We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brand new hotel, overlooking the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% off
Ranked #18 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
san francisco
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Brand new hotel, overlooking the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

The Kimpton hotel chain has a reputation for being refined, yet contemporary. This hotel is no exception. The interior decor was up to Kimpton standards. It was a wonderful renovation. Staff were Kimpton professionals, i.e. warm and competent. The pool area was very pleasant and quiet. It overlooked the beach. The rooms were spacious, but not enormous.
My sole reservation concerns the asian fusion restaurant. The concept seems a little dated. I would have expected something a little more innovative, i.e. locally sourced organic, etc.
There are plenty of restaurants nearbyto choose from.
The biggest challenge for management will be to maintain the refined vibe when South Beach can be very seamy.

Room Tip: The hallways are very long and sometimes guests converse in loud voices while traversing them. I wis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
refinedperson
Great tip.
Let me look into some inside voice signage.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,137
    548
    158
    49
    30
See reviews for
403
642
75
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Some places you like so much you just want to keep it to yourself. The Surfcomber is one of those. (I stayed there a couple of weeks ago and tried to get a booking in February - but no luck!) But in the spirit of sharing with my fellow travelers I won't hold back.

I travel to Miami at least once a month so am always on the lookout for good places to stay. I chose the Surfcomber because I stayed at the Philadelphia Kimpton and had a great time. I was not disappointed. I don't usually stay in South Beach because of the tourists and how frenetic it can be, but this unpretentious looking hotel is so calm and cool (as in hip, but not too hip) inside you can leave the South Beach scene just by walking in the doors.

The spotlessly clean rooms are small but have everything you need including luxuriously comfortable beds and linens. You can hear voices and noise from the rooms next door, but that is true in most older hotels and the guests were all quite civil and polite, so even though there was a family with children next to us for 4 nights it was very quiet. The bottom line is if you have Charlie Sheen next to your room it will be noisy no matter how think the walls are. Oh, the i phone clock/charger, wireless, and morning New York Times were such thoughtful touches. The staff were helpful and friendly without being cloying or overbearing. Whoever does their professional development and training gets a tip-of-the-hat.

The beach at this part of Miami Beach is unmatchable. There are excellent restaurants nearby if you venture out from Lincoln Road. What can I say? Its Miami - what's not to love? How I hated to leave :-(

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
29Teddy
Great contribution.
Thank you
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

This hotel is a very cozy modern hotel. Great service. The minute you walk in you are greeted by the bell boy to help you with your luggage. You are directly checked in and are ready to enjoy the beautiful hotel. The staff is great, very helpful, the pool boy is always willing to pull up a lounge chair for you. The rooms are great also. Fully remodeled and very nice. The food at the pool is exceptional. Highly recommend this hotel. They even serve complementary wine in the afternoons and coffee in the morning!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Mariana P -
Thank you for the excellent posting.
Thank you also for the recommendation.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

My husband & I stayed here post-cruise for 4 nights. The location is fantastic, beautiful beach that goes on for miles and a great pool area offering sun and shade all day. We spent hours outside every day at both places as the weather was 80 and sunny the entire time! As mentioned in most reviews, the hotel has just been refurbished by Kimpton. It has the Kimpton vibe, cool and minimalist. We experienced 2 rooms, as our request for an ocean view was not available the first night. Both rooms were very comfortable especially the bed. Although the bathroom is small, it has everything you will need and nicely decorated. The hallways are very dark, not sure why they chose navy blue for a Miami Beach hotel! Loved the morning coffee and the water in the lobby and the pool area. I am used to a coffee machine in the room, but I liked having someone else make the coffee for me, It was worth a trip to the lobby. Service is good at the hotel, they aim to please. We had a few snags, but the front desk always resolved the issues with a smile. I am sure in time, things will be running smoother. I would certainly recommend this hotel, the current opening specials make this a very good deal. Had breakfast at the hotel, it was good and loved being able to sit outside overlooking the pool. There is a boardwalk behind the hotel that is devine for walking/running or strolling, you can go for hours. We did that every day and savored every moment. There are many restaurants and shops nearby. Collins Ave. is a very busy street, but as soon as you walk into the hotel, the noise and chaos virtually disappear, so you have the best of both worlds, activity right out the front door and calm and quiet in the hotel. Wine was served every afternoon poolside, a very nice touch. Loved the free wi if, become a Kimpton member before you go and then it is free. Some people mentioned trouble w/wi if signals, I did not have a problem in the room or at the pool, used my iPad in both places frequently. South Beach is a very fun place to visit, if you like a smaller, boutique hotel, this is a very good choice. 2 good breakfast places nearby are Jerry's Deli and La Provençal. The Carlyle Cafe was good for dinner on Ocean Drive, great margharita pizza and a great crab/shrimp salad, 2 for 1 drinks as well. During the week, many places offer 2 for 1 drinks and a percentage off the food total. Not sure that this was always true for this area or just a sign of the difficult economic times. I like the Kimpton brand this is the second Kimpton hotel we have stayed in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on the side of the ongoing construction next door. It never got in our w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
NewYorkTravellady -
Thank you for the great posting.
I loved the margarita pizza tip.
See you soon.
Warm Regards,
Sean Mckeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

What an amazing place! The friendliness of the entire staff, from bellmen to room attendants to waitstaff to managers cannot be overstated. They make you feel that you're at a club you've belonged to for years. It's hard to know where to start: the restaurant is superb (the best ribs I have ever had, and other specialties are close behind) and very reasonable. The pool is comfortable, reasonably quiet and adequate for the size of the place (you can always find a chair, or the poolmen will find one for you). They don't push drinks, but food and drink are available poolside and the server is superb. A word about the management: the general manager, head concierge and food manager are exceptionally friendly, helpful and thoughtful. Their attitude is reflected in the staff, who truly seem to love their work and to enjoy meeting and helping people. The rooms are fairly small, as are the baths, but they are intelligently decorated and planned. I would come back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard room. There is construction on the south side, and the hotel on the north side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
akoral -
Wow, thank you for the great posting.
Thank you for the great recommendations.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed over new years eve and I must say it was very disappointing.
We thought you can't go wrong with a Kimpton but they have to do a lot of work before they have real quality. We would have moved to another hotel but there was no change over the busy time of new years eve. Next time we will be back in the Ralaighs. You pay the same price and get a much nicer room (also bigger).

Rooms:
Nice design, but super small. It is very noisy. You hear every word from your neighbors as well as from outside (music playing from the hotel next door, construction work etc.). We had a room with a window facing the wall. Very dark and depressing. The rooms cost the same, so make sure to ask for a room with not looking at the wall. You also wanna be one the left part of the hotel because it's even more noisy on the other side, because they build a new hotel next door. $400 for a room like that is ridiculous.

Staff:
- The staff from the reception was very nice, helpful and professional! 5 stars for them!
- The restaurant hostess and waiters from the Lantao restaurant was a joke, never saw such a bad service
- House keeping was a bit sloppy. We had to call almost every second day to get a fresh towel or something else.

Pool:
- Nice pool, but unfortunately there was lots of construction.
- The pool bar is great but closes BEFORE sunset at 5.00PM (a drink at sunset would have been nice)
- The pool bathrooms were so dirty and disgusting that we had to go back to the room

Lantao Restaurant:
- Never had such a bad experience!!!! The hostess hardly understands English and you have to wait although the room was EMPTY. Then she seated us and we waited forever. Same with the girls next to our table. We were the only guests. We just wanted to eat breakfast. The coffee was cold, they were out of tea and juice and the attitude was horrible. We left.
- We tried the restaurant again but had the same bad experience. Someone needs to manage the restaurant. We had the Pad Thai and it was horrible. Very dry, 2 piecs of chicken and salty. We saw the plate full of Pad Thai standing in front of a room on our floor. So it looks someone else didn't like it either. After that experience we never went again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
FrauKritisch -
Thank you for your posting.
We have made numerous adjustments since New Year’s Eve.
Come back.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

The Staff (Front Desk, Concierge, Bellmen, etc) were incredibly friendly and helpful. This property is well-executed.
I vacation in South Beach 4 or 5 times a year. The Surfcomber (despite the very small bathrooms) is my new hotel of choice

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
marklgibbons -
Thank you. That’s awesome.
We look forward to your next stay with us.
Warm Regards,
Sean Mckeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.