We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% off
Ranked #25 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Surfcumber at South Beach is just a great place to stay.
The service and staff friendliness is a 10.
The premisses very nice, including a fantastic asian restaurant.
We will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,283
    614
    175
    57
    36
See reviews for
456
717
88
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights. Nothing to complain about the hotel, except the noisy Airco from the neighboring hotel. Very good located, nice and clean. Beautiful pool area and even wine tasting in the evening for free but when offered, then with different vineyards and not always the same...
Overall a very good!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Peter_G017-

Thank you for your staying with us. I'm happy you enjoyed wine hour! Like all Kimpton Hotels, we offer wine hour from 5-6pm each night for our guests. We have a different red and white wine from a Vineyard that has a love for the environment like us. Just another excuse to stay at a Kimpton at least once each month!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

From the time I booked until we left the Kimpton Surfcomber was a class act! We asked for an early checkin and although they were not sure if it would be possible we were accommodated very early. The wine hour was very nice. Join the Kimpton group website and get free internet during your stay. Perfect wake up call at 4:00 am and taxi waiting for our ride to the airport. The next door hotel was a party scene all day and night, which was NOT what we wanted, so for our stay the Surfcomber was perfect calm and quiet. Front desk was very friendly. Beach employees were excellent. Continental Breakfast was just enough and included in our package.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The cleaning of the Room is poor or only focus on arranging the bed clothes.
I took twice the breakfast in the room and when I arrived late in the evening the tray with breakfast from morning was still there. No one picked it up.
Cleaning of bathroom is not great either. Carpet is not clean during your stay with the vacuum cleaner as I would expect for the type of rate I paid for.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My fiancee and I stayed here for four nights and could not have had a better experience. The staff were extremely accommodating, from the front desk, to the pool, to the housekeeping, everyone went above and beyond. The pool is wonderful, with music playing all day, but not too loud, and with the pool staff being very attentive, I never had to wait too long to get a chair, a drink or some food- plus the nightly wine hour is great. The beach was gorgeous, as you would expect in Miami Beach, and the staff there was also very attentive. Our room was not as small as I was expecting and very clean, and while the bathroom isn't big, I did not come to South Beach to spend too much time in the room or bathroom. We got some excellent restaurant recommendations from the front desk staff (ask Ryan and try Yardbird, it's amazing). And, the biggest thing was the price! All the other good south beach hotels (above 17th st) with a good pool and beach access were way more expensive, and combined with the service, location, and amenities, especially if you join their loyalty program, (which is free to join and you get free wifi), this is a hotel I will definitely stay at next time I am in Miami, and I could not recommend it more.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Didn't know much about Miami and picked this hotel because of its charm, reviews and location in the better end of Collins Ave, i.e. north of 17th. It did not disappoint - the location was great, could walk to all the main restos/shops etc on Lincoln Rd, Espanola Way, and Ocean Dr. The decor was funky chic, the pool area very pleasant with palm trees etc, the clientele was eclectic (many european), it was clean and the staff were very pleasant. Most importantly there was direct access to the boardwalk and beach through a gate at the back. The only drawback, and it was rather major, is that it is situated beside the SLS hotel, which appears to be a hotel catering to the nouveau riche crowd. The SLS starts its headbanging techo poolside music at 10 or 11 in the morning and doesn't stop it until almost 11 at night. I would urge the Surfcomber to do something about this sooner rather than later as it was extremely annoying.

Room Tip: Don't chose a room near the SLS hotel. Also, Collins Ave can be noisy as well, re. Traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I attended an event here and it left much to be desired. No signs indicating location of event in lobby or out near pool. One of two bars dedicated but you had to climb over the people at the pool to get there and walk in the sand with heels.
Inside restaurant food was not hot; however, the inside venue was so hot people left before the cake was cut.
Lobby quite stark but staff was lovely and polite but could really carel ess or they would have called the GM on duty to hear my complaints. Never took my phone number and name. Location of this hotel is everything so make sure that you get a good room.
Day rate pool/beach cabanas available to rent which is a good thing now that the "season" is over. Negotiate.

Room Tip: I did not view a room. Day rate pool/beach cabanas available to rent which is a good thing now that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#12 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,394 reviews
Thompson Miami Beach
#3 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 597 reviews
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#15 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#37 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 4,308 reviews
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#6 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.