We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fly South This Winter
Ranked #13 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I and our 2 standard poodles stayed at surfcomber for a night to celebrate our anniversery. The staff went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful. The pups were treated like celebrites and welcome by all. A special shout out to David who made our resevations to Luz at the frontdesk they couldn't do enough. From the minute we arrived the door/bellmen and valets were also very welcoming. The entire hotel staff was friendly and welcoming.The location was great , almost everything was in walking distance. Great hotel people and pets. Stay here if you want to be in the heart of south beach.

Room Tip: The rooms on the southside tend to be a little noisy at night due to the hotel next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,030
    484
    140
    41
    23
See reviews for
357
579
70
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights before our cruise. The hotel was in a great location. It was beautiful inside and outside. The staff were very welcoming. We had an ocean front room with a balcony. It was clean and comfortable. The pool and beach were awesome. Everything about the hotel was great. Ben the Concierge even sent a bottle of prosecco, balloons and cupcakes to our room to celebrate my husband's birthday. My only complaint - and it has nothing to do with the Surfcomber -was the constant thumping music from the SLS hotel that went on until 2 a.m., very difficult to sleep and then their fire alarm went off at 3 a.m.

Room Tip: Ocean front with balcony - but on the opposite side of the SLS hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
MMSNy -

Thank you for your recent stay at Surfcomber! It was great to see that Ben hooked you up with bubbles and cupcakes to help celebrate your husband's birthday. We look foward to welcoming you back for next year's celebration. Oh, and don't worry - we won't share his real age!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed at this amazing hotel in South Beach, Miami for two nights. The one bedroom room we were staying in was warm and the decor was nice. We had a beautiful view of palm trees and ocean! The staff was outstanding, they were friendly, considerate and helpful. Location of the hotel was perfect. It was just north of Lincoln Road Mall and all the shopping and restaurants. This hotel exceeded our expectations and we hope to return here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Cynthia H -

We are so happy that your recent stay exceeded expecations! Thank you for pointing out our oustanding staff.

We look foward to welcoming you back soon!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Rarely can you find a place that exceeds your expectations but this place does. Staff is really outstanding. They go out of their way to be helpful and considerate. The wine hour is fun and you can try some good wines. The package is nice that gets you chairs and towels at the beach. The guy was nice while we were in the ocean he cleaned the sand off my beach chair. Location is perfect. Can rent bikes on the property and returning other spots, then walk back. Located close to all the shopping and restaurants. The room was not large but we expected that. The decore is neat. Parking costs about 37 a night. Drinks at the beach are pricy. Be prepared because SoBe is noisy. This location is prime for seeing South Beach. The ocean water here is crystal clear. I definitely plan on returning.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Judsch-

Thank you for sharing the details of your great stay at Surfcomber! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Loved everything about this place. The staff was great, the beach and pool service were solid, the rooms were nice. It's just north of the Lincoln Road Mall and the "strip" so if you plan to stroll and people watch in the heart of Ocean Drive, you're going to have to walk a bit.

Some things to be aware of:

1. They charge a daily resort fee. I was not bothered by this - worth it to me to get the beach service, towels, etc., but just be aware. I think it was $25 per day.

2. The rooms are small. It's an old hotel so this is to be expected. They are still very nice and well maintained. Some of the views are not great - if this concerns you ask when you check in.

3. Join the Kimpton club and you get a mini-bar credit.

4. They won't let you check out late. Don't even ask. I did end up leaving late anyway one day, they didn't charge me for it.

5. Parking is insanely expensive - $45+ per night??? This actually isn't the hotel's fault - there's been some consolidation in the ownership of valet garages, and they've jacked the prices for all hotels. Do yourself a favor and park in one of the public garages - there's one a few blocks south for about $25 per day.

Staff here is great - one of the valets even helped me change a flat tire. I'd go back

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hi Jonathan F-

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community. Happy to hear you had a great time! I just want to clarify a couple items. The resort fee is $24 inclusive of taxes. This includes two beach chairs each day, a $10 per day food and beverage credit, and all of the amenities the property has to offer (towels, lounge chair covers, sunscreen, fruit infused water, calendar events, etc). When we are busy it can be tough to give the late checkouts as we want to get our rooms ready for our arriving guests! Holding luggage is always option. Valet parking is $37 and doesn't always come with a free tire change; it was great to hear the valet helped you out!

Once again, thank you for staying with us. Hope to see you soon!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Our first visit to Miami as a family, two adults and one 4 year old. The Surfcomber is a good choice for its location and friendly staff. The rooms are ok size wise, but for a family it lacks the hanging space for wet clothes when you are travelling with a young child. Access to the beach is quick and easy, with free beach chairs ( if you have paid the resort fee, which appears to be compulsory), but you do have to pay $16 for an umbrella. There are buckets and spades available for guests. Around the adequately sized pool there are plenty of chairs and umbrellas for week days, but I guess it would get a bit overcrowded on sunny weekends. The minimum pool depth is 3ft, so bring arm bands for little ones.
Wifi is high speed and available everywhere including the beach. All areas are pretty clean, including the pool area, but for some reason the corridors remain un-vacuumed for several days after the cleaners trolley had chipped the plaster outside our room.
The rooms often don't have a great view, with half the rooms facing the adjacent hotels with very little gap.
The location is great, as it is easy walking distance to Lincon Mall. Cabs are in abundance too due to the hotel being on Collins.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dicky_Ba,

Thank you for your recent stay at Surfcomber. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback so we are able improve the experience for your return and future guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Regards,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham Abbey, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Thank you Surfcomber for making our stay in Miami, this was a pre cruise stay for 2 nights and it was perfect, the pool is amazing and everyone makes you feel so special, a real personal touch.
We mentioned that we had a day on our return from the cruise in Miami and they told us to return we left our bags with them and they gave us full complimentary facilities until our evening flight, therefore we could enjoy our last day in Miami taking in lunch on Ocean Drive and returning to the hotel for 'Managers' Wine hour and then freshning up before our overnight flight to London.
If you are looking for a central hotel in the heart of Miami this is the place thank you and really hope to return again very soon

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
JacquiCastle,

What an incredible posting! We are very happy see we accomplished our mission: to make you feel special and offer a personal experience. We look forward to making you feel special again soon!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.