We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All things considered nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach to your Saves list
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   cormer: 2000 Liberty Avenue, 318 20th Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #122 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“All things considered nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

First of all please note: free transfer Bus is only every 2 hours on a Wednesday-nightmare!!. We arrived at 5 past 3 so had to wait til 5. Then the bus was still 35 mins late.
the driver Moses is entirely inappropriate ranting at us because the bus is late!
We were all trying to get everything done as quickly as possible. And he stopped us twice to lecture us about how we are acting towards him (no one was acting in appropriately).
Rooms were clean, if a little dimly lit. Towels fresh a and plentiful, beds comfortable. Cleaning staff were great.
Wifi worked fine. Apartment had everything in you needed to cook. Although the addition of a toaster would have been nice.
Roof top pool was nice, plenty of fresh clean towel up there and comfy beds to lie on. Ice cold water available up there too which was great in the heat. The pool is maybe not entirely suitable for children. Not due to the depth/location etc. but both days were were sat up there a group of people appeared with professional cameras and proceeded to take very seedy photos of a girl. It was pretty awful to watch her pulling her swimmers back and humping the edge of the pool in which we were trying to swim. I have no idea if they had permission to do this it not as you don't need a special key etc to get up to the pool. They looked like they just came from the street.
Don't believe the hype on the website there are no free "cocktails" what you get is a spirit and a mixer in a plastic cup. It was a bit disappointing. We only went 2 out of the 5 nights, it just wasn't worth it especially when one guy working at the bar one night had such a bad attitude. Going on and on about how we should tip. I believe in tipping for good service this guy didn't deserve a dime. Slamming drinks around. Not even giving people the drinks they ordered. This was only one night but left a bad impression.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    353
    183
    96
    113
See reviews for
175
461
88
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The riviera hotel is amazing, I love the rooms and the full kitchen, bathroom . The studio is very big. I love jenny the manger she is amazing and very sweet. The hotel was very accommodating with all my needs. Loved it thank you. Will return.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for your 5 star feedback Teyanne617!! There is nothing that we love to read more! WE are stoked to know that you had such a great time! I will make sure that Jenny is aware of your kind praise! Please come back to visit us soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Stayed with friends for my birthday at this gorgeous gem on South Beach. Special thanks to Concierge PEDRO ALVARADO who went above and beyond to decorate our room with special gifts!! Thank you so much for making our weekend extra AWESOME!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for staying with us for such a special occasion Diana S!! HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY!!! Pedro is absolutely wonderful! He is always making sure that our guests are well taken care of, and having a splendid time! Please come back again soon! We would love to roll out the red carpet for you again! :)

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

My company booked me into this (and many other South Beach hotels) on what happened to be my birthday. When Alicia at the front desk found out, I was not only quickly upgraded but I found a nice bottle of wine waiting for me along with a welcoming birthday wish from the staff. The room was very clean and classic SoBe style (see their website). The lobby was full of world travelers, I had a great conversation with a lady from France. The two pools were completely different from each other (roof top & garden) and both great places to hang out! The outdoor bar at Moreno's was very cool too, with evening entertainment and a free happy hour. Jade and Ronald were great at their jobs and fun to talk to. I plan to request this hotel on my next trip there.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY PhillipSutphin!!!!! We make sure to take extra special care of our special occasion guests! Birthday's are supposed to be full of love, so we want to make sure that you feel that! :) Our pools are both great, and offer completely different ambiances! Moreno's Cuba serves delicious Cuban food at a reasonable price. I will make sure that both Jade and Ronald are aware of your kind praise! Please come back again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles, Belgique
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We've stayed at this hotel for a couple of days earlier in August. This was the first part of our Florida tour. We decided to start it off in Miami to simply enjoy and relax Miami and Miami Beach in particular. The hotel itself is composed of 3 buildings. This should be known before booking as this setup has some side-effects. We had a room in the main building where the reception can be found. A beautiful double queen, decorated with a lot of style. When we arrived, the room was fresh and ready as expected. We felt immediately well. The reception was very quick and efficient. Arriving quite late after a very long trip from Europe, we decided to give the rental car to the valet parking, hoping to find a more affordable solution for the next days.

The room has all the amenities it should have : a huge well functionning television, an ipod doc with radio, a well furnished mini-bar and a wide variety of snacks. The only thing that would be missing is the coffee making set, which I would except from such a place to be present in the room.

The bathroom is nice, equiped with a huge shower, which works well (good water flow and reliable temperature regulation). The toilet is also to be found here. The sink however is in the room so out of the bathroom. Not annoying to us but could be to some people.

Our room was really very quiet which allowed us to have 2 lovely relaxing nights before hitting the road to discover the rest of Florida.

Foodwise, there is a small cuban place next to the hotel. It's outside, so no airco but some huge ventilators ensure that there is plenty of air. We tried it out for lunch and had some very descent salads and sandwiches. At night, live music was played at this restaurant.

We also made use of the pool on the rooftop was is actually on the top of another building. Still ok, as you can go from our building to the other building through some internal route. No need to hit the street in your swimwear. This is not true for the bamboo pool which is based in the 3rd building at the other side of the street. We didn't try that one out due to no time. The rooftop pool is small but serves the purpose : getting a refreshing plunge and some sun. The sun hits very hard here though so beware. Around the pool a beautful sundeck equiped with confortable matrasses and some umbrellas. Not all of them function well tough. There is also a shower and some inflatable stuff that can be used by hotel guests.

Very nice pool despite its size. What I didn't like is that some guests reserved some matrasses. Hotels should really try to do something about this. Also the hotel was providing all guests with towels and still some people preferred to lay on the matress without a towel. I hate that.

We also heard there was a pool service. We would have expected this to be right at the end of the street. When we enquired at the hotel, we received a card explaining us to go to the beach and to check out the Catalina Beach Club. The Catalina Beach Club is still 3 blocks away so not really close. This is not an showstopper and when arriving you can grab as many chairs as you need (the beach guy just told us which color to pick and didn't feel like doing more). But still there is a certain distance and some big boulevards to cross which does not simply allow to drop off to the beach.

Another point I need to mention is that parking in the area is literally impossible. The parking further up in the street is a rip off. They just throw any price at you depending on how much of a tourist you look like. In the end, despite the high price, the valet parking is not such a bad option and for a short stay, it's to my opinion, the best one.

The service at the hotel was good. The checkout simple and efficient. In the end, the hotel is rather expensive but you get good value. The prices are alligned with other hotels in Miami Beach and probably here, you get a bit more for the same amount.

I would definitely recommend Riviera Suites to anyone looking for short stay, with our without kids. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to go back there one day.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main building at the back of the reception are very big and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Good Evening Patricia P,

Thank you for being a loyal guest and returning to our hotel! We are stoked to have you for a second time around! :) It seems like you enjoyed everything that our hotel has to offer from the amenities that we offer, to the room that you were given and everything in between! Moreno's Cuba is attached to the hotel, and offer delicious authentic Cuban fare at a reasonable price. We have had many different guests stay with us, from families, singles, elderly, business people. It just depends on what the guest is looking for. We hope to have you stay with us again a third time!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I stayed at the Riviera for 5 nights for a mini vacation with my husband. As soon as we entered the room we encountered our first problem, the room they gave us was so so small! I was sure I had booked for the one bedroom luxe suite, which was advertised as having a king bedroom with a kitchen. Immediately I called down to the FD and spoke to Valentina, I explained the issue and she said it would not be a problem to change rooms as long as we had our confirmation at hand, then we would be able to pick up our new keys at the front desk. We did just that. The young man at the front desk apologized and changed our rooms straight away, saying their system showed we booked for a different room type. Everyone was very polite and it seemed like an honest mistake on their part, but still I did not like having to move rooms since we were so tired. Our new room was beautiful, so much bigger than the first! We absolutely loved it. Just a few minutes after being settled, Valentina called our room to make sure everything was to our liking. Later we had a knock on our door from the manager Carlos. He apologized for the room problem we had and offered us a complimentary bottle of our choice, he also gave us his card and asked to please contact him if we needed anything at all. From that point on our stay was fabulous. We did not have any issues in our new room at all. My husband and I had been worried about the noise at night, since this was our first time staying in a South Beach, and we had heard horror stories from friends about the disturbances. We had absolutely no problems with noise at this hotel, I slept like a baby every night. The restaurant at the Hotel, Moreno’s, was good as well, they had live music everyday and free happy hour! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Hello there prettyinpink74,

Thank you so much for sharing your honest feedback with us, regarding your recent stay! We are indeed a boutique hotel therefore our rooms are a bit smaller then your average hotel rooms. I am delighted to know that we were able to change you to the original room that you reserved. Our team all work hard to make sure that all of our guests are well taken care of. Riviera Suites is typically more quiet then your average hotels. I see that you were able to take advantage of the amenities that we offer. Please come back again soon for another great time!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I cant say the room was incredible, it had its minors, but was worth for money I paid. The staff was very friendly and helpful. As it was our honeymoon, we got an complementary from the hotel. Special thanks for Arshineka!!! Definitely would recommend this hotel to a friend. Also, it has good ocation and is close to the ocean!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#79 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 2,986 reviews
Hotel Croydon
#18 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 710 reviews
Metropole Apartments
#72 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Sanctuary South Beach
Sanctuary South Beach
#103 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 508 reviews
Chesterfield Hotel
#66 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,918 reviews
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#65 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach

Address: cormer: 2000 Liberty Avenue, 318 20th Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending classic sophistication and contemporary chic, the Riviera South Beach hotel offers stylish Classic Rooms, Modern Balcony Rooms, as well as One-Bedroom apartment-like accommodations with gourmet kitchens, separate living and dining areas at affordable hotel room prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Hotwire, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.