We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Upgrades Breakfast - $5
Ranked #18 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I've been staying for 4 days at the Kimpton surfcomber and I must say it was an exceptional stay. The stay was excellent and so are the staff, in the end I was almost sorry to leave.Upon arriving I found myself in a valley of smiles from the very first person I met Chris( guest service manager), who remembered our names after only seeing him once. He explained everything I had available and gave me a card for the beach as well as a card for dinning.Entering the room, it was clean and quiet (couldn't hear a noise). The bathroom is also very clean. The bed was one thing that if I could take him home, I would have done. Hard in the right places and comfortable....Very rich and tasty breakfast, I love scrambled eggs,and I found the best around. Chocolate Cake also were fantastic. With each breakfast I became more spoiled.Which brings me to in room dinning, throughout our Ryan was very helpful, quick with orders and very respectful.
These are the things that made me enjoy my stay at this hotel, but my warmest congratulations to the hotel for their choice of personnel. They know how to really make you feel at home, and if you need anything it is like asking a family member. Congratulations from the heart, you were fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Ayoola-

We love our Surfcomber family - so glad you did too! We really appreciate your kind words. I will be sure to share the great comments with Ryan, Chris, and the entire team.

See you soon!

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,113
    526
    154
    46
    30
See reviews for
393
624
74
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Usa, Japan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I think this property has potential. Unfortunately, for a traveler NOT interested in the weeklong music festival this is the worst place to be for a vacation. We made impromptu reservations via the Kimpton website mid-day on the 24th for arrival that night. There was no warning about what we were getting ourselves into. When we checked in we were told there was a party but everything would be back in order by 10:00 on the morning of the 25th. HA! There were 50+ workers around the pool cleaning everything and dismantling stages, bars, etc. The place looked like a hurricane hit with debris, "fluids", and other unmentionables everywhere. It looked like a cross between hurricane damage, frat party, and construction site. Guests could not use pool, restaurant or get proper food/drink service from the beach attendant until late the 26th (at the earliest). Guests were forced to walk 4 properties down to use another hotel pool. I am sure the hotel made plenty of money in music week and did not care about the guests arriving AFTER the event. However, it was truly unacceptable to not be forewarned AND for them to put their staff in the position to be face so many unhappy guests who had paid an considerable amount for rooms at a property they could not use.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Lovemy2dogs,

I am very sorry our pool deck was in the process of being reset when you checked in. Next year we will be sure to do a better job communicating the backyard closure for a day after the events. Please reach out via private message so we can discuss taking care of you on a return stay.

Regards,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

I try not to be a negative reviewer, but the Surfcomber was a disappointment. We stayed there one night 3/25/2013 after a cruise. Unfortunately, the place had been trashed the night before. The hotel had hosted a large party in the pool area. We were looking forward to some time next to the pool, but unfortunatly it was closed for cleaning for the two days we were there. Our room was clean, but trash and other reminants of the party was in the halls until late into the evening.

On the plus side the surfcomber does have a good location on the beach. But beware here too, chairs on the beach are included in the resort fee, but an unbrellas is $15 (who does not want an unbrellas). Also, be warned drinks on the beach were ridiculous $6 for a can of coke.

The surcomber had potential, but shot itself in the foot in my mind.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Rob,

I am very sorry for the dissapointing experience. We have learned our lesson, and will be sure to do a better job of communicating post-event cleanup. I am happy to say that our backyard has been reset back to life.

Feel free to shoot me a private message if you would like to discuss further.

Best,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Its 5 am in the morning and the guys are outside cleaning the pool area with some generator powered industrial strength cleaning equipment. With the windows shut the noise is still unbearable! Even after ringing to see if they could clean the pool area in a couple of hours, nothing changed.

OK - so its the morning after a pool party as part of the week long Ultra festival. However, its doesn't mean that they have to clean the pool area at that time. (We were not attending the hotel as part of the festival)

On top of this, the room designer should be hung! The air conditioning unit is placed right in line with the head of the bed so when it comes on, it blows ice cold air on your face. I woke up (if you can call it sleep) with a cold.

On the plus side we love the location (close to Lincoln Road) and the staff are very friendly. We were given an upgrade to a beach view room (if you have binoculars you can see the beach).

However at $500+ per night i expected so much more.

All i can suggest is that you stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Solodepaso,

I am very sorry that our pressure washing was disruptive to your stay. We will defitnely look into a quieter way of getting this work done.

The A/C vent is an easy fix; we can adjust the vent fins so they are directed away from the beds.

I've reached out to you via a private message. I hope you give us another chance.

Regards,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This place has everything. The things you will notice are the amazing pool, easy access to the beach and other things in South Beach. The rooms are in very good shape and the service is amazing. I don't know about the price because my friend stayed here but I saw everything that this hotel has to offer. I definitely recommend this place!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
FtLaudyFred-

Thank you for the great review. Our service is definitely what sets us apart from the rest of the pack.

We look foward to seeing you soon in South Beach!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage AK
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I would have given this hotel a five star if it wasn't for a huge disappointment we just had. But I did learn something: "I will always call a hotel ahead of booking a reservation to see if there are any special events that may impact our stay". I picked this hotel for it access to the beach and its pool. Upon checking in with our daughter (19 yrs) we were told that the pool area and access through that area to the beach would be closed to anyone under 21 years old for a 3 day music party (11am to 11 pm). We had to walk around the block to the beach and when we asked we were told that we could use another hotels pool down the block (huh - I wonder how that would look walking down the street in my robe - Ha - not pretty)!

Room Tip: Always call a hotel before you book it to see if there are any activities planned that may impact yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
GJKAnchorageAK-
Thank you for the posting.
Honestly, your robe would look fine.
We hope to see you soon & not during WMC; its not for everyone.
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrewshire, Scotland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were here for a 2 night stay in January prior to a cruise. Picked this hotel based on reviews and location. Room was fairly small, but nice and the staff at check in were incredibly pleasant. Good location for south beach amenities - loads of places to eat in the surrounding area. Pool area was nice and enjoyed the "wine hour" which actually also offered lovely cider which we both enjoyed. Was quite expensive to stay here but seemed to be standard for south beach to be honest. Would most likely stay here again should we go back to miami

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Gordon78-
Thank you for taking a moment & posting your experience with us.
We hope you come back soon.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.