We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dissapointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grand Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4835 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tripadvisor - 17% Savings
Ranked #43 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very dissapointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I live in UK but love Miami so we come to visit every year. Last year we stayed at the Sole on the Ocean and we were very impressed with the hotel, unfortunately this year we decided to book Grand Beach Hotel which was a huge mistake. I was quite shocked when I walked into the room, carpets were really badly stained and dirty, room smelt badly. I nearly cried when I saw all this as we came to Miami for 2 weeks.

To top it up I couldn't sleep all night as the walls are very thin and I could hear our noise neighbours. I complained to the front desk about the room being dirty and smelly, we have been moved to the 2nd room, after seeing no difference in rooms we have been upgraded to a suit which was much cleaner and nicer. Still there were few stains around, the walls are very thin I found difficult to sleep again. Also breakfast is very expensive with a small choice of fruit and hot food so we decided to try Eden Roc hotel and we loved their breakfast, we were eating there every single day. Its only a short walk from Grand Beach Hotel. Overall I am very very dissapointed with this hotel. Pillows are very uncomfortable too. The only reason why I didn't give one star to this hotel is because I found front desk quite helpful and I liked the beach otherwise I will never stay here again and I would NOT recommend this hotel. We stayed in Newport Beachside and even that was much nicer than here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Natasha H, thank you for taking the time to share your concerns.
At our hotel, it is our top priority to provide guests with a pleasant and joyful experience. In this regard, we find it very distressing to know that we have failed in meeting your needs and expectations. We appreciate the feedback you have extended in your review and would like to assure you that our housekeeping department shampoos and treats the carpets throughout the hotel on a regular basis. Since the all white room décor can prove challenging at times, we do replace all the carpets onsite almost every year. We do hope you would be happy to learn that we are currently in the process of carpet replacement, so you may rest assured that you would be able to enjoy a flawless room outlook upon your next visit onsite. We are glad our front office department has managed to compensate you in a timely manner for the inconvenience experienced by providing an upgrade to a room that has met your needs. We appreciate your comments regarding our breakfast buffet serving and we will ensure they reach our food and beverage department for consideration.
While we wish you had a better experience on property with us, it is feedback such as yours that assists us in enhancing the guest experience. We do hope you would be willing to give our property another chance to regain your trust.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,095
    909
    261
    123
    113
See reviews for
979
839
44
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lone Tree, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Pros:
The hotel is really nice - rooms have 2 tvs and 2 bathrooms with showers, so for the family of 4 it makes very comfortable stay, especially coming back from the beach. The view is amazing - we had a bayview suite and from the balcony you can see both ocean and the bay. The access to the beach is great. The staff is very friendly and respectful - they offered us to use pools and other amenities before check in and after check out. the Wi-Fi connection is great and free for multiple devices. the main bed is great and pillows are filled with feathers.
Cons: the food options at the hotel - are very limited and cafe/restaurants are overpriced. Other options are located minimum 20 minutes by foot or 5-7 minutes by taxi, which makes the location very non-convenient. Beach chairs and umbrellas - $10 each - what? why? Is not it part of the "luxury" hotel service? The second unfolding sofa - is some what of terrible sleeping quality...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Olegkot, thank you for informing us of your experience during your stay.
We are happy to read of all the positive hotel features you have enjoyed onsite and have mentioned in your review. We agree with you that the standard suites on property provide a great accommodation for families as they are equipped with two full bathrooms, two televisions, and a sleeper sofa. It is great the view of both the ocean and the bay that opens up from the private bay view room balcony has managed to amaze you. At the Grand Beach Hotel, we strive to welcome all guests in a hospitable manner; therefore, we are glad to read you have had only positive encounters with staff members onsite. While it is great you have enjoyed our beachfront location due to the direct beach access from hotel premises it provides, it is unfortunate you have found our property’s location as inconvenient due to its distance from South Beach. The beach chairs and umbrella rentals are indeed a service we offer at a separate charge. You would be happy to know that other hotels that offer complimentary beach chairs & umbrella rentals do this because in addition to their standard rates, they charge a resort fee as well. At the Grand Beach Hotel, we do not charge a resort fee, because not all guests plan to use the beach chairs & umbrella rentals, etc. thus they should not be automatically charged for it. We pride ourselves on giving our guests the freedom of choosing the services they would like to use, as opposed to enforcing fixed, daily fees. We sincerely hope this will not affect your decision to join us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights in April as part of a business trip.
Very nice rooms and well appointed. 2 bathrooms and a separate living area, plus adequate storage and a balcony.
The decor was nice, and they are recarpetting the entire property which is also nice.
Couldn't fault the rooms and the staff were very helpful.
The only minor problem was that they had no european adapters (UK to US) available, so I had to buy one from the gift shop as I was desperate for charge.
We ate at the buffet breakfast, which was average. The pools and proximity to the beach were great, with plenty of loungers and pool towels available.
I would definitely stay here again as you could comfortably fit 4 adults in the standard size rooms.

Room Tip: Try to get an ocean facing room (although bay facing rooms are equally as nice a view!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Hollybest, we are glad you took the time to review our property as a result of your recent visit.
We are happy to learn of your satisfaction with the room accommodations and in-room amenities our property has to offer guests. Helpful and attentive staff is exactly what we strive to encourage among team members and are happy to learn this has been your experience with staff during your visit. We find it great that you have taken advantage of both the pool and beach areas and have enjoyed the time spent there as well as the complimentary towel service available.
We are thrilled to have won your loyalty and cannot wait to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewksbury, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend and it was wonderful. Rooms were beautiful and comfortable, the breakfast buffet was delicious, the pool area was very relaxing and the few requests we had to make (extra towels) were answered promptly by the gracious housekeeping staff. A particular thank you to Jacek, who went above and beyond to make our stay very memorable - we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Kalyn N, we appreciate your feedback and the top traveler rating you have given the Grand Beach Hotel.
We are always happy to learn that we have managed to deliver an exceptional experience to one of our guests. We find it very rewarding when reading of your satisfaction with the onsite room accommodations, pool area, and breakfast buffet offering. Thank you for sharing such kind words about Jacek; he is truly a great asset to our team and we are glad his above and beyond attitude has made your stay with us more memorable. Thank you for expressing an intention to return to property in the future as well. We would love to have you stay with us again as one of our repeat guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

It was our first stope in USA. I loved our suites which has side view of the sea and side view of the bay. Freindly staff. short access to the beach. The best breakfast in our entire trip specially the seating outdoor near the pool and under the palm trees.

Our room was very clean and specious and quite. One day I saw a man painting the white wall in the corridor so the hotel looks amazing whith white walls and carpet.

For sure we will visit this hotel again in the future and I recommend it to every one who wants to have a romantic vacation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Adora H, thank you for sharing this wonderful review of the Grand Beach Hotel.
We are glad you have chosen our property as your first stop in the USA and have been satisfied with this choice. It is great you have been pleased with our room accommodations and the wonderful beach and bay views they have to offer guests. We are pleased to read of the great experience you have had in your encounters with staff members, as we always try to encourage such service attitude amongst them.
We are happy you are willing to visit us again in the future and it would be our pleasure to greet you back onsite. Thank you for extending a recommendation of our property to other travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The grounds and lobby are very nice. The access to the beach is great. The rooms and upstairs interior need a serious overhaul. The rooms are dirty and worn and need to be redone. The white is not so white. The services products are extremely expensive as well.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Traveltotry, thank you for taking the time out of your day to give us your honest opinion on your most recent stay with us.
While we wish you had a better experience on property with us, it is feedback such as yours that helps us enhance the guest experience. We appreciate your positive feedback regarding the overall outlook of the lobby and grounds. It is also great you have enjoyed our beachfront location and the direct beach access from hotel premises it offers guests. It is unfortunate to read of your dissatisfaction with the level of cleanliness within your suite. We can assure you that our housekeeping department shampoos and treats all carpets on property on a regular basis. And because the all white décor within our room accommodations tends to be challenging at times, we do place efforts to replace all the carpets on property almost every year. We hope you would be happy to learn that we are currently in the process of carpet replacement at the hotel, so you may enjoy a fresh room outlook upon your eventual return visit. In regards to the products and services we offer onsite, we find it unfortunate that they have proved more on the expensive side. In this regard, we would like to advise you that in contrast to many properties in the area, at our hotel we do not charge guest resort fees, because not all guests plan to use all services and products we offer onsite. We pride ourselves on giving our guests the freedom of choosing the services they would like to use, as opposed to enforcing fixed daily fees.
Thank you again for providing us with your valuable and honest feedback. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back onsite again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Visited with girlfriends for a bachelorette party. We loved the suites and enjoyed our days on the beach. Beach food and beverage service was super slow, but we had a great time anyway. The location is okay, but well worth the value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear NYCTraveler2009_7, we appreciate you choosing the Grand Beach Hotel for such special occasion.
It is great you have enjoyed our beachfront location and the direct access to the beach it has to offer guests. We are also happy to read of your satisfaction with our suites. Please accept our apologies for the delayed service at the beach. We appreciate your feedback and would make sure to pass it on to our food and beverage department. We are glad to have provided you and your co-travelers with a good value for the money on this recent visit to our property. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Beach Hotel

Address: 4835 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Beach Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the style and tranquility of the new Grand Beach Hotel where Luxury and Comfort are within Reach! Discover a true gateway to paradise! A contemporary Miami Beach all-suite hotel on the ocean, the Grand Beach Hotel features luxurious accommodations, breathtaking ocean views, and easy access to world-famous beaches, attractions, restaurants, shopping malls, and nightspots. Book your Miami beachfront hotel reservations online today for our Best Rate Guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Loews Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Grand Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.