We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury without the high Cost!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4835 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
TripAdvisor- Save 17%
Ranked #59 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Luxury without the high Cost!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

First let me say this: If you are looking for a high-end hotel with several restaurants, lots of nightclubs, and lots of amenities with money as no object, this is probably not the place for you. Go to the Fountainbleu or Eden Roc. However, if you want luxury, beautiful rooms with stunning view of the Miami Beach, three beautiful pools on two levels, a very nice restaurant that serves good food at a reasonable price, two nice bars with a quiet crowd, and a clean and well appointed beach about 100 steps from the lobby, this is the place to stay. I just returned and loved every minute of it. This is by far the best place to stay on the beach.

First, the lobby. Everything is gleaming in cream colored tiles and neutral shades. Parking attendants are prompt and friendly, and the front desk is exceedingly helpful. The lobby is very modern with simple, clean lines. On the north end is a sunken bar, and to the east toward the pools is a restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner including buffet style meals. Out back are two pools and two hot tubs with a poolside bar. The real attraction is the 20 step walk to the beach. It's all right there: sand, surf, chairs and umbrellas (these two cost about $10 a day). It's just awesome.

There are no rooms on floors 1-7. Floor 7 contains the tranquility pool (it faces Collins and thus downtown Miami - it's great if you want to get away from all the kids), and an exercise room that is very well appointed and overlooks the intracostal waterway.

Above floor 7 are the rooms - ALL SUITES. They are beautiful and the views are breathtaking. For a little extra, opt for the oceanfront suite (although I hear oceanview offer pretty good views, especially if you get one toward the beach end of the building). The beds are comfortable, lots of storage space, two TV rooms, a fold-out couch - everything you need. A one-bedroom double could easily hold three people.

Any drawbacks? None, really. The hotel could use a gift shop where toiletries, magazines, and books could be sold. Otherwise, this is probably the best Miami Beach hotel I've ever seen.

By the way, I dealt with Frank Deive, the night manager, for many issues (where to go, how to get there, I need aspirin, things like that). He's the most helpful I've ever encountered, and I've stayed at a lot of hotels.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,411
    1,203
    358
    156
    141
See reviews for
1,317
1,041
57
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo - Brazil
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

We went to Grand Beach Hotel merely by chance. We were at another pseudo-hotel called Opera Suites & Marina and wanted to get away from there as soon as possible, due to several problems (see my review of that "hotel"). We made a reservation at Eden Roc around midnight through their toll free number, but when we arrived the hotel was fully booked and they transfered us to the Grand Beach Hotel, which we didn't know nothing about. It was a marvelous surprise! The front desk and the night manager were top notch. They gave us a suite that was simply stunning! Everything in the room is in white or off-white tones, including the carpet on the floor; mirrors everywhere, and a marvelous floor-to-ceiling soundproof window that allowed a remarkable view of Miami Beach bay. Two bathrooms, two flat TVs, a white sofa, and a delicious King-size bed, in addition to plenty of storage space. The next day we had a delicious buffet breakfast (US$ 17 per person) and toured the hotel. Everything beautiful and new (the hotel is less than a year old), very well kept. The pool area is very comfortable and the white sandy beach is stunning (as Brazilians, we know beaches...). The price for the beach chairs (US$10/day) and the umbrella (US$ 10/day) is a little high, though. There is a pool on the 7th floor with spectacular views on both sides (ocean and bayside). When we asked the front desk for the price of our suite (Eden Roc had taken charge of the first night), another surprise: US$ 169/day plus US$ 25/day parking, as compared to US$ 259/day plus US$ 30/day parking at the Eden Roc! We cancelled the reservation at Eden Roc and decided to stay at Grand Beach, and were even offered a discount: US$ 160,65 the first night and US$ 143,65 the next one (we were only staying 2 more days). This hotel made the end of our trip to Florida a dream. The location is perfect, the sunset from our room was astonishing (I don't envy the ocean view...), the personnel is very kind. We had one minor glitch with a waiter at the restaurant, but the hotel made up to his fault and everything went ok. I hope to come back and I expect to find the same good level of service. My compliments to Grand Beach Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

Beautifull decorated and clean hotel. Good prices, the only problem was that weren't enough chaise longues by the pool for the guests. You schould arrive early to get one. And that they charge for the beds and umbrellas by the beach, wich I think it should be included on the diaries. Very nice and well frequented hotel, would definitelly be there again!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

My mother and I went for a nice weekend away from Mothers Day weekend and thats exactly what we got! The hotel rooms were perfect, we had an ocean front suite with 2 bathrooms and a pull out couch ( in which I had to sleep on the pull out!) It was as comfy as you can expect a pull out couch to be, but having the extra bathroom was excellent. If you can spring for the Ocean front I highly recommend it as it's a beautiful view! The refridgerators were nice and clean and useful. There was a bellman there that was really very friendly and kind his name is Darryl and the concierge Yuen was very helpfull as well. Cudos to them!
The food was OK, however Eden Roc and Fontain Bleu are in walking distance and the food there is top notch!
Overall Grand Beach was great, It was nice and quiet and the staff was awesome!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

I stayed at Grand Beach this past weekend for Memorial Day weekend. I was so suprised at the amenties the hotel included for the low price I paid. There are a total of 3 pools, 2 downstairs, and 1 on the 7th floor. The only bad thing was that it was a little ways from South Beach and we had to catch a cab everytime. I would recommend this anyone who is looking for a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

The beach views were great (if you get a room with a view). Also great views of the canal and downtown Miami. The hotel is very clean, but most of the staff speaks Spanish (as does everyone in Miami, apparently). This can make it difficult at times to get your car, or talk to the concierge, etc.

The pool/spa areas are very nice and there is direct beach access from the pool area. Also, the beach is very nice and clean. The hotel has a station on the beach to provide chairs/umbrellas (for rental), towels, and water. It made going to the beach very convenient.

The biggest downside is the parking. You are forced to valet and it costs $25 per day. This makes it very inconvenient at times. If you forget something in your car, it can take up to an hour for them to find it for you because you won't be allowed in the garage. Also, every time you want to go anywhere, you have to call ahead to get your car. So, do you tip every time they bring it? After paying $25 per day, this can get very pricey.

Overall, I would stay here again because it was in a nice area and it was a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

I just returned from a 4 night stay with my husband, his cousin and her fiancee and we're thinking of returning for my husband's birthday in Septemeber. The location was perfect and the hotel was fabulous. I would have liked to see cheaper prices for the onsite restaurant ($70 for breakfast for 4.), a microwave in the room, and the valet took a little too long at times. We did find an IHOP 15 mins down Collins (keep straight on Collins when you turn out of the driveaway and it'll be on your left) where we got breakfast for under $50 for 4 people. The heated pools are so relaxing. The staff was very friendly and helpful and my husband ran into the owner a couple of times. He was very nice and wanted to make sure that we were happy with our rooms. The beds are a dream and the cleaning staff was very good.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Thompson Miami Beach
#3 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 687 reviews
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#19 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,163 reviews
Oceanfront
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#86 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#56 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Beach Hotel

Address: 4835 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the style and tranquility of the new Grand Beach Hotel where Luxury and Comfort are within Reach! Discover a true gateway to paradise! A contemporary Miami Beach all-suite hotel on the ocean, the Grand Beach Hotel features luxurious accommodations, breathtaking ocean views, and easy access to world-famous beaches, attractions, restaurants, shopping malls, and nightspots. Book your Miami beachfront hotel reservations online today for our Best Rate Guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.