We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, service issues” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grand Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4835 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tripadvisor - 17% Savings
Ranked #43 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, service issues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Hotel appearance is beautiful, light interiors, quality materials, very nice and large rooms. Good beach location too, right on the beach. Nice pool area. However, it is a bit far from all Miami Beach activities such as shops and restaurants (which is a good thing when you want a quiet place, of course).
Hotel can improve its services though. Restaurant is quite limited, encountered rude staff, sloppy room cleaning, long waiting times to get service. None of it really bad (except one extremely rude waiter at the espresso bar), but noticable enough to make this a minus point

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear FD_GSO, thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit to the Grand Beach Hotel.
We are thrilled to read you have enjoyed our property’s overall décor and spacious, all-white room accommodations. It is great the variety of amenities on property, such as the availability of two pool areas and the direct access to the beach from hotel premises has proved convenient and has made your stay with us even more enjoyable. You are correct to mention that our property is located further north from South Beach allowing for a great, quiet, and relaxing beach vacation. At the same time, our location provides an easy and fast access to all the action South Beach has to offer. We are only a 10-minute taxi or car ride away from South Beach. Furthermore, there is a bus stop available right across the street from the hotel offering another alternative for fast and affordable transportation. Please accept our sincerest apology for not living up to your service expectations. At the Grand Beach Hotel, greeting guests with hospitality and attentive service is a top priority for us. In this regard, we greatly appreciate the feedback you have extended of the efficiency in service in our food and beverage outlets and housekeeping. You may rest assured that your comments will be directed to the attention of the appropriate departments. We will do our best to improve upon your feedback, so you may enjoy the best service possible upon your return visit to our property in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,100
    909
    261
    123
    113
See reviews for
980
840
44
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are clean spacious beds comfy but pillows are terrible. We stayed in a double bay view suite. Room 1319. 2 girls for a getaway.
Elevators were slow, long waits.
Beach is amazing! Never had a problem getting a good spot. yes, umbrella and chairs are 10 each per day. 30 a day for 2 people. But it was tge only place that we enjoyed..The adult pool is absolutely terrible! Not what they show in pics. Not attractive. No shaded areas or even fake trees to dress it up and make it a little tropical. and its Extremely hot. basically a pool with concrete over looking a loud busy street. Always kids there although they are not suppose to. We called down for manager to remove them but never happened. Happy hour is completely lame. Not good deals at all! they could really make this a fun area for adults if they tried.
The main pool is infested with rude Europeans and millions of kids. Peeing in the pool, eating in the pool. Disgusting. Wouldn't go in if u paid me and it was completed shaded. There is a decent bar at this pool. Drinks are expensive ($15)
Food is not bad. Always enjoyed our breakfast. Wait staff in restuarant is great. However, the bar staff at main pool, the girls are rude they seem very unhappy with their job, never a smile just annoyed.
There is no action here. U must take a cab or bus but we took can to south beach where there is food/bars. no place to walk and get bottled water wine beer, which would save a lot of money. If u can do that. We didn't and paid for it.
Overall nice clean hotel, but filled with zillions of kids, and Europeans which are arrogant and rude. I would not return.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Dp2406, we are glad you took the time to express your concerns with your recent stay onsite.
We appreciate your positive feedback regarding the size, comfort, and cleanliness of your room accommodation on property. It is great you have enjoyed the time spent at the beach accessible directly from hotel premises. There is a surcharge for the beach chair and umbrella rentals; however, in contrast to other properties in the area, our hotel does not charge guests resort fees as not all guests plan to use the beach chairs and umbrella rentals; thus they should not be automatically charged for it. We pride ourselves on giving our guests the freedom of choosing the services they would like to use, as opposed to enforcing fixed, daily fees. We are terribly sorry to read of your impression and experience at both of our pool areas. The 7th floor adults only pool area does provide for more sunlight throughout the day, which is in general compensated by the ocean breeze constantly going through this pool area as it is located on a higher floor. It is unfortunate you were disappointed by our Happy Hour offerings and the service quality at the first level pool bar. We appreciate your feedback and will direct it to our food and beverage department, so these issues may be addressed and improved upon. Even though our property is located further north from South Beach, our area does offer upscale dining located mainly in the nearby hotels. There are also a couple of casual dining choices located on 41st street, which is 15-minute walking distance away from our hotel. A couple of blocks down the street from us starts the Miami Beach boardwalk, where you may also find some restaurants and cafes. Also on 41st street there is a 24-hour Walgreens, which is perfect if you need to purchase some necessities and groceries.
We are very sorry that we have been unable to meet your expectations and needs in our pool areas and in the quality of service at some of our outlets on property. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back, if you are willing to give our hotel another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I checked out as soon as I could, It started badly there was a Que to the drive way as they only had 1 person dealing with cars. The entrance to the Hotel did not inspire. The 24 hour room service wasnt as they would not answer the phone. I eventually spoke to front dest and ! hour later my tea and toast arrived. The breakfast area was a war zone, surly greeting staff and then poor selection of food and waiting staff that dont speak english. I asked to move as I had been placed against a wall with kids bumping into me to get at the table next to me, thet did not accomadate this so I left. The internet service failed.I was supposed to stay for 3 nights and I checked out after 1 night and the breakfast experinece. This hotel obviously attracts the wrong type of people and I guess there is a reason for that.

Room Tip: Dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Dickyhell, we appreciate you taking the time out of your day to give us your opinion on your most recent stay with us.
First, we would like to thank you for your feedback. While we wish we had managed to provide you with a better experience during your visit, it is feedback such as yours that we learn from and use to improve. Please accept our apology for the delay in valet parking upon your arrival. There are certain peak hours throughout the day when we have many guests arriving and departing from property at similar times; however, we can assure you that there is not a point of the day when we have only one valet attendee on duty servicing guests. We would also like to extend our sincere apology for failing to provide you with the efficient and attentive service you expect and deserve as a guest of ours when ordering room service or joining our breakfast serving. We appreciate the feedback you have extended and you may rest assured that our food and beverage department will be notified of your experience, so they may follow up accordingly and ensure improvement in these outlets.
Dear Dickyhell, at our property we work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience and it is apparent that in this case we fell short, for which we sincerely apologize. We are thankful for your feedback and would appreciate it if you give us a chance to earn back your trust.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I Have been to Miami several times, and I can say this is one of the best Hotels yet. Its beautiful, clean, and family oriented. Away from south beach but not to far to travel there. The rooms are great, and the view from the balcony is out of this world. The main problem I had was the staff. The staff was HORRIBLE, RUDE, DISRESPECTFUL,JUST PLAIN NASTY. I had to speak with the Manager on several different occasions. The management team must have not been addressing the issue, because it kept happening. The valet staff was very friendly, but at times it did take maybe 15mins before they were able to get to your car if you were coming or going. My advice to you would be if you are leaving out to call ahead so they can have your car ready.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear 192Tina, thank you for informing us of your experience during your stay.
We are pleased you have found our hotel as one of the best among the properties you have visited in Miami. We are glad you have been satisfied with your room accommodation and the gorgeous view it has to offer from its private balcony. We agree with you completely regarding our beachfront location. Even though it is further north from South Beach, it does provide direct beach access from hotel premises and an easy and fast access to the South Beach area as well. While we are happy you were mostly satisfied with your experience on property with us, we are sorry to read of your disappointment with our staff. At the Grand Beach Hotel, we strive to greet and service all our guests in a hospitable and detail oriented manner and since the experience you have described from your encounters with staff members contradict our property’s service standards, we will definitely direct your feedback to the appropriate department and ensure this issue is addressed onsite, so you may enjoy a better experience in this regards upon your return visit. In order to avoid wait times at valet in the future, we would encourage you to call and request your car at least 5 minutes prior to coming downstairs.
We appreciate your feedback and business and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel offers excellent value, in many way the hotel is relatively simple, however, what it may seem to lack in Wow factor it more than makes up for in service and quality.

The staff are courteous and efficient, rooms are spacious and comfortable.

The restaurant Chez Gaston produces high quality food, Steaks are cooked to perfection; try getting that in Australia! T Bone Steak served with a small salad and baked potatoe can only work if the steak is perfect, the focus is on the steak, not concealing poor meat etc by covering it in sauce and excessive garnish. This is steak perfection!

The Lobby bar is unusual in design and the lovely Julia does a wonderful job of taking care of the customers. Tip: have a Mojito hey have two, theya re better than thoseserved at the Fontainbleau!

Room Tip: 1201, great views great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Dave T, we are glad you have reviewed your experience at the Grand Beach Hotel.
On property, we truly value and encourage courteous and efficient customer service; thus, it is very rewarding to read of your excellent experience with staff members throughout the hotel. Thank you for pointing out the service attitude of Julia, as she is a great asset to our team and we are happy her ability to take care of customers has made your stay onsite more enjoyable. It is great our spacious and comfortable room accommodations have lived up to your expectations. We are extremely pleased with your feedback regarding our food and beverage outlets. We have just recently started implementing some improvements in this department and are happy to hear such great feedback directly from our guests.
Thank you sincerely once again, for the time you have spared to write your review. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the Grand Beach Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swinton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The minute you walk through the door.... open your wallet. The valet parking ($29 a day) are on to you straight away. Despite having my arm in a sling and my husband explaining that he needed to help me to the room with our beach bags, he was warned that he could only park outside for 10mins or he would get a ticket. Parking generally in Miami beach is pretty expensive, but as we had done all our touring and didnt need our car for a few days, we parked it slightly outside the area (20 min walk) in a free parking zone. On one occasion we wondered downstairs to the lobby bar for a last drink before bed. We asked to see the wine list and was informed in no uncertain terms that we were only allowed 1 drink because after that the barmaid was closing. We did only want 1 drink, but not in that kind of atmosphere. We left and had a private more friendly drink in our room. Overall, we were constantly being made to feel like the staff were doing us a "favour" for providing a service we were paying for. Despite our staffing issues, we did enjoy the size of the rooms and the views. The pool area was very relaxing although one part was completely in the shade from around 3pm so the other areas were very popular and quite difficult to get a sunlounger in. It is also just a few steps from the beach but sunloungers were $30 dollars a day for 2 beds and umberella (ching ching). I have rated this hotel as overall "very good" but this is because of the facilities and definitely not because of the price or unfriendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear basherbates, thank you for sharing your recent experience on property with us.
While we are happy to read of your joy and satisfaction with our onsite facilities, such as our spacious room accommodations, the beautiful views they have to offer, the two separate pool areas, and the direct beach access from hotel premises, we would like to express our concern regarding your dissatisfaction with the overall service on property. Providing attentive and hospitable guest service is a top priority for us and we would like to apologize if the service rendered to you during your visit in any of our hotel’s outlets has been anything less than that. We definitely take your feedback seriously and will direct your comments regarding the staff service to the appropriate departments. We are very sorry to read of your disappointment with the pricing of certain services offered on property. In this regard, we would like you to know that typically, other hotels that offer complimentary beach chairs & umbrella rentals, valet parking do this because in addition to their standard rates, they charge a resort fee as well. At the Grand Beach Hotel, we do not charge a resort fee, because not all guests plan to use the beach chairs & umbrella rentals, valet parking etc. thus they should not be automatically charged for those. We pride ourselves on giving our guests the freedom of choosing the services they would like to use, as opposed to enforcing fixed, daily fees. Even though valet parking fees are a standard for Miami Beach due to the limitation in space; we do hope you will be happy to learn that our property charges one of the lowest valet parking fees in the area.
We would like to assure you that we always strive to provide our guests with the best experience possible in all aspects of their stay from facilities to service; therefore, we would definitely do our best to improve upon your comments, so your next stay with us is even more enjoyable for you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

very nice room - this is an all suite hotel
beautiful view of beach & atlantic ocean
two seperate pool areas including an adults only pool
very comfortable bed with awesome egyptian cotton sheets

had to wait in the lobby for 2 1/2 hours for my room to be ready
hotel is not within walking distance to anything

Room Tip: book an ocean front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Jennifer W, thank you for your review of the Grand Beach Hotel.
Our property is indeed an all-suite hotel and we are happy to learn you have enjoyed your room accommodation, the beautiful views of the beach and ocean it offers from its private balcony and the comfort of the bedding within your suite. We are glad you have taken the time to visit both pool areas on property and have been satisfied with what they had to offer. We apologize you had to wait for your room. The official check-in time at the hotel is 4pm and even though our front desk is happy to check-in guests, who have arrived early, they do not always have the capability of doing so, as early check-in solely depends on the availability and readiness of the room type reserved. We do try to make such wait time, if required for early guests, as smooth as possible by offering guests to store their luggage and by providing guests with towel cards so they may enjoy the pool and beach while waiting. Our hotel is indeed not walking distance from the action of South Beach; however, this area is fast and easy to access from our hotel via a taxi or a bus. We also always try to recommend guests to take advantage of the concierge desk service, as our concierges can suggest different dining options and activities available in our area as well.
We would like to thank you once again for your review. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Beach Hotel

Address: 4835 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Beach Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the style and tranquility of the new Grand Beach Hotel where Luxury and Comfort are within Reach! Discover a true gateway to paradise! A contemporary Miami Beach all-suite hotel on the ocean, the Grand Beach Hotel features luxurious accommodations, breathtaking ocean views, and easy access to world-famous beaches, attractions, restaurants, shopping malls, and nightspots. Book your Miami beachfront hotel reservations online today for our Best Rate Guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Grand Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.