We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent hotel in south beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off + FREE Upgrade
Ranked #15 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excelent hotel in south beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

1 block to Lincoln Road and close to the beach. Excelent hotel.The rooms are much improved and the service is remarkable.Take a walk on the boardwalk or take part in the many activities the Surfcomber has planned throughout your stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Chelo22-
Thank you for the excellent contribution.
We hope to see you again soon.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,014
    471
    137
    41
    24
See reviews for
349
567
69
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trenton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I have stayed in South Beach a few times now and this is by far our favorite hotel. The price is one of the most reasonable in South Beach for what you get. Check in was a breeze and the employees at the front desk were so pleasant and accomodating. The rooms are clean and well appointed. The pool is large with plenty of seating. The staff at the pool help you find chairs and bring you towels. They also continually refill the large coolers with lemon and plain water throughout the day and bring frozen grapes as a mid-day snack. The hotel grounds back up to the beach so you can access that as well. We didn't go on the beach but chairs and umbrellas there are for rent, they are not included in the fee for the room. We had lunch as we relaxed by the pool and the food was really good. I recommend getting to the pool as early as possible as it fills up by noon. Perhaps one of the best features at the hotel is the free wine hour from 5-6pm. They served two different varieties of wine and sangria each day and it is complimentary. There are plenty of chairs, couches, and pillows to relax on while you sip your vino. If you are interested in renting bikes there is a rental station in the back of the hotel near the beach access. You can rent a bike for as long as you like but 30 minutes is $4, a great value. If you sign up for the Kimpton rewards program you can get free wi-fi and $10 off your mini bar bill. It is free and a great deal! Valet parking was easy and quick, the fee is $34 a day plus tax, but it is south beach so you'll pay that or more at most hotels. The location of the hotel is great, right next to the SLS and the Delano, within walking distance to Lincoln and Ocean Drive.
If I had to complain about one thing it would just be that so many hotels now a days don't put doors on showers and the water tends to go on the bathroom floor. This was very minor and it certainly wouldn't sway my decision to stay here again.
We can't wait to stay here again, this will definitely be our new go to hotel in Miami!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Okie21-
We are super happy to be your go to hotel in Miami.
Thank you for staying and for posting your experience with us.
See you again soon.
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I had stayed at this property several times before it became a Kimpton Hotel. I always thought it was a grand place and loved the location. The improvements that came with the Kimpton affiliation are great. The rooms are much improved and the service is remarkable. I have now joined the Kimpton frequent stay program and hope to enjoy their properties in other cities. I'll retuirn to the Surfcomber with a smile on my face. Can't wait.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
fsrtah-
Thank you for mentioning the remarkable service.
We can't wait for your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

I cant say enough about how accommodating the staff was on our trip. Some of the cleanest rooms I've seen while on my travels. Weekend getaway with friends or family fun the Surfcomber is a must. Take a walk on the boardwalk or take part in the many activities the Surfcomber has planned throughout your stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
mbizz-
Thank you for mentioning all the fun activities we have created for our guests.
We hope to see you again soon.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Loved this hotel. I've been to South Beach a few times now and this will be my new place to stay from now on. I travel for both leisure and business but this particular trip was to celebrate a friend's birthday.

This hotel was recently renovated and it shows! The rooms and lobby are all tastefully decorated, very hip and cool. The art throughout the hotel is interesting and suits South Beach very well. The rooms are spacious and inviting however my friends and I spent most of our time around the pool or on the beach, both of which were fantastic places to take in the scenery and have an ice cold cocktail. The dinner menu at Lantao is very unique and the chef came out to our table at one point and gave us some suggestions. The dining up there with some of the area's top restaurants.

The hotel is located right in the heart of it all but the staff almost makes it so you don't need/want to leave. The service at check-in, the pool, and the restaurants/bars were exceptional. Managers and the staff throughout the hotel went out of their way to ask how my friends and I were doing.

A reasonably priced hotel for an amazing experience in the middle of South Beach. If you want to be on the beach, have great service, in a fun hotel.... this is it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
SandyPalmTree-
Thank you for posting your perfect experience with us.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean Mckeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My cousins and I stayed at Surfcomber, Kimpton Hotel for 3 nights from Nov 8-Nov 11 for my sister's bachelorette party. As soon as we walked in, we were greeted by many smile and complimentary champagne. Customer service at Surfcomber was consistent and very fast for all 3 night. Andrew and Chris at the front desk were amazing and really showcase great customer service skills. Hotel itself is very neat and clean. Rooms were very nice with comfortable beds and clean washrooms. I would definitely suggest this hotel to everyone. We booked this hotel through Hotelmode.com and they got us a very decent rate compared to online rates. Hotel location is perfect if you would like be walking distance from Lincoln Road, Oceans Drive and Washington Avenue. Close to all the hot spots! Excellent place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dee S-
Thank you for the awesome contribution, we love bachelorette parties.
Congrats and come back and see us again soon.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

First visit to Miami for a conference in October so I brought my wife and 7 year old daughter with me. I had originally booked a less expensive hotel several blocks away with bigger rooms but changed to the Surfcomber because of the reviews and proximity to everything so my family could entertain themselves while I was at the conference. I definitely made the right choice! Like everybody says, employees there are great and make you feel welcome from check in to check out. All of the free perks like champagne at check in for Kimpton members (sign up - it's free), free happy hour and treats by the pool, fruit-infused water throught the hotel and even $10 mini bar credit are the icing on the cake. Hotel is walking distance to everything - restaurants, clubs, convention center, drug store, shops, etc. Beach is right behind the hotel and the pool area is relaxing. There was a band playing there a couple of days we were there. The streets around the hotel were safe enough for my wife and daughter to walk around day or night. My only concerns were the reviews that complained about the small rooms and bathrooms but it was fine for our family of 3. Besides, if you are steps from a relaxing pool, the beach, great restaurants and shopping, what are you doing sitting in your room??? I would highly recommend this hotel and would not think twice about staying there again. The only two things I will say is that we could hear taxis honking all night on the weekends from our room late at night so if this is a problem, ask for a room away from the street. Secondly, we ordered a mojito from the pool cabana and it was way too strong and didn't have enough lime and mint. It was also small and $13 but that is probably normal for pool side service in this area. I'm sure they would have replaced it if I asked but I couldn't bring myself to complain with everything else being so perfect. I hope to make it back there some day!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
NRB744-
Thank you very much for the fantastic posting.
We truly appreciate hearing that we were the ideal choice for your family.
I will look into our mojitos'. Maybe sample a few.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Otel, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.