We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Weekend in South Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off + FREE Upgrade
Ranked #14 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lilburn, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Long Weekend in South Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This was a weekend getaway for wife and I combining work and lesiure. The hotel has a great location. It is on the beach (no streets to cross) and a few blocks from Lincoln Ave (large pedestrian area with shops and restaurants) and a mile or so from the hardcore action on Ocean Beach Blvd in the heart of SoBe. You expect to pay to be on the beach, but the accomodations were valued fairly. I personally did not care for the art work in the lobby, but it was laid out nice, it is very modern, and the staff is very friendly. The rooms are ample, and the pool and grounds are perfect for just relaxing. I would not say this is a hotel for younger kids. I would say the atmosphere is more suited to the 30 - 40+ crowd. They have wine tasting happy hour, and other events by the pool. And while there is a lot of activity, it was significanlty more peaceful than anything you will find on Ocean Beach. If you don't mind being a little out of the way of the "Live Action" on the SoBe strip, this is a perfect spot. I would stay here again, absolutely!

Room Tip: There is a parking/valet fee as there is no on-site parking. But they were very prompt in getting o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Sean J-
Thank you for the great posting.
We due cater to a guest a bit more mature.
We have created programing to develop a relaxed atmosphre; a bit different for the beach.
If you want to go out and party, go at it; when you want to rest & relax; we are here for you.
See you again soon.
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    985
    458
    133
    40
    22
See reviews for
346
547
68
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed here in the city view luxury suite for my bachlorette party and it was a great choice! The hotel has a wonderful pool with plenty of lounge chairs and large lounging area with tables in front of the pool. When you exit through the back of the hotel, you can head straight out to the beach! The hotel itself and the rooms were all lovely and clean. In fact, the rooms look better in person than in the photos and Kimpton has a great policy of offering you an upgrade to the luxury suite for only a fraction of the price if no one books it before you check-in which we took advantage of. The location was good, in the middle of the strip so that you can easily walk to any of the popular clubs or hotel bars in less than 10 minutes.There is also free coffee and tea in the mornings and the concierge very helpful as well. The only problem we had with the hotel was that the food from the Lantao Sand Bar restaurant was not very good. Since we hung out by the pool all day, we had several meals (two breakfasts, lunch and evening snack) and the food was not very good except for the breakfast, which was simple and therefore passable (i.e. chopped fruit). The cocktails were good though and the hotel had events like free evening wine tasting by the pool.

If you're looking for a pool party hotel though, this might not be the place for you as this was not one of the hotels which had DJs and music blasting. Instead, we were able to relax in the calm and relative quiet by the pool, with plenty of people sunning all around.

Tip: There are several Walgreens and cheap souvenir shops just a couple of blocks south, so its very easy to pick up anything you need.

Room Tip: If they give you the option to pay a bit more to upgrade to a city luxury suite, definitely do it! I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Firestarryl-
Thank you for the fabulous hotel & great service posting.
We appreciate that you stayed with us and hope to see you again.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The staff at the Surfcomber on South Beach went above and beyond to accommodate our every need! Special shout out to Ryan and Tony; the Chi town girls appreciate all of your help! Great location right on Collins backing up to beautiful Miami beach. Hotel was nicely appointed, rooms are large with comfy beds, but bathroom is a bit small. Would absolutely stay here again!

Room Tip: ask for the corner rooms - very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Terri T-
Thank you for staying with us and thank you so much for the outstanding posting.
We hope to see you back here soon.
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

...was in search of a quick getaway to Southbeach...the Surfcomber popped up in my internet seach. The more I read, the more I like. Live and in person, it blew away my research expectations. From the friendly greeting and glass of proseco at check-in, the staff bent over backwords, looked you in the eye, and smiled with genuine warmth as they catered to your needs. Right on the beach. Awesome pool. Location, location, location for walking in South Beach. I highly recommend this property and will look into other Kimpton properties on my next trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Lilbogs-
Thank you for the awesome posting.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

I would recommend this hotel to my friends. Excellent customer service. They worked hard to make our stay memorable. The amenities are great. The pool area is luxurious. The beach is right out of a picture. The staff was friendly and helpful. Couldn't ask for anything more!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
jennyd5105-
Short and sweet.
Thank you for the recommendation and for staying with us.
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I had a wonderful stay at the Surfcomber from January 8th-10th. It was a really special occasion and the staff did a wonderful job making us feel like the hotel was celebrating with us! Especially BJessica who left a really sweet handwritten note in our room (and who I had the pleasure of meeting during the stay! She was absolutely wonderful!) Brent at Checkin was also extremely sweet and friendly. Everyone smiled and said hi. The hotel itself is also great, the lobby is big and has a lot of places to hang out with a cup of coffee or a cocktail. The pool is great and the location even better. Rooms are on the small side but who wants to stay inside their room at South Beach?! Overall it is a really great hotel and I would definitely recommend it, if not just for the staff!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
mjohnsi-
We are so happy that you enjoyed your special occassion with us.
Come back, lets do it again.
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Ok , first a couple things about Miami Beach, they automatically add 18 % gratituty everywhere and unless you're paying over $500 / night - the rooms are small, most of these hotels where built in a different era. Valet service is also expensive but you don't need a car in this area. The cab service is amazing , the longest wait I had for a cab was 2 minutes. Also Miami beach has rental bikes with stations everywhere, it's a great way to get around.
The Kimpton must do a great job training their staff because not only are they helpful but they're happy and it rubs off on everyone, we had great service from Carr, Andy, Ricky and Anthony. The pool area is really nice and the attendents are fabulous, we even saw a movie star grace our pool from the HBO Entourage show.
The Location is one block from Lincoln mall and close to Ocean Drive, which is great. The food and drink prices are a little high. Nearby I found the restaurant across the street had great breakfasts for a decent price and Lucy's next door had the best $4 Tacos I've ever had.
I am dinging the hotel because none of the rooms really have Ocean front view but there's not much they can do about that.

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
gulfkevin-
We are so happy you enjoyed your experience with us.
The celeb's slip in once in awhile.
Hope to see you again soon.
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.