We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off + FREE Upgrade
Ranked #8 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I have been to South Beach many times. I usually stay at a hotel a few times if I like it and then try somewhere new...just because. Friends told me about the Surfcomber, so it was time for a try. Everyone on staff was so pleasant and accommodating. The hotel is low key and very pretty. Rooms were average size and nicely appointed. Pool area is so pleasant and relaxing.

Room Tip: Go for the courtyard rooms. Quiet and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
richard960-
Thank you for trying us out.
We are very appreciative of your perfect weekend getaway posting.
We hope you start to staying with us regularly and forget about trying out anything new.
See you soon.
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,548 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    940
    430
    125
    35
    18
See reviews for
335
511
65
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westchester County, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Recently stayed for 6 nights. 1st time at a Kimpton, and hopefully not last...very nice hotel; unique style, and good service: thanks to Michie, Vanessa and Ehren for making my stay a pleasant one. Good location and great beach & pool service. Rooms are nicely decorated.

Room Tip: North building; garden view on 3rd floor was relatively quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
happy619-
Thank you for the nice stay posting.
We really appreciate reading that you enjoyed our unique style & friendly employees.
We hope to see you back again soon.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed 4 nights at the end of our 2 weeks holiday. I can not be more satisfied. This hotel has it all. Great location. A block Lincoln Road and 10 minutes on foot to Ocean Drive. Beach access just outside the pool area, the pool area itself is great, nice large pool, plenty of sun chairs. Beach volley court. Pool bar, cabanas that you can rent for a day for a smaller fee. The pool attendants are really service minded. Andi took care of us while at the pool.
The dining options are splendid The Lantao offers interesting dishes that will take you on a taste journey to different parts of the world. The Social Club located next to the lobby is a great place to just sit and chillax. Dinner outside watching foot traffic on Collins Ave. is a treat.
The rooms are spacious, comfortable and cozy. Cool minibar setup, the minibar can provide you with the necessities you need during a stay. Hard to leave it alone. The bathrooms are nicely sized with showers, which is great. Etad bath amenities just adds to the luxury feeling of the hotel.
Another add-on from Kimpton is their wine hour.
What is different from many other hotels but not from the Kimpton family is that throughout the hotel you only meet excellent service and smiling staff. For them nothing is a problem. We had the pleasure to meet Brian, Chris and Ben, whom along with their other staff colleagues ensured that our visit to the hotel was nothing but Amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor for better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Andreas N-
That's awesome.
Thank you for the fantastic posting.
We hope to see you again soon.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Location was fantastic… great choice of restaurants and shops and you are right on the beach,

Hotel in general is thoughtfully designed and you can feel the quality, the service is thoughtful too, there always coffee in the lobby in the morning, flavored water in the day, by the pool you’re served little treats, they provide sun cream… nice touches!

Room was clean, nicely furnished and finished to a high standard, a decent size and well equipped (iPod/pad dock, decent mini bar and so on…

All the staff were super friendly and helpful! A special mention to the pool boys – very personable and helpful, legends! Pool food was decent and not too steep. One could go down to the beach; you’d have to pay for sunbeds… we never bothered.

Only weak point would be the hotel restaurant… you may wonder why one would you eat in the hotel when you are so well located? I do to, but we had a trip to the Everglades organized by the concierge and were pushed for time so grabbed breakfast there… it was poor, very poor!

Other people have complained about an automatic tip been added to all drinks/food you order in the hotel… it seemed pretty standard everywhere in Miami to be honest, my opinion… it’s no different to life in Europe and on the balance, they deserved it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
mrjgc-
Thank you for taking a few moments to post your experience with us.
We appreciate all the praise regarding the staff.
We will take a look into our AM F&B operation.
We hope to see you again soon.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Surfcomber in South Beach last March. Have waited to write a review as I hate to be negative abut a chain I liked in the past. . In their defense, it was Spring break week, my husband and I didn't realize this when we planned our trip, so the hotel was full. . I have stayed at 4 other Kimptons, two in California and two in D.C. All perfect stays.
The hotel has a good location. Rooms are tiny. But the main drawback is the staff. Poorly trained, rude, and disinterested. First, we were given a room for disabled, no shower door, so water went all over the place. A barking dog across the extremely narrow hall, we were told they were leaving next day, but that wasn't the truth. They refused to move us or talk to the guests with the dog. During their wine hour, the employee serving by the pool was more interested in chatting with friends than serving the wine, which caused a line up of people waiting and complaining. At check out, while waiting for a copy of our bill, the receptionist hung on the phone talking with someone trying to make a reservation, rather than taking caring of the guests in front of her. People were looking at each other shaking their heads.
I tried to speak with the manager, but she was never available. I wrote to her with my complaints and her reply was "we'll, what do you want?"
For the price, there are plenty of other choices in south beach. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Jathat-
Thank you for posting your experience.
I am disappointed with your experience with us. For a traditional traveler spring break or the last few weeks of March probably is not the time for you to visit south beach. The parties are non stop for 2 weeks and sadly we are not able to deliver the experience you deserve.
We have adjusted our service styles significantly since March of this year. We actually only opened a few months prior.
For any service opportunities I sincerely apologize.
You would experience far superior, personalized stay today.
We hope you reconsider and try us again.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My wife and 7 yr old and I stayed for five days in August, and it's hard to imagine a better hotel and beach experience. Everybody, from the moment you walk in the door, is dedicated to making sure you are getting whatever you need when you need it. Beach chairs, towels, a cup of coffee, food, whatever you need will be provided and with a smile. The beach is right there, the pool is perfect for family fun. Wow. The food at the restaurant is excellent, with a varied menu. Never had an experience at a hotel like this. Never encountered hotel employees like these. It's true that the rooms are small, and so are the bathrooms; if you need a lot of space this is not the hotel for you. But everything else is five star. We're coming back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Henry S-
Thank you for taking a few moments to post your perfect vacation contribution.
Its was fantastic to read about your experience with us.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The Surfcomber is a great hotel in an outstanding location on the beach, in the heart of Miami Beach, near Lincoln Road. The location is the best part of the Surcomber experience. It's a nice hotel on its own but it can't overcome the fact that it's a renovated old hotel. The rooms are small and the walls are thin. The staff are exceptional and the pool area is lovely. We consistently had trouble with the Wi-Fi connection being extremely slow. Overall, the experience was quite good and we would stay here again. There are better, more high-end hotels nearby but the Surfcomber is the better value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
pwrstr-
Thank you for the posting.
We appreciate you mentioning the great location and friendly employees.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Otel, Travelocity, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.