and beach area were never crowded so my friends and I had a great time swimming and hanging at the beach.


Oh, and another thing I love about the hotel - they allow dogs!!!

All in all, if I ever go back to Miami Beach, I would definitely stay at Surfcomber!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had one night to spend in Miami Beach, so we decided to return to the Surfcomber. This recently updated art deco hotel is on the beach, close to Lincoln Road and Beach Drive, with friendly staff and great service. The daily, free late afternoon wine bar is a great start to an evening of fun. The lobby bar is a wonderful place to wind down after an evening out. The room was clean and the staff responsive to the few requests we had. You can enjoy breakfast outside near the pool or inside if the temp and humidity are too much.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Petersent-

Thank you for the recent stay and kind words. We are happy to hear you enjoyed Wine Hour and your time at Social Club. We look foward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Intimate hotel with great personal service in the heart of South Beach. The little extras make this place. Beach and pool were flawless. Food and drink were expensive. Slight delay in checking out as a result of billing errors. Rooms were clean and linens were excellent. Walls were thin and sound traveled.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Rachelmcw-

Thank you for staying with us and sharing the review. We strive for a clean property with a great pool and beach; we are very happy to hear the great comments. We look foward to welcoming you back in the future!

Kind regards,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Very good boutique hotel, perfectly located on the beach and just 3 min walk to the Lincoln road mall. Ocean Drive is 10 min walk.
Friendly staff, very kind and very helpful to meet all your needs. Their dressing code is cozy and cool.
Fantastc pool, not crowded at all but a bit noisy for the very loud music coming from the SLS hotel which is the next one. They start disco music at noon and don't stop until 2 am. For this reason, if you ant to sleep at night, I suggest to ask for a room on the North side of the hotel
Overall, we had a very pleasant stay, very good and tasty food at the restaurant.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the south side unless you want to dance in your room all night long, as the next hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
FrancescoM1971-

Thank you so much for staying with us. We are glad to hear you had a pleasant stay overall. We will do what we can with our neighbors to keep their music from disrupting our guests. We look foward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.