We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location; Friendly, Attentive Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% off
Ranked #18 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best Location; Friendly, Attentive Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The Surfcomber is a great hotel in an outstanding location on the beach, in the heart of Miami Beach, near Lincoln Road. The location is the best part of the Surcomber experience. It's a nice hotel on its own but it can't overcome the fact that it's a renovated old hotel. The rooms are small and the walls are thin. The staff are exceptional and the pool area is lovely. We consistently had trouble with the Wi-Fi connection being extremely slow. Overall, the experience was quite good and we would stay here again. There are better, more high-end hotels nearby but the Surfcomber is the better value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
pwrstr-
Thank you for the posting.
We appreciate you mentioning the great location and friendly employees.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,137
    548
    158
    49
    30
See reviews for
403
642
75
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed at the Surfcomber earlier this summer and not one single regret. Excellent location - close to the bars and restaurants, beach in the back across the boardwalk. Pool area was very clean, plenty of lounge seats available. The food at Lantao was excellent and the front hotel bar was very comfortable and perfect for a cocktail before heading out for the evening. Bar by the pool had drink specials daily. Free wine/sangria daily for one hour at 5pm by the pool. The rooms were very clean and I was fortunate to stay in one toward the back of the hotel. Unfortunately, the hotel next door was under major renovation at the time which affected the view a bit but Im sure that's no longer an issue. I didnt even hear the construction going on at all. The best part of my stay was the service from everyone. Very friendly without being intrusive or overbearing.

Overall, I highly recommend Surfcomber to anyone visiting Miami and I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
jokelly22-
Thank you for the awesome service posting.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We've stayed at a different resort hotel on Miami Beach over Thanksgiving for the past ten years... and our family of four (including two young adult children who have grown up since we began this family tradition) all agree that our stay at the Surfcomber was the most pleasant, authentic and relaxed yet. The warm and genuine personalities of the staff made a huge impact, as well as the fact that this hotel is by far the most pet friendly hotel we've ever experienced.

The rooms are small, but well appointed. We did not have a view at all--something usually #1 on our list--but I don't think anyone in our party even noticed because we felt so comfortable spending so much time around the pool, in the lobby, at the social club bar... We will definitely be coming back and recommend it for anyone who seeks an alternative to the big box resorts and seeks a more intimate and personalized stay on the beach and at the lexus of Sobe.

Room Tip: Lose the view, gain the quiet and enjoy the location and the pool/beach property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Michael S-
Wow, love those adjectives; personalized, comfortable, intimate.
Thank you for staying with us and we would love to assist in keeping your traditions alive.
See you soon.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed at the Surfcomber for four nights in November. Compared to some of the other hotels along South Beach this is a boutique hotel. The staff are friendly and welcoming and the check-in process was efficient.

The rooms are on the small side however the bigger issues are the thickness of the walls between rooms and the fact that the hotel does not have double glazing. The result: conversations and movement can be heard in the next room and conversations and noise from outside - including building working in the next hotel - is very frustrating. A previous reviewer suggested that honeymooners should not stay here - I would definitely agree.

On their website, the hotel indicates that there is access to the beach. What they do not tell you is that the beds and parasols are operated by a separate company who charge $37 for two beds and parasol - irrespective of the time of day. We arrived at 2pm and stayed until 4pm - the point where the workers started stacking the beds all around us. We felt ripped off.

When we raised the above points with the hotel staff they listened intently - however I got the impression that they had heard these complaints many times before.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
reybro-
Thank you for your posting.
Interesting point regarding the beach club.
We will look into more economical options for our guests based on the time of day.
Hope to see you again.
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I've been to South Beach many times over the years and have stayed at various places on/around Collins. Surfcomber now being a Kimpton hotel is my favorite by far. Hotel staff has a wonderful demeanor and each employee we encountered seems genuinely happy to be there and happy you're there. Service is great. Rooms were clean and quiet. Activities are wonderful. Decor is stylish yet comfortable. If you're looking for a hotel in a great location, with good food, want a relaxing experience, and want to avoid the loud boom boom of music at other hotels nearby, this is the hotel to stay at. And a plus they take pets!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
msarah333-
Thank you for taking a few moments to post your fantastic experience.
We appreciate you mentioning the friendly employees.
We hope to see you again soon.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Far Hills, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

i stayed at this hotel last year and really enjoyed it, but this year with the new renovations, it is truly spectacular. the staff are the most attentive and friendly staff of any hotel i have ever stayed at. the decor is creative and beautiful and interesting to look at. rooms were very comfortable and immaculate. i highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting miami beach. (this hotel is also an historic art deco hotel to boot!) , and is right on the ocean. i could not bring my dogs on the plane and i loved visiting with all the great dogs staying at the hotel. i love how the hotel welcomes pets.

Room Tip: collins avenue can be very busy at night, so the rooms on the ocean side are likely to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
michele b-
Thank you for the wonderful posting.
It’s truly fantastic to read about such a great experience with us.
Thank you for staying and we look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This was our 2nd annual Thanksgiving trip to the Surfcomber. We were 9 in our party and we all had a great time! We alwyas look forward to visting the Sufcomber in South Beach and never get disappointed. The staff is extremely professional and always courteous and kind. We love everyone's smile and the way any questions or requests are treated with true care and dedication. The location is wonderful, the ambiance terrific and the value is great. We spent this Thanksgiving with our family and enjoyed every day of our 5 night stay at the Surfcomber. Great job staff and management. Your attitude and professionalism should be an inspiration for many other hotels. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Annette B-
Wow, we are so happy that you enjoyed your holiday with us.
We love hearing about a traditional stay.
We look forward to many more.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.