We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice friendly hotel in collins avenue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off + FREE Upgrade
Ranked #14 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ibiza, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“nice friendly hotel in collins avenue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

first time for me and my friend in miami and we spend 2 days at the surfcomber when we arrived.at the reception the give us to glass of sparkling wine as a welcome drink.room was very nice with 2 kings sides beds.have to say: best bed never had.we came back a week after a trip we make in florida and spend 6 days again.most of the time we stay at the pool drinking and eating.everyday with free wine drink at the pool at 5 very nice..at the pool we meet RYAN who work there and have to say than is for us the best pool man waiter.always smiling and there when we did need something;hope than he will stay for long time and hope to see him next year with more responsability..good luck mister RYAN...Continental breakfast are not the best sorry fruit salad is very hard maybe melon are not a season fruit???employed are all very sexy at reception:)and concierge more.the 2 french guays

Room Tip: we stay in room 333 first and 219 after
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
frederic j-
Thank you for the great posting.
Ryan will be here for your return & let’s see if he steps up to the plate to take on more responsibility.
We look forward to your return. Happy Holidays
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    988
    458
    134
    40
    22
See reviews for
346
549
68
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Awesome stay at the Surfcomber. From the front desk staff to the room and facilities I have to rank this in the top 5% of hotels I have stayed in while in South Beach------and I have been coming to SB for the past 20 years. Love the scale of the hotel, and location is A+.
Will be back next year for Art Basel and this is the only place I want to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
ollipome-
Thank you for the amazing posting.
It’s really flattering the read that we are the only place you would like to stay.
We welcome your return.
Warm Regards & Happy Holidays.
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoover, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Our party of 2 stayed here over the Thanksgiving holiday, 2012. Great location, clean rooms, clean pool. Check out the Decobike rack near the walk way/pool area. We rented bikes and rode all over Southbeach. This property IS on the beach. It's a little bit of a walk, but just grab your beach bag and head over to the beach. Or, the hotel will help you reserve an umbrella and chairs.

The restaurant was a little slow to serve, so we mainly ate at other locations. You can walk easily to most places. I believe the entire hotel was renovated in 2011.

Within 1 block, you can easily walk to the pharmacy that sells many items including groceries. We wish we would have walked there the first day for water, snacks, etc... The service at this property was great, in our opinion. We had a hard time tipping the staff as they actually said no tip was necessary!?!? Much thanks to them!

The pool area is very relaxing and we had no problem finding a chair. The staff will dress your chair with a towel, although I don't think there is drink service poolside. There is a small bar in the form of a hut, but we didn't visit. If you want to play volleyball or relax in the oversized bean bags - it's easy. Overall, YES we will go back. It was our first stay, but it's a place we like.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as close to the beach as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Paul D-
Thank you for staying with us for your Thanksgiving holiday get away.
We look forward to your return.
Happy holidays.
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Went here for my 30th birthday with a few friends, and I have to admit after reading such promising reviews, I had high expectations...and I was blown away. From the minute we got to the hotel, the staff was impeccably attentive and there was champagne and a nice card signed by the staff in my room waiting for me...Surfcomber made my 30th birthday unforgettable!! From the amazing food (orange duck noodles were awesome), hosted wine hour, great beach service, Ricky at the Mixology lessons, I honestly would not have changed a thing. We are actually staying at another Kimpton in Arizona just because of the great experience we had...I hope they live up to the standard that Surfcomber set! Thanks to all the staff for an amazing trip, and we will definitely be back again!!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are awesome...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
NebraskaDude-
Happy belated 30th birthday.
It so great to read about exceeding expectations.
We hope to see you again soon.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I have been to South Beach many times. I usually stay at a hotel a few times if I like it and then try somewhere new...just because. Friends told me about the Surfcomber, so it was time for a try. Everyone on staff was so pleasant and accommodating. The hotel is low key and very pretty. Rooms were average size and nicely appointed. Pool area is so pleasant and relaxing.

Room Tip: Go for the courtyard rooms. Quiet and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
richard960-
Thank you for trying us out.
We are very appreciative of your perfect weekend getaway posting.
We hope you start to staying with us regularly and forget about trying out anything new.
See you soon.
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Recently stayed for 6 nights. 1st time at a Kimpton, and hopefully not last...very nice hotel; unique style, and good service: thanks to Michie, Vanessa and Ehren for making my stay a pleasant one. Good location and great beach & pool service. Rooms are nicely decorated.

Room Tip: North building; garden view on 3rd floor was relatively quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
happy619-
Thank you for the nice stay posting.
We really appreciate reading that you enjoyed our unique style & friendly employees.
We hope to see you back again soon.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed 4 nights at the end of our 2 weeks holiday. I can not be more satisfied. This hotel has it all. Great location. A block Lincoln Road and 10 minutes on foot to Ocean Drive. Beach access just outside the pool area, the pool area itself is great, nice large pool, plenty of sun chairs. Beach volley court. Pool bar, cabanas that you can rent for a day for a smaller fee. The pool attendants are really service minded. Andi took care of us while at the pool.
The dining options are splendid The Lantao offers interesting dishes that will take you on a taste journey to different parts of the world. The Social Club located next to the lobby is a great place to just sit and chillax. Dinner outside watching foot traffic on Collins Ave. is a treat.
The rooms are spacious, comfortable and cozy. Cool minibar setup, the minibar can provide you with the necessities you need during a stay. Hard to leave it alone. The bathrooms are nicely sized with showers, which is great. Etad bath amenities just adds to the luxury feeling of the hotel.
Another add-on from Kimpton is their wine hour.
What is different from many other hotels but not from the Kimpton family is that throughout the hotel you only meet excellent service and smiling staff. For them nothing is a problem. We had the pleasure to meet Brian, Chris and Ben, whom along with their other staff colleagues ensured that our visit to the hotel was nothing but Amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor for better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Andreas N-
That's awesome.
Thank you for the fantastic posting.
We hope to see you again soon.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.