We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good choice in SOBE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off + FREE Upgrade
Ranked #9 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“good choice in SOBE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Recently spent three nights at this hotel. I'm a fan of Kimpton hotels (having stayed at other locations in San Francisco and NYC) and this one did not disapoint. The service was extraordinary...everyone that works there is very friendly and helpful. The location is super central (a couple blocks from Lincoln). The lobby is really nice (great design elements) and the pool & beach are great. Lots of nice little extras like complimentary wine hour and mimosas on the beach!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
MoniqueAllegra-
Thank you so much for the great posting.
I love reading about extraordinary service and the little extras that went a long way.
We hope to see you back with us soon.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,531 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    931
    423
    124
    35
    18
See reviews for
327
507
64
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Branford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We went to Miami for my birthday. Not only was the hotel amazing, the staff was the friendliest staff I have ever met at a hotel. No matter who we passed in the hallway, they always said hi... We were greeted with "Welcome Back" when we came back in from a night out. The location was perfect with direct beach access and a short walk to Lincoln Road. The bartenders were a joy to talk to and were creative in coming up with new drinks for my friend and I. Even when our trip was extended due to the Blizzard back home the Surfcomber was incredibly understanding and we were able to enjoy an extra two days in the Miami sun! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Miami and I can't wait to go back myself!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
mapelprup-
Happy belated birthday.
Thank you for the fantastic posting we really appreciate it and look forward to your return with us.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed at the Surfcomber last year soon after it had opened, and loved it (you can see my earlier review). For my return to Miami this year, I decided to stay with the Kimpton group again. I am so glad that I did.

The service at the Surfcomber is simply fantastic. The staff are always happy to help and go the extra mile -- from the front desk to housekeeping to pool staff. We got upgraded to a Premier King room upon check-in, and loved it. The room was spacios and the bed super-comfortable. This property has a very chill vibe and the landscaping around the pool is really fun and invites you to just spend the day lazing around. The location of the hotel is fantastic for going out to eat or stroll in South Beach and for access to the beach (the pool area opens out to the beach).

Will I be back at this Kimpton property -- the answer is yes! Highly recommend it. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
barca212-
Thank you for the recommendation.
I love reading about the smiles and our employees going the extra mile.
We can't wait for your return, see you soon.
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at the Surfcomber for 2 nights and were very happy with our choice. It is a great value considering what other neighboring hotels were charging. I can't imagine getting much more out of a higher priced hotel than what I got here. The staff and accomodations were excellent from check-in to check-out. We would definitely stay here again. Join their Intouch membership (free) for complimentary access to wireless internet and $10 off of the mini-bar per day. Also, the food was very good. We were very disappointed with the restaurants in the Miami Beach area in general, but some of the best food was in the hotel. The burger and grilled vegetable wrap were very good. My only complaint was that they charge you and extra $15 for an umbrella on the beach. You are already paying the resort fee, why the extra charge?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
traveler55117-
Thank you for the excellent posting.
We are so happy that you recognize our property as a value.
We truly try daily to provide additional products and services to make your stay more comfortable.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Kimpton has done a very nice job with this hotel. Our observations:

-Great location, on the beach and close to other nice hotels and Lincoln Avenue
-Smaller than the typical hotel in this stretch, but that is a good thing..it felt very comfortable
-It is in a period building but just renovated a year ago, so all very fresh
-We found our room to be quiet, and of good size
-The pool area is very nicely done, with access to the beach from the property
-We ate at the restaurant for breakfast only. We found it to be a bit pricy but not unacceptable for the easy access from the room and pool
-We did room service a few times,with good turn-around time and very good food.
-Our only criticism is on service levels of items to be delivered to the room. We had a few packages sent to the hotel prior to our arrival but one was not delivered...we tracked it and found that the hotel had it all along but failed to deliver to us until we asked about it...(even though they delivered other packages). Same story for in-house laundry, it was for same-day service and we called the next to see where it was...it was ready same day, just not delivered. This was the only criticism we have of the place and it should be easy to fix.

All in all we would recommend this place highly and look forward to coming back. If they fixed that service problems it would get an "excellent" rating from us for sure!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
max2lucy-
Thank you for staying with us. It sounds like you really enjoyed your experience and that makes us happy.
We will look into providing better service regarding packages & laundry delivery.
Thx for bring that to my attention.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed here to celebrate her birthday. I have stayed in several of the Kimpton chain hotels and have come to enjoy them all and this was no exception. From the location to the beach access to the service everything was excellent. Would definitely recommend this hotel highly.

Room Tip: Corner room on the second floor had a balcony that was gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Kcdysart-
Thank you for staying with us, we love to hear from our Kimpton guests staying with us.
See you soon.
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here for a week in September 2012 after running around NYC and DC for a week.
The location was great, so close to Lincoln Drive and Hispanola Way, and our room faced the 'courtyard' which menat we heard no noise from Collins or the adjoining hotels.
Room was lovely, bed was a good size and so comfortable. Bathroom a tad on the small size but very clean and great Etro toiletries. We had the complimentary breakfast every morning, croissant and a fruit cup, which was enough for us, and we ate there at lunch time a couple of days which we really enjoyed. The only reason we didn't eat there in an evening was that there were so many other places to visit.The pool area was lovely, and the pool attendants so helpful, offering iced water and occasional treats like frozen grapes.
It was fairly low key during the week but as it got towards the weekend the place filled up and the pool became really busy, but everyone was nice and friendly.
I have never stayed anywhere that has such friendly staff, always a "hello" and a "welcome home" as we arrived back and our increasinly predictable breakfast order was always met with enthusiasm: "awesome!" and staff offered recomendations of places to visit, seriously everyone was great. We loved the bike station on the property and used it a couple of times, which was great fun.

This was our first time in a Kimpton hotel, we shall keep an eye open for them in future.

Room Tip: Overlooking the courtyard was nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
MushysMum-
Thank you for this truly phenomenal posting.
We appreciate it and look forward to seeing you at other Kimpton Branded properties.
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.