We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All excellent at the Grand Beach Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grand Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4835 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tripadvisor - 17% Savings
Ranked #45 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Piedimonte Matese, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“All excellent at the Grand Beach Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Upon arriving to the hotel after our cruise and the start to a Miami Weekend the staff greeted Us with a ready to serve attitude. We arrived about 2:00 pm and the hotel was ready for our arrival and allowed early check-in.
The registration team was fast professional and ready with information to make your stay comfortable.
Applaud the great Paolo De Sanctis, a person of great professionalism and courtesy.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Carlo P, thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are very happy to hear you were completely satisfied with your recent visit to property. It has been our pleasure to serve you. At the Grand Beach Hotel, we do our best to always deliver a detail oriented and hospitable customer service to all our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and appreciate your business and feedback, which will certainly be passed along to the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,426 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,059
    877
    255
    122
    113
See reviews for
946
820
42
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I have 2 problems with this hotel. One is not their fault.South Beach is not south. It is, of course, east.The whole area should be called East Beach because by lunchtime the pool is shaded by the hotel as the sun heads off to the west. The 2 smallish pools are salt water by the way and there are not enough loungers in the pool area for all the guests so you have to head for the beach. My second problem with this hotel is generic to the area too. Charging for everything. Want a lounger on the beach? $10. A parasol? Another $10. Want to park your car (compulsory valet) $30 per day. Order any sort of food or drink? Mandatory 18% gratuity. The t-bone steak, with tax, comes to nearly fifty bucks. They claim they don't charge a resort fee and I should be grateful the lounger charge is therefore optional. What the hell is a resort fee anyway? Paying over $300 a night for a room should give me full use of every facility. As there aren't enough loungers by the pool you have to use the beach. I counted 80 loungers on the beach bringing in $800 per day, plus rented parasols. I get the feeling Miami hotels are contemptible of their customers. I wouldn't return or recommend anyone else to do so, they will have one hand in you pocket the minute you walk through the door.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Keith H, thank you for taking the time out of your day to share your experience from Miami as a whole and our hotel in particular with the TripAdvisor community.
We are glad to see from the feedback you have extended in regards to different aspects of your stay that you enjoyed our property’s location, rooms, cleanliness level, and staff service attitude. We are however concerned with the disappointment you have shared regarding the surcharges, which accompany some of the services onsite. The two pool areas on the first level of the hotel do indeed get busy at times, as these are the family pools at the hotel. There is another pool area available to guests at the hotel. It is located on the 7th floor and is limited to adults above the age of 21. We would usually suggest this area as an alternative to the beach and first level pool for guests to use. Furthermore, this pool area offers direct sun light throughout the entire day. In order to address your concern with the gratuity added to the food and beverage offerings onsite, we would like to share that our property is visited by many foreigners, who are not necessarily aware of the gratuity standards for the United States, which suggests the need for such policy onsite. Resort fee is a mandatory daily fee charged to cover for the cost of certain amenities. In contrast to many other hotels in the area, we do not impose such charge onsite; thus, we add a charge to the guest’s bill only for services used. We respect your opinion and your dislike of either of these policies; however, our hotel besides avoiding the daily resort fee charge, provides a variety of free amenities, leaving just a few of the amenities offered onsite to be additionally charged for on as per use basis. Our hotel offers free WiFi connection, free 24-hour fitness center, free business center, complimentary towel service at both pool areas onsite and the beach, complimentary newspaper etc. just to name a few.
It is our hope that after reading our response and considering the positive experiences you have had onsite with us, you shall be willing to reconsider your decision and give our hotel another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here after 5 nites in the loews hotel in Boston. This hotel was stunning and pure luxury. The hotel is perfect if your confident using public transport. The buses are very handy and only 2 dollars each way. There are no restaurants near by and everything is a bus ride away. The surroundings of the hotel is breath takin. However the service in the hotel was not great.the staff weren't overly friendly, only the bar man at the sunset bar. We asked to keep our suite on for a few hours as our flight wasn't until the evening and we were going to be charged a silly amount to keep it on. So we decide to leave early just. We had to get freshen up in the hotel toilets. Which was disappointing for such a classy hotel. The food is over priced and not the greatest. It was 45 dollars for two sandwiches and two tins of coke. . i ordered a pizza one evening and didn't enjoy it either. After two bad experiences we decided not to eat in the hotel. There was a local pizza takeaway pizza dude and they deliver the nicest pizzas for great prices. Overall the hotel is stunning and our suite was beautiful the only thing let the hotel down was the staff, food.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Lauraabeattie, we are honored to learn you have chosen our property for such special occasion as your honeymoon. In this sense, we find it extremely distressing to know, we have not quite met your needs and expectations regarding food and staff. We are happy you enjoyed the overall ambience and décor of the hotel, as well as your room accommodation. We also appreciate the wonderful recommendation you have given other travelers, who might be interested in staying with us; public transportation is indeed conveniently located right across the street from the hotel. It is inexpensive and allows for moderately fast access to the areas of interest surrounding the hotel. It is unfortunate; we did not meet your taste preferences within our food and beverage outlets. We would also like to apologize for not being able to extend a complimentary late check-out to you and your partner. Our front office staff is always willing to assist guests and accommodate their need for late check-outs; this matter however depends mostly on our hotel availability for the day; thus limiting our control over the ability to extend later check-outs, at no or small charge. We sincerely hope that you also had nice interactions with our staff members, because we truly strive to encourage a helpful and courteous service on property.
We can assure you that if you are to give us a second chance in the future, we could perform better at accommodating your needs and wants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Upon arriving to the hotel after our cruise and the start to a Miami Weekend the staff greeted Us with a ready to serve attitude. We arrived about 10 am and the hotel was ready for our arrival and allowed early check-in. The registration team was fast professional and ready with information to make your stay comfortable. The breakfast buffet at Chez Gaston Restaurant inside the was delicious. A wide variety of the breakfast/bunch/lunch/Dinner menu items for adults and children. The staff in the restaurant was professional, pleasant and willing to accommodate you! They were open 7a-11 pm. The Grand Beach Hotel did not have a separate resort fee but had resort style service. Great beach access 2 pools and hot tubs for families and separate Adults only pool on 7th floor with a Great bar and drink specials every day made for a great getaway!. The pictures in the ads do not do justice to the style and comfort of the beds and luxury of the rooms. The rooms are Spacious and very clean. The whole hotel is clean the marble through out was beautiful. The only negative is 18% gratuity added to everything. The room price is very reasonable for the area you can walk to Eden Roc and Fontaine Bleu. The location is also awesome!. We have labeled this spot as our Miami Digs! We cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: The King Room with partial bay view and beach view was great. 2 bath rooms 2 50 inch flat Tv's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Sunsational13, thank you for your review. It is with pleasure that we learn of the 5-star experience we were able to deliver to you and your partner on your recent visit to property.
We are thrilled you have enjoyed every bit of your experience at the Grand Beach Hotel. Thank you for sharing such kind words of our staff members and their professional service attitude. Onsite of the Grand Beach Hotel, we all strive to deliver an exceptional guest experience and are thus rewarded by the positive encounters you have had with team members throughout the hotel. It is wonderful our food and beverage outlets onsite did not disappoint in managing to meet your taste preferences. We are glad you have found our advertising materials, including images found on the web, to be a true representative of what we offer guests in reality. It is great our beachfront location allowing for direct beach access from hotel premises and an easy and fast access to South Beach has proved as convenient to you in the duration of your stay.
We are pleased your recent experience on property has turned the Grand Beach Hotel into your spot on Miami Beach. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back every time you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Starting with the positives...
1. On Beach which was good.
2. Rooms are very Clean, well maintained and very spacious.
3. Staff is very polite & helpful.
4. Rooms are worth the price - the best I could find in that price.
5. Check In & Check Out were super smooth.
6. They have separate pool for kids, which is gr8.

Now the Negatives
1. A little far from South Beach, so we had hire a cab every-time we went out which turned out to be more than what I had budgeted for. Maybe they could have a shuttle service to South Beach.
2. My room didn't catch a Wifi signal but our friends next door were getting a good signal, so went to their room to use it & ours was a sea view room. Since we were on vacation, I really didn't bother to report it as I was using it only once in two days.
3. Their breakfast was expensive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Manik_1981, we are glad you took the time to inform us of your experience on property.
It is wonderful to learn you have overall enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the positive comments you have shared regarding the direct beach access from hotel premises and the cleanliness level of our room accommodations. We are especially happy to hear of the polite and helpful staff service attitude you encountered throughout the hotel, because delivering such guest experience in this aspect is a priority for us. In this sense, we also find your smooth experience upon check-in and check-out as rewarding. Thank you for joining us at the 7th floor tranquility, adults only pool area. We are happy you enjoyed the time spent there. We are indeed located further north from South Beach; however, we believe that to be more of a positive factor, as this allows our guests to enjoy a quiet and relaxing vacation with an easy and fast access to the South Beach action. As an alternative mean of transportation we can definitely recommend you take advantage of the public bus transportation. Buses run 24-hours a day and weekly cards are available making this option truly inexpensive, yet almost as fast as the taxi. Please accept our apologies for failing to provide good WiFi signal within your suite. Even though we provide this amenity at no additional charge, we would not use this fact as an excuse for its working quality; we actually strive to achieve the exact opposite of this and provide good connection to all guests; thus, ensuring the value of this free amenity we offer. We would contact you directly with a request for your room number, so a manual inspection may be done at the suite and neither you nor any of our future guests experiences the same issue within this room number again.
We are grateful for the time you spent to provide us with your feedback. We sincerely hope the few negatives you experienced did not manage to outweigh your good experiences onsite, because it would be our pleasure to have the opportunity to greet you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Grove, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

We booked this room a few months in advance, it was just for a layover before our cruise! This room blew us AWAY! The bed was RIDICULOUSLY comfortable, plenty spacious...it had two full bathrooms, a queen size sofa bed and a fantastic view. We flew in on a red eye from California and got to the hotel at 6am, we had been up for 14 hours...we were aware that check In time wasn't until 4, but they told us when we got there just to check in to see if our room was ready, they got us I RIGHT AWAY! The concierge received a package for me earlier in the week and only charged me a $6 handling fee! (Usually $20+ at other hotels!). All the staff were wonderful and we cannot wait to go back, just to stay here!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Julie V, let us start off by expressing our gratitude for the wonderful feedback you have shared with the TripAdvisor community. We could not be happier to learn of the positive experience you had on property with us. It is great our spacious room accommodations and comfortable bedding provided you with the comfort you sought. Even though we cannot guarantee early check-ins, it is always our pleasure to provide those to guests when we have the necessary availability onsite. We are happy this added a nice touch of satisfaction during your visit. We are glad you found our packages handling fee as reasonable, but we are mostly glad when knowing we managed to live up to your expectations for friendly and attentive customer service. Thank you again and we cannot wait to welcome you back for an extended stay onsite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

If I was judging this hotel on the rooms, the staff and the fact that it is right on the beach, then I would for sure give it a better rating, but sadly there are other things which I found let them down massively. We just felt as though there was always something else we were being over charged on.
As other reviewers have mentioned, the food and drink options at this hotel are extortionately priced for the quality you receive. I genuinely don't mind paying a little extra if I know I'm getting good quality, freshly made food but $16 + 18 % service charge + tax for a re-heated inedible vegetarian sandwich that has been sitting there all day is not good. Breakfast was a crazy, noisy overcrowded affair with a lack of any real quality food on offer and worked out at over $50 every morning. The problem is that there are no cafes or restaurants nearby so you want convenience you are almost at their mercy when it comes to having breakfast and lunch.
Being so far away from every thing means you are also at their mercy when it comes to the valet parking which will add to your checkout bill in a big way!
They also charge you for using their sun loungers on the beach, which I think is ridiculous. For us this all meant that we were just collecting our towels in the morning, driving elsewhere for a nice breakfast, staying on the beach much further down and having a nice, relaxed good quality lunch somewhere else.
So between that and the WIFI not working( a common problem I believe) we would not return here again, which is a shame as the rooms are a great size with beautiful views and the staff are very courteous and helpful. Its a shame their management seem to be more about ripping people off than making their guests feel comfortable in their hotel.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the ocean view, it is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear DidiIreland, thank you for choosing us as your Miami Beach accommodation.
While we are glad you enjoyed our room accommodations, beachfront location, and the courteous customer service we rendered, we must admit of our concern for failing to meet your expectations when it comes to the pricing of certain services onsite. We are especially saddened by the fact that you found the gap between the pricing and quality of food on property as disturbing. We sincerely appreciate you sharing such valuable insight on your experience at our food and beverage outlets; as such feedback is crucial to the success of our operation. Our food and beverage department has been notified of the comments you have shared. We are sorry you have felt this way regarding our valet parking service. Unfortunately, the limitation in space in Miami causes valet parking as the standard in the area. We are however; glad to inform you that we offer this service at one of the lowest rates in the area. It is furthermore available 24-hours a day with in/out privileges. Another advantage of our property compared to the standard on Miami Beach is the fact that we do not enforce a mandatory daily resort fee to our guests; thus, allowing our guests to choose the services they would like to use daily and pay for them on as per use basis. With this policy, we have definitely aimed at providing more comfort to our guests during their visit rather than causing their distress. In this sense, we would like to offer our apologies for failing to achieve just that in the duration of your stay with us. We would be honored, if you decide to give our hotel another chance to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Beach Hotel

Address: 4835 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Beach Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the style and tranquility of the new Grand Beach Hotel where Luxury and Comfort are within Reach! Discover a true gateway to paradise! A contemporary Miami Beach all-suite hotel on the ocean, the Grand Beach Hotel features luxurious accommodations, breathtaking ocean views, and easy access to world-famous beaches, attractions, restaurants, shopping malls, and nightspots. Book your Miami beachfront hotel reservations online today for our Best Rate Guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Grand Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.