We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service ever!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach to your Saves list
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2000 Liberty Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
1 review
“Best service ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel and has so many amenities and happy hour was great! Joe the driver was amazing would definitely come back again the staff was so good and gave us so many recommendations and very clean rooms and the manager was a sweet heart

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Hello there L4188,

We would like to thank you for taking your time to provide us with your feedback! Here at Riviera Suites we offer great money saving amenities to all of our guests. Joe the driver for the electric buggy is lovely, and all of our guests love him. I will make sure to inform him of your kind praise! Please come back for another great time!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    278
    151
    79
    98
See reviews for
148
387
68
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Stayed 2 nights here it was so relaxing and perfect for me and my husband, the staff wad really a asset here at the riviera specially amaury he was friendly. Front desk checked me in guickly and they were very informative. This place is great. Happy hour is fun. Loved my stay. Roof top is a cute loved all of it

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Hello castillopara,

We appreciate the time you took to share your feedback with us! Our staff are always hard at work to make sure that everyone is having a great time! Amaury is absolutely amazing and all of our guests think so as well. I will make sure to inform him of your kind praise! Please come back for another memorable time!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely lovely wonderful place to stay its a dream to stay here the staff is one of a million. The rooms are somewhat small but cozy mattress. The pools are are sleek in design nice view from rooftop. Arlene and alicia are very helpful by the way. Stay was a pleasing one!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Good Evening Houstonsgre,

There is nothing that we love to read more then wonderful 5 star feedback! We are extremely glad to know that your time spent with us was such a great one! We are indeed a boutique hotel therefore our rooms are a bit smaller. We offer larger rooms for those guests who need more space. Perhaps one of our bigger rooms were better suited for you. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

After pre-booking the hotel on Priceline and receiving a confirmation, I went to the hotel expecting a room. 40 minutes of standing around later, I had no room and no help from the front desk. Ultimately, I was moved to an apartment building in lieu of the 4-star hotel I thought I had booked. Management was amateurish and unhelpful.

My recommendation: If you want ta 4-star hotel experience in South Beach, pay a few dollars extra to stay at a hotel run by grown-ups and courteous people.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Hello there sardonicsardine,

Thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us, regarding your recent stay! We are terribly sorry that you were not able to stay with us! Perhaps there was an issue with your reservation on Priceline! I will make sure to inform our staff about this. If it was anything on our end we will make sure that it doesn't happen again!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

After a few hiccups we had a really nice stay at this quirky hotel. We stayed for one night in May and after a long drive from Orlando we were greeted by pleasant (if a little rushed) staff who checked us in quickly at a very small and busy front desk. We were given a room key but no room number, direction or help with our bags. As we found out after having to ask another member of staff this hotel is made up of 3 separate buildings - one across the street - so directions would have been helpful as we had to leave the main building and head ups some steps through the bar to our room.

Once we managed to find our room we were surprised to find we were on the ground floor, even though we had upgraded to a balcony room. There was a balcony but as it was on street level people walking past could see directly into your room and smokers sitting outside the hotel were practically sat with us. The entrance to the room was through the bar area so there were also people sat outside our hotel door which felt quite intrusive and was quite noisy. We went back to reception and requested a higher floor which we were given immediately, however, we again received no help with bags or direction to the new room.

Once in the new room we couldn't have been happier. great layout, spotless room, large comfy bed, lovely balcony with seating. A lovely boutique hotel room worthy of the 4 stars!

The layout is a little quirky as this clearly was not a purpose built hotel and has been converted from what looks to be a motel and two other separate buildings but they have made the best of the space and it works well. Between buildings 1 and 2 there is an open air bar where live music was being played in the evening - lovely to listen to as we sat on our balcony before a night out and the pool area on the roof was amazing!! Don't stay here without checking it out!

All in all a great boutique hotel! We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Definitely request a high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Good Evening nicola b,

Thank you for taking your time to respond to us with your feedback! I am terribly sorry that our staff did not provide you with complete information regarding the setup of the hotel. I will make sure to inform our staff about this, so that it never happens again! We are always willing to upgrade our guests if we have rooms available. We can't wait to have you stay here with us again!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We booked this hotel blind through priceline. Got the most basic room I guess. They charge 20 bucks resort fees. Can't really call this hotel a resort! The staff looked hassled while checking us in. Just told us they'll be charging 100 bucks on the card for incidentals which will be returned while checking out. Still haven't got the refund. Will wait a couple of days before I call. They did not tell us abt the complimentary beach chairs or the free airport shuttle or even the happy hour that they offer!! I overheard one of the other receptionists telling it some other guest. Maybe we were not given the best service because we were staying just one night or because we booked through priceline. Well, as the title of my review says, this place is just ok.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Good Day Kristi912,

We appreciate the time you took to share your honest feedback, regarding your recent stay here. We charge a resort fee of $15 plus taxes ($16.95). This covers all of the amenities that we offer- R/T shuttle from MIA, cocktail hour from 7-8PM nightly, WiFi, beach chairs and towels, etc. We take a $100 hold for incidentals. We release this hold as soon as you check out, so long that nothing in the room was damaged. It can take anywhere from 7-10 business days for your bank to release this hold back to your card.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I surprised my husband with a short getaway to South Beach for his 40th birthday. The hotel is in an excellent location, clean, attractive, and our room was VERY comfortable - yes, small, but this is South Beach and that is expected. Our bed was heavenly.

Do not miss the rooftop pool and the wonderful courtyard Cuban restaurant with a complimentary cocktail hour from 7-8pm (bartender Marley is a favorite!). Excellent food as well!

The staff went ABOVE and beyond to help celebrate my husband's birthday, from champagne and cake to balloons and roses...we can't thank you enough for the wonderful experience! Thank you to Carlos, Darko, and the front desk staff (Alex I believe was her name? And a lovely young lady who's name started with a Y...). We will spread the word of Riviera's excellence and can not wait for or next trip back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Hello there StonedCrabs,

There is nothing that we love more then wonderful 5 star feedback! HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY to your husband!! We are tucked away in a quiet residential neighborhood, just blocks away from all the hottest spots. We are indeed a boutique hotel therefore our rooms are a bit smaller then your average hotel. We do offer rooms that are a larger in size for those guests who need more space. Please come back to stay with us for another memorable birthday celebration!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach

Address: 2000 Liberty Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#45 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#57 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.