We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for Miami” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off + FREE Upgrade
Ranked #9 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Perfect place for Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Location spot on (easy to walk to the beach plus the outdoor mall and eating places).
Room very comfortable, although beware if 'overlooking the courtyard'..this means 'over the bar'. (Which can be noisy until bar closing time).
Staff really helpful and friendly (as it's Monday, it's fist bump or high five day on check out..)
Poolside amenities perfect too..loved the small 'rooms 'n' rocking chairs'.

Imagine that you'd pay a lot more for only marginally better just a few doors away..

Room Tip: Not over the bar if you like early nights!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
johnwl-uk-
Thank you for the wonderful posting.
HIgh five to you.
See you soon
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,587 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    961
    443
    128
    35
    20
See reviews for
342
527
67
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We are Kimpton loyalists (we have stayed at several of their properties in NYC, Chicago, SF and elsewhere) and we were not disappointed by the Surfcomber. While there are more "luxe" properties in the neighborhood, like the Ritz Carlton or new SLS hotel next door, you won't find a better value if you plan ahead or get a great last-minute deal. (We used the AAA discount.) And the people at the Surfcomber couldn't be nicer. If you want a laid-back, modern, clean, well-located hotel (and are willing to sacrifice a bit on room and bathroom size), the Surfcomber is a great choice.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Collins Ave. (for example, room 252) are a bit bigger but you will deal with some stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
dseesel-
Thank you sharing your experience with us.
We are so happy that you enjoyed our laid back atmosphere.
We hope to see you again soon.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay at the Surfcomber in South Beach. The staff, from the doormen, front desk, concierge, cleaning/grounds, restaurant, and pool-side, were all so friendly and helpful! They made each guest feel truly special and welcomed! The property itself is beautifully maintained and very welcoming and safe for children. And the evening wine receptions by the pool were the icing on the cake!

Room Tip: Our room was on the bottom floor, right next to the back exit to the pool area. Extremely quiet, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Lee Ann H-
Thank you for the fantastic posting.
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to see you again soon.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This hotel is right next to the beach and not a scene at all. If you don't want to head over to the beach, the pool area is quiet and relaxing. It's true, the rooms are a bit small, but they are very comfy. Everyone is very polite and helpful. THe coffee in the morning is strong (which is a huge plus for me) and every night there is tasty hot chocolate with marshmallows.

Taking away one star only because there is no type of breakfast. You can only order room service. Luckily, there is an Aroma cafe right down the street where you can grab breakfast. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Elemenopi-
hhhhmmm... Thank you for the great posting.
I'm not sure how you missed breakfast. We offer breakfast daily in a few of our outlets.
The next time you are in town we will create something extra special for you.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I live across the street from this hotel and my family has been coming to South Beach every year and stays at this hotel. It's always been a very good hotel, great pool, great location, newly improved rooms. This year they Kimpton chain owns the hotel, how can it be better? Well all the rooms are finally refinished and for south beach they are very nice (out of towers and first timers may notice that SOBE hotels are not large. My family has young children and the hotel has daily activities for adults and kids. Yoga classes, am running on the beach, daily wine tasting, afternoon craft classes for kids. If you take advantage of these, they are a great addition. Lastly, every staff member at this hotel is service oriented from the checkin in staff to the staff giving out towels to the gentleman who helped us with our pool umbrella, to those bringing us food and drink at the pool, to the attendants at the front door. Very noticeable great staff!!! Not just for South Beach but anywhere. I only hope they can keep their rates reasonable! Thanks Surfcomber!

Room Tip: To my best knowledge, all rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
HeyScottWA-
Thank you so much for the great posting.
We are so happy that you enjoyed our service and our activities.
We hope to see you and your family more often.
Happy holidays.
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

My husband, chocolate lab (Mandi) and I stayed at the Surfcomber for one night on our way down to Key West. The service was exceptional! The staff was extremely welcoming to us and especially to Mandi. She was greeted by all the staff and received so many treats...I don' think she wanted to leave! When we got to our room (my only compliant is that the rooms are small but it is South Beach and I think that's normal) there was a dog bed, treats and a dog bowl for Mandi. The staff also brought us a complimentary bottle of wine and chocolate covered strawberries for our anniversary. Such a nice touch!
There's a small grass area by the pool and access to the Miami beach walk to take your pets out. That night my husband and I went out to dinner for our anniversary and the concierge checked in on Mandi and took her on a walk.
Overall, if you are staying with pets, this is the place to be. They don't charge a pet fee and your pet will be treated like a queen (or king). We really enjoyed our short stay and won't stay anywhere else when we come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
aareba-
Thank you for the fantastic posting. We recognize that our family’s pets are truly an extension of our immediate family.
We look forward to your return.
Happy Holidays
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

I just stayed at the Surfcomber in South Beach and I was blown away by the amazing staff there. The server at the pool, Maria Cooper was great. She was always helpful and went above and beyond constantly. Since I was traveling alone, she was helpful in recommending things for me to do at night and for dinner. She really made it a great trip for me and was there whenever I needed anything. She is a great representation of the Surfcomber hotel and I will definitely stay there again on my next trip to South Beach.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Adamk214-
It’s awesome to see the word amazing being thrown around.
We truly appreciate you staying with us and look forward to your return.
Thank you for recognizing Maria by name; that goes a long way.
Happy Holidays
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Tingo, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.