We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Clean at al” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off + FREE Upgrade
Ranked #9 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not Clean at al”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

The cleaning of the Room is poor or only focus on arranging the bed clothes.
I took twice the breakfast in the room and when I arrived late in the evening the tray with breakfast from morning was still there. No one picked it up.
Cleaning of bathroom is not great either. Carpet is not clean during your stay with the vacuum cleaner as I would expect for the type of rate I paid for.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,556 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    944
    434
    125
    35
    18
See reviews for
336
515
65
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My fiancee and I stayed here for four nights and could not have had a better experience. The staff were extremely accommodating, from the front desk, to the pool, to the housekeeping, everyone went above and beyond. The pool is wonderful, with music playing all day, but not too loud, and with the pool staff being very attentive, I never had to wait too long to get a chair, a drink or some food- plus the nightly wine hour is great. The beach was gorgeous, as you would expect in Miami Beach, and the staff there was also very attentive. Our room was not as small as I was expecting and very clean, and while the bathroom isn't big, I did not come to South Beach to spend too much time in the room or bathroom. We got some excellent restaurant recommendations from the front desk staff (ask Ryan and try Yardbird, it's amazing). And, the biggest thing was the price! All the other good south beach hotels (above 17th st) with a good pool and beach access were way more expensive, and combined with the service, location, and amenities, especially if you join their loyalty program, (which is free to join and you get free wifi), this is a hotel I will definitely stay at next time I am in Miami, and I could not recommend it more.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Didn't know much about Miami and picked this hotel because of its charm, reviews and location in the better end of Collins Ave, i.e. north of 17th. It did not disappoint - the location was great, could walk to all the main restos/shops etc on Lincoln Rd, Espanola Way, and Ocean Dr. The decor was funky chic, the pool area very pleasant with palm trees etc, the clientele was eclectic (many european), it was clean and the staff were very pleasant. Most importantly there was direct access to the boardwalk and beach through a gate at the back. The only drawback, and it was rather major, is that it is situated beside the SLS hotel, which appears to be a hotel catering to the nouveau riche crowd. The SLS starts its headbanging techo poolside music at 10 or 11 in the morning and doesn't stop it until almost 11 at night. I would urge the Surfcomber to do something about this sooner rather than later as it was extremely annoying.

Room Tip: Don't chose a room near the SLS hotel. Also, Collins Ave can be noisy as well, re. Traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I attended an event here and it left much to be desired. No signs indicating location of event in lobby or out near pool. One of two bars dedicated but you had to climb over the people at the pool to get there and walk in the sand with heels.
Inside restaurant food was not hot; however, the inside venue was so hot people left before the cake was cut.
Lobby quite stark but staff was lovely and polite but could really carel ess or they would have called the GM on duty to hear my complaints. Never took my phone number and name. Location of this hotel is everything so make sure that you get a good room.
Day rate pool/beach cabanas available to rent which is a good thing now that the "season" is over. Negotiate.

Room Tip: I did not view a room. Day rate pool/beach cabanas available to rent which is a good thing now that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

By far the best customer service I have ever encountered at a hotel, all staff was very nice and helpful constantly greeting you with a hello even when passing by. The decor and cleanliness of the hotel was impeccable (and I am very picky) even down to the bed sheets. The location and proximity to the beach -amazing! My only concern which I refuse to account into my star rating because the hotel has no control over is the size of the rooms, we stayed in a deluxe king and between the size of the room itself and the bathroom it reminded me of a cruise ship stateroom. However I am sure other rooms are larger not to deter ANY one because this is one fantastic hotel and we will return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Surfcomber to celebrate our anniversary. We very much appreciated the front desk hospitality from Carlos and the concierge's bubbly gift to help us celebrate! Our bellman Brian was enthusiastic and professional We had a premier king ocean front room with balcony which we very much enjoyed (the paint could use just a tad refreshing) and appreciated the nightly towel and turndown surface. A request for a coffee maker was met with a Keurig and coffee pods! Maid service was very good as well.
The pool side attendant Jonathan was attentive and resourceful in securing pool chairs for us. (I just wish the poolside food service attendants could be equally so....perhaps no motivation with the gratuity already figured in?) The poolside food was tasty. The beach attendants were also very attentive in securing beach chairs and umbrellas. Be aware there is major sound bleed at the pool from the thumping music at SLS next door (and we were disappointed that on our second day part of the public area was booked with a private bar mitzvah party which brought their own loud music system....just seems like private events should not infringe on the paying guests enjoying the property) The only major negative was a disaster with room service breakfast but to the management's credit the meal was comped (The wrong meal was sent up and the eventual meal which made it to the room was not particularly tasted or well presented). The bar Social has an innovative drink menu with a very talented mixologist. In a town with too much faux attitude, Surfcomber stands apart as a welcoming guest experience at a reasonable value.

Room Tip: Splurge for the king premier ocean front balcony room and request one on the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

There are some good but some very bad points about this hotel.
First the good.... Great location for beach nice touches like free wine around the pool and staff generally helpful.
Now the bad.......the outer rooms are very very noisy, if you are unlucky enough to br allocated a room on the outer section of the hotel you will not sleep a wink all night every night as the hotel next door clears all their rubbish and bottles all night long near the outer rooms, there will be coming and going all night long then the rubbish van will then arrive in the early hours to continue the noise.
I would not stay at this hotel again because of this reason.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
bjfkdf-

Thank you for the recent stay and sharing your feedback. We will talk to our neighbors and garbage vendors to see what can be done about the 'city noise' late night/early morning. I do hope you consider giving us another chance.

Warm regards,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Otel, Travelocity, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.