We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful retreat on the beachfront” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4835 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
TripAdvisor- Save 17%
Ranked #59 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Peaceful retreat on the beachfront”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stayed at the Grand Beach for three nights following a week long cruise. Departed the ship at 9am and arrive at the hotel for 10am. We were expecting that the room wouldn't be ready on arrival, however the reception staff couldn't have been more helpful and noticing that we had lots of luggage quickly checked us is in and ensured we well versed with the hotel and surrounding area. Although a few miles out of Miami (opposite mlillionaires rows), I found the location to be the best feature of the hotel. The hotel was right on the beachfront and the beach itself was a lot less populated than the main south beach; all in all, a little exclusive retreat from the main hustle and bustle. We were there over a weekend and found it nice to escape back from the 24hour party atmosphere of south beach / down town areas. There were frequent buses outside of the hotel too ($3.25 one way) to south beach and the Art Deco area. Make sure you have exact change, however, as they don't give out any. Taxis cost no more than $15 either. However, the best way to explore and get about is to use the deco bikes, 2 hotels down. Such a fantastic idea. You just pop your credit card in, take your bikes and drop them off at any bike station in the city. So reasonable too. From memory, about $10 for two hours!
The rooms were huge with a lovely comfortable bed, two bathrooms and very modern decor. Although the carpets were a bit weathered, the rest of the furniture was quite plush with lots of nice in room touches, complimentary coffee and wifi, bathrobes, free safe etc. Think cream; which explains why the carpets are a little bit mucky! ;-)
Two pool areas; one for families and one for adults only. The views from the adults only pool are stunning. Overlooking millionaires row and downtown Miami with Fantastic sunsets and lots of camera opportunities every night.
Excellent breakfast and reasonably priced too, as were drinks and cakes during the day, Thankfully , the hotel automatically adds the 'tip' to all charges, which is a real lifesaver to us Europeans who find the whole US tipping system baffling and difficult to fathom!
Only downside, I personally felt that the hotel lacks a main focal / meeting / socialising area. Although there is a bar and chairs / sofas in the hotel lobby, it is not somewhere you would like to while a away a few hours, meet with friends or enjoy a relaxing drink. Too transient and not very chilled. We had friends staying at the Marriott so met with them instead and started the evening there; a real shame as it would have been nice to have enjoyed a few drinks and met at our hotel once or twice.
All in all, a very good hotel, spacious rooms, beach location away from the hustle and bustle down at south beach. I think the hotel sums it up perfectly with their description of "affordable luxury".

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Hudds-Steve, we are glad you decided to give the Grand Beach Hotel a chance and that we met all of your expectations. It is a true pleasure to read the wonderful review you have written after your recent stay with us. We are very much thankful for you have taken the time to leave such detailed review, which in our opinion would be of great help to other travelers, who may consider staying with us and are not very familiar with the area. Your positive remarks of our staff and the nice interactions you have had with them are rewarding to read, as customer service is a top priority for us. It has been our pleasure to accommodate you early and we are always willing to do this for our guests, whenever hotel room availability allows it. We could not agree more with your opinion on our location. We also believe that its beachfront position that does not stretch too far away from South Beach is the perfect spot to enjoy Miami Beach. As you have mentioned, there are plenty of easily accessible and affordable means of transportation to move back and forth from the hotel. The Deco Bikes are truly a great way to explore Miami Beach. We are glad that everything in your suite was up to standard and that the added gratuity to food and beverage checks added value to your experience. We have enjoyed delivering “affordable luxury” to you and your partner. We are looking forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,413
    1,206
    358
    156
    141
See reviews for
1,321
1,041
57
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We found Grand Beach Hotel through Hotels.com and we did a pay later reservation. When we got to the hotel we were informed that our reservation had been canceled. actually, that Hotels.com had canceled our reservation. The staff was so friendly and Damien who was the front desk person that helped us was so nice and helpful, he got us a rate 15% less than we had already planned. It was such a beautiful property and at checkout Catalina was so helpful as well. We are definitely using this hotel again for next years girl's trip!

Room Tip: Choose a bay view, beautiful in the day and amazing at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Vanessa8laura, thank you for choosing the Grand Beach Hotel as your accommodation during your recent girl’s trip to Miami Beach. It has been our pleasure to serve you during your time onsite. We are glad to read that we were able to accommodate you at an even cheaper rate that the one you had originally booked. It is very rewarding to know that our great staff, in the face of Damien and Catalina, were friendly, helpful and efficient when accommodating you. We appreciate the five-star rating you have given us and hope to have the chance to welcome you back again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact us, if we can assist you when planning your trip next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

A stunning room with a big comfortable bed, amazing views from the balcony (pool view room), ocean to the left and waterways to the right.
Always beds available at the quiet 7th floor pool. The beach is beautiful, although charging for sun beds seems a little unnecessary.
Restaurant good with reasonable pricing for lunch and dinner, the breakfast buffet was expensive and a but disappointing.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Melvin-Stone, we truly enjoyed having you stay with us during your time in Miami. Thank you for your great review. We are pleased that we could meet your expectations and needs with our comfortable room accommodations and adults only pool area. Thank you for deciding to join us at the restaurant- Chez Gaston, while we are glad our lunch and dinner servings were to your taste, we are sorry to read of your disappointment with the price-quality ratio of breakfast. We could suggest you try our pre-order room service breakfast serving next time you visit us or that you try the selection of breakfast items available at the Espresso Bar located in the lobby. We are glad to hear that you plan to return- we are looking forward to welcoming you back and we hope to perform even better then.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I booked through booking.com, on arrival at hotel I checked in and tent told me my card was declined. When I checked my bank online immediately I could are that they had already tAken a payment of £1604 ($2207) already & this is why the card was declining as they have already took this. Manager Called Brandy & their accounts team had no recollection of this so I had no choice but to use a 2nd card otherwise I would have been stuck n stranded and no where to stay - so 2nd card they authorised the same amount of £1604- so now I was £1604 short. Grand beach took a today of £3200. It's a good job I had additional card and additional savings. Not forgetting my spending money. I am still waiting for them to return this money they clearly said they didn't take after clearly showing them my bank statement showing Grand Beach Hotel transaction.
Another couple decided to go elsewhere as I could hear they weren't happy with something- the hotel staff r nice expect reception. The location is beach only- no shops expect out local super drug store. Middle of nowhere- no free tea and coffee available - they rip you off when giving you receipts to food
You order- REMEMBER peeps- gratuity on your bill is optional, you can ask them to remove this.
Not as clean as they make out but great views and friendly beach and pool staff. -all They need is more customer service skills & knowledge of how they try and take a payment twice at check in so be warned guys- always check you receipts

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Keyshe831, thank you for taking the time to inform us of your experience during your stay with us. We understand your frustration with the situation you encountered at the time of check-in at the hotel. As reviews on TripAdvisor are anonymous, we do not have the ability to review your reservation details. As we would like to identify the specifics of your vacation and address them accordingly to avoid recurrence, I have sent you a private message via TripAdvisor /click “my account” then “messages” to view/ which contains our contact details here at the hotel. Please do contact us, so we may review your reservation and assist you. What we would like to share with you is that very often bookings made through Booking.com are prepaid, which would explain the first charge; secondly, the hotel has an incidental charges policy, which requires that we collect a credit card at the time of check-in and authorize on it to secure payment for any incidental charges. Such transaction on a credit card is just an authorization and NOT a charge. It remains as pending transaction on your bank statement and after your check-out it drops from the bank statement within a few days depending on your banking institution. We are glad to see that with the exception of this issue you experienced at the time of check-in you spent a pleasant visit to property. We will be looking forward to the opportunity to speak with you and to ensure that the situation is resolved to your satisfaction. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Grand Beach Hotel more than met our expectations. We loved having a second bathroom. The hotel staff were helpful, and enjoyed some R&R on the beach. Will definitely stay there again! Just not during Urban Weekend...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Balletomane007, let us start off by thank you for trusting the Grand Beach Hotel as your accommodation on Miami Beach. We appreciate the feedback you have shared with us and the five-star rating you have given our property. At the Grand Beach Hotel, it is a top priority for us to ensure that all our guests have a fantastic experience on property, thus, we are more than happy to learn of your satisfaction with our suites and their in-room features and comforts. We are even happier of the lovely feedback you have given our staff members; it is wonderful that our staff’s friendly service attitude made you feel at home. We are glad to know you plan to return to our hotel in the future. We cannot wait to greet you back onsite.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had the most wonderful experience at this resort. It's a very nice resort. The location is perfect, the rooms are very nice. The view is to die for. The various pools gives you options and the beach right off the pool
is convenient. We had exceptional service from Ingrid at the front desk. She was so accommodating and helpful and patient and went above and
beyond to ensure we got the best possible service! And Ivan at the adult pool bar went out of his way for the guests. It was a most wonderful escape weekend ......would absolutely recommend and return.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear PFvisitor, thank you for trusting the Grand Beach Hotel as your accommodation on Miami Beach during your recent weekend getaway to the area. We are so very happy to read of the wonderful, five-star experience you had on property with us. It has been our pleasure to welcome you and serve you with a smile. We are glad our rooms, their views, beachfront location, and pool and beach areas delivered everything that you hoped for during your getaway. We greatly appreciate the positive remarks you have made of Ingrid and Ivan. They are truly a great asset to our team and we are lucky to have them as our staff members. It is thrilling to know that their service made the difference and contributed a great deal of positivity to your onsite experience. We are grateful for your recommendation and cannot wait to welcome you back on your return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel largely because of the room which was an ocean front suite on the 15th floor. The room was spacious had a large very comfortable bed and two bathrooms. It really was excellent. Our criticism of this hotel relates to the restaurant and bar. For a hotel of this quality I would expect a restaurant to be welcoming and providing a wide range of foods. The restaurant decoration is bland and the menu very limited. The bar which is in the front lobby is non descript and has absolutely no atmosphere. Having a drink here is like sitting in the foyer of a bus station because you are surrounded by people either checking in or out and other residence just coming and going. We have stayed in a lot of hotels and we cannot recollect a worst bar anywhere. We did however think the Juan Carlos the bar man provided an excellent service in quite difficult conditions.

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra cost go for an ocean front suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Sevvynuneaton, we appreciate you for taking the time to write a review as a result of your recent visit to property. We must agree with you on your positive comments regarding our Ocean Front suites, as they are indeed one of the best room accommodations we offer at the hotel. As you have mentioned, they are not only spacious and comfortable with their 2 full bathrooms, but also provide a spectacular view from their private balcony. With this being said, we would like to take the time and apologize for failing to meet your expectation for privacy, comfort, and food options at both our restaurant and lobby bar. We are truly sorry we could not quite come up to your needs in this area of the hotel. It has been our pleasure to serve you and we do hope you will be willing to give our property another chance in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Thompson Miami Beach
#3 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 691 reviews
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#19 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,167 reviews
Oceanfront
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#86 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#56 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Beach Hotel

Address: 4835 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the style and tranquility of the new Grand Beach Hotel where Luxury and Comfort are within Reach! Discover a true gateway to paradise! A contemporary Miami Beach all-suite hotel on the ocean, the Grand Beach Hotel features luxurious accommodations, breathtaking ocean views, and easy access to world-famous beaches, attractions, restaurants, shopping malls, and nightspots. Book your Miami beachfront hotel reservations online today for our Best Rate Guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.