We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXTRAORDINARY EXPERIENCE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off + FREE Upgrade
Ranked #8 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rochester, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“EXTRAORDINARY EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Great location: one block from Lincoln Road and right on the beach - super path for biking, hiking, walking. Exceptional staff: Brian and Jonathan at the pool for all your needs; Andrew, Valerie, Michi, and Ben (concierge) smiling and accommodating. Lucien, Naomil, and Chris ready to give exemplary room service.

Highly recommend for singles, couples, and family. Try it - you will love it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
GlojoRochester_NY-
Wow, thank you for the extraordinary experience posting.
We hope to see you again soon.
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,459 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    884
    408
    116
    36
    15
See reviews for
304
490
61
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous stay from start to end. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Facility well maintained and a beautiful beachside location with a lovely pool area. Had breakfast in the room, lunch by the beach and free wine by the pool. A great place to go and unwind. Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Jhicks1162-
Wow, sounds perfect. I may need to stay over again soon.
Thank you for staying with us and for the exceptional posting.
We hope to see you again soon.
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Just returned from a business meeting I held at the Surfcomber. It was an excellent hotel! James and Nicole, both of whom I worked with for the planning of the meeting and while on site provided excellent customer service! Everyone that worked there made every attempt to make you feel special. The wine hour by the pool made the last part of the afternoon nice as well. I would highly recommend this place and will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Room 343 is a nice room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Lottapud-
Thank you so much for the excellent property posting.
We are so happy that James & Nicole took such great care of you and your meeting attendees.
We hope to see you again soon.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Recently spent three nights at this hotel. I'm a fan of Kimpton hotels (having stayed at other locations in San Francisco and NYC) and this one did not disapoint. The service was extraordinary...everyone that works there is very friendly and helpful. The location is super central (a couple blocks from Lincoln). The lobby is really nice (great design elements) and the pool & beach are great. Lots of nice little extras like complimentary wine hour and mimosas on the beach!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
MoniqueAllegra-
Thank you so much for the great posting.
I love reading about extraordinary service and the little extras that went a long way.
We hope to see you back with us soon.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We went to Miami for my birthday. Not only was the hotel amazing, the staff was the friendliest staff I have ever met at a hotel. No matter who we passed in the hallway, they always said hi... We were greeted with "Welcome Back" when we came back in from a night out. The location was perfect with direct beach access and a short walk to Lincoln Road. The bartenders were a joy to talk to and were creative in coming up with new drinks for my friend and I. Even when our trip was extended due to the Blizzard back home the Surfcomber was incredibly understanding and we were able to enjoy an extra two days in the Miami sun! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Miami and I can't wait to go back myself!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
mapelprup-
Happy belated birthday.
Thank you for the fantastic posting we really appreciate it and look forward to your return with us.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed at the Surfcomber last year soon after it had opened, and loved it (you can see my earlier review). For my return to Miami this year, I decided to stay with the Kimpton group again. I am so glad that I did.

The service at the Surfcomber is simply fantastic. The staff are always happy to help and go the extra mile -- from the front desk to housekeeping to pool staff. We got upgraded to a Premier King room upon check-in, and loved it. The room was spacios and the bed super-comfortable. This property has a very chill vibe and the landscaping around the pool is really fun and invites you to just spend the day lazing around. The location of the hotel is fantastic for going out to eat or stroll in South Beach and for access to the beach (the pool area opens out to the beach).

Will I be back at this Kimpton property -- the answer is yes! Highly recommend it. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
barca212-
Thank you for the recommendation.
I love reading about the smiles and our employees going the extra mile.
We can't wait for your return, see you soon.
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at the Surfcomber for 2 nights and were very happy with our choice. It is a great value considering what other neighboring hotels were charging. I can't imagine getting much more out of a higher priced hotel than what I got here. The staff and accomodations were excellent from check-in to check-out. We would definitely stay here again. Join their Intouch membership (free) for complimentary access to wireless internet and $10 off of the mini-bar per day. Also, the food was very good. We were very disappointed with the restaurants in the Miami Beach area in general, but some of the best food was in the hotel. The burger and grilled vegetable wrap were very good. My only complaint was that they charge you and extra $15 for an umbrella on the beach. You are already paying the resort fee, why the extra charge?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
traveler55117-
Thank you for the excellent posting.
We are so happy that you recognize our property as a value.
We truly try daily to provide additional products and services to make your stay more comfortable.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.