We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel was Fabulous” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grand Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grand Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4835 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tripadvisor - 17% Savings
Ranked #44 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The hotel was Fabulous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We really couldn't have asked for a nicer hotel. When you pull up, the bellman/doorman are eager to help. The lobby was all done in creams and white, mostly marble, but very warm feeling. There was a great recessed bar in the lobby, further back, a small ice cream and breakfast bar, a comfortable area with nice sofa's to sit and read, and behind that, a decent size restaurant and bar. Then, out the door to the beautiful pool area and walkway to the beach. Our room was just perfect. It had a separate sitting area with a small,but full, bath, a sofa and large flat screen. In between the sitting area and sleep area was another good size full bath, and a wet bar with a fridge. The sleep area had another large flat screen with plent of closet area. Our balcony overlooked the adult pool with a partial view of the canal. The only complaints I can think of was the cost of parking and the $15 drink at the pool bar for a 6 oz. weak drink. Highway robbery! Overall, it was great and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Tracy S, we appreciate the time you have taken to share your most recent experience at our property.
We are happy to learn you have had a joyful visit at the Grand Beach Hotel. It is rewarding to read of your positive encounter with staff members, as we strive to encourage prompt and friendly service in all our outlets on property. Thank you for extending such detailed and correct description of our first level amenities to other travelers. We sincerely hope you have managed to spend and enjoy some time at the Lobby Bar, Espresso Bar and in our Chez Gaston restaurant. It is great you explored both the first level family pool area and the beach area directly accessible from the pool. We are pleased our room accommodation has lived up to your expectations and has satisfied your needs for comfort with its two full bathrooms, two televisions, separate seating area, and wet bar with refrigerator. We are very sorry to learn of your disappointment with the price of valet parking. This service is unfortunately a standard for Miami Beach due to the limitation in space; however, we are proud to be offering one of the lowest valet parking rates in the area. And in regards to drinks on property, we can definitely recommend you take advantage of our 7th floor Sunset Bar happy hour on your next visit.
Thank you once again for sharing your experience. We are looking forward to welcoming you back on property on your next visit to Miami Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,271 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    985
    821
    238
    117
    110
See reviews for
810
724
38
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We are currently staying at the hotel, one day into a six day stay, and looking like we are going to regret staying here. The rooms are very nice, no real complaints, unless you are a tea drinker as they only have have a coffee machine in the room, not even a kettle if you bring your own. The foyer bar has zero atmosphere and the chez gastro restaurant is a series of tables that look like they have been placed in the corner or a vast empty room... Is that really a restaurant ?

We flew from uk yesterday and was tired out, so had dinner in the restaurant. Two drinks, a plate of fish and beans and some pasta - $101, that seems expensive to me. Breakfast was a similar affair at $55. I agree with others that staff are not very helpful, it's difficult when you arrive at a hotel for the first time to find your feet and know how things work, we were shown to our table and left there, we had to go and ask what we were supposed to do... Food is of an average standard, certainly not $55 worth, and atmosphere/ setting leaves a lot to be desired. Oh, and they don't know what brown sauce is!? Really? they didn't even bring ketchup...

There is no hotel guide in our room, not sure of the others, so knowing when/what/how becomes a task for reception.

Maybe I am being overly critical, or maybe compared to the general Miami standard this is a great hotel, but it really is very average with good rooms and no communal ambiance. I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: We have a bay room on 17th floor as we wanted to see Miami, not the sea, which we have seen lots of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear MrMcGoohan, thank you for taking the time out of your vacation to write a review of your current experience at our property.
While we are glad, you are enjoying your suite, we are sorry to read of your overall disappointment with our hotel so far. We do provide guests with a coffee machine and complimentary coffee condiments within the room. If you would prefer tea, you may use the machine in the room to warm the water you would need for tea. It is unfortunate, our lobby bar and restaurant have not been to your taste and their ambience has not met your needs and expectations. We are sorry to read you have found the pricing in the restaurant to be more on the expensive side. Please feel free to take advantage of our Espresso Bar located in the lobby and its food and beverage offerings as well as the freshly made Sushi we serve at our 7th floor Sunset Bar. Furthermore, we may definitely suggest you visit our concierge desk located in the lobby, as our knowledge concierge staff can assist you in finding alternative dining options. You are correct that we do not offer a paper hotel guide; our hotel guide is integrated into one of the channels on your in-room TV. Please do not hesitate to dial zero from the room and ask our guest service agents for assistance in finding it.
We are truly sorry and apologetic for any inconveniences you have experienced. We sincerely hope you would better enjoy the reminder of your stay with us. We would be happy if you decide to give our property another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have just come back from a 5 night stay at the Grand Beach Hotel. I was amazed to find that the cream & white colour scheme seemed to be holding up fairly well, and overall we all liked the hotel a lot. First impressions made by the receptionist checking us in were not overwhelmingly pleasant, as she couldn't seem to find her smile, and went on a long justification about why adjoining rooms and rooms on the same floor are not guaranteed. However she did find us two rooms opposite each on the same floor, which was perfectly acceptable. The rooms are lovely - large, spacious, airy and in very calm neutral tones. I liked the layout a lot - we had a King bed overlooking the lagoon facing north. It had a side view of the ocean. The beds were very comfortable, and I found the pillows perfectly fine. I did notice that the towels might have been a little larger and more luxurious and that there were only four bath towels which might have been annoying if you were a family of four in that room.
The regular size fridge was a welcome addition, as was the bar sink. I thought there was plenty of storage. A couple of extra glasses would have been useful.
It was in a great location right on the beach and the two pools and two hot tubs were never very busy, even though the hotel was almost fully booked.
On the ground floor, the expresso bar was very useful for lunches and snacks (two sweet boys run it), and in the main foyer bar, Juan Carlos made a mean cocktail, once you had got over the initial shock of having the bar right by the entrance.
We ate in Chez Gaston twice - once at lunch - perfectly reasonable, and once for dinner, not so reasonable. The ambiance is terrible as they keep the ceiling lights on quite brightly and my filet mignon, at $34 was slighly overcooked and not great. I think they could do better.
It is approx a $10 cab ride to Lincoln road, but there was never an issue getting cabs to and from the hotel. We also rented Decobikes from the Lincoln Road location and cycled home depositing the bikes at the Edenrock hotel 3 blocks south.Tips like this from the hotel would have made our stay more interesting from the start, instead of finding things out towards the end of our stay.
We would definitely stay here again, the location was good, the rooms were great and we thought the price very good for what they offered.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Rosiecreek, thank you sharing your most recent experience at the Grand Beach Hotel.
We are glad to learn that you and your family have overall enjoyed your 5-night stay with us. It is great our room accommodations have lived up to your expectations with their size, spaciousness, overall décor, layout, and comfortable bedding. The side rooms on property do offer partial views of the ocean and the bay from their private balconies and we are happy you have enjoyed these views. It is nice you have been pleasantly surprised by the refrigerator we offer as an in-room amenity in all our suites. We do understand guests’ need for additional towels and/or glasses within the suite and we would definitely encourage you to request these based upon your needs through our guest service agents or housekeeping by calling directly from your room. Our housekeeping department staff would gladly accommodate such needs for you during your stay. On property, we do strive to provide attentive and friendly service to guests; we are therefore sorry to read of your disappointment with the service you have received at the front desk upon check-in. It is great you have taken advantage of the Espresso & Lobby bar, both of which located in the lobby. We are glad you have overall enjoyed your experience in Chez Gaston upon lunch and dinner. We apologize if the filet mignon was not prepared to your taste. We would definitely strive to do better next time you visit us. It is pleasing to read our beachfront location has proved convenient for you during your stay. The first level family pools are indeed a great spot to enjoy the sun with the family, especially as they are heated and also offer two hot tubs. Our property is indeed located further north from South Beach; however, this area is still easily and fast accessible from property via taxi or by bus. As you have mentioned, taxis are always available in front of the hotel for guests’ convenience. Decobikes are indeed a great and affordable way to explore the area, especially if you take advantage of the Miami Beach Boardwalk, which starts a couple of blocks down from our property and continues all the way down to South Beach. On your next visit to property, we definitely recommend you to take advantage of our concierge desk located on the lobby level of the hotel, as our knowledgeable concierges would be able to assist you in planning your vacation and assist you in finding interesting activities and sightseeing opportunities the area has to offer.
Thank you once again for your review. We are happy to have won your loyalty and would be happy to greet you back onsite again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel was great overall.

Beach:
The beach in front of the hotel is beautiful. It is clean and the water is a beautiful teal color. There is a charge to use umbrellas/chairs from the hotel. No drink service on the beach either but you can bring drinks onto the beach from the bar by the pools.

Pools:
There are 2 pools and 2 hot tubs near the beach entrance. They are pretty much completly covered in shade by the palm trees and have children there. There is outdoor seating and a bar near the pools. The restaurant by the pools has good food and drinks. The service is a little slow and the menu is a little pricey. The pool on the 7th floor is great. No children, lots of sun, 2 hot tubs, and a heated pool.

Room:
I was in a bay view suite. The room is a good size. It has a separate living room area with a large pull out sofabed. There is also a balcony in the room, which had an awesome view of the beach. I was in a bay view suite but we have a partial oceanview. The room had 2 bathrooms. One was larger than the other but both are full bathrooms. The room had lots of closet space, as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Mnk29, thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Grand Beach Hotel.
We are pleased you have had an overall nice and joyful experience on property. It is great you have enjoyed our beachfront location and the direct access to a beautiful beach area it has to offer our guests. The beach chair and umbrella rentals are an additional service we offer on property, which comes at an extra charge; however, we are one of the few hotels in the area, which do not charge guests fixed daily resort fees; instead we prefer giving our guests the freedom of choosing which services they would like to take advantage of on any given day. You are absolutely correct to mention that guests may bring drinks from the pool bar to the beach area. When it comes to the pool area, there are two pool areas available on property, both of which are heated. The first level pool is the family pool area, which is more shaded by landscape and tends to get busier. We are glad you have enjoyed the pool bar at this pool level as well as the food and beverages our restaurant has to offer in its outdoor seating area. As you have mentioned, we do have a second heated pool area on property. It is located on the 7th floor and is limited to adults only. We are happy our bay view suite has proved suitable to your taste and needs with its spaciousness, lots of closet space, and in-room amenities, such as the separate seating area and two full bathrooms. We could not agree more with you that the private balcony in this room offers for a great partial view of both the bay and the ocean.
We appreciate your feedback and business and are looking forward to welcoming you back onsite soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This place is terrible. The staff appear untrained and disinterested. The service is non-existent. Doormen are sarcastic and more interested in goofing off with each other. Concierge was just flat out rude. Front Desk manager just stands there ignoring guests when there was a long line to check in and she could have pitched in (or at least be apologetic to set the tone). One day I had a quick 5 second question, so went directly to her to miss the long line that is always there, she looked at me as though she couldn't believe I had the audacity to address her directly (remember she was just standing there). Some steamed carrots for my son from room service took an act of congress and talking with two managers. Another room service order actually took my wife going down to the restaurant because the operator told her "they were out of pasta" when they weren't, later informed "we're just told to say that". Bottom line - there is a lot of demand for talented and trained people in Miami Beach, this place can't attract those people and the management does not appear interested in making their current people better at their jobs. If you are used to good service - Four Seasons, Ritz, JW, W - then just pay the extra and stay at that kind of place, you will not be happy here. A voicemail to the general manager, as predicted, has gone unreturned ....and therein lies the problem.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear David A, we sincerely appreciate that you took the time to express your concerns with your recent stay.
At our property, it is our top priority to provide all guests with an exceptional and attentive service; therefore, we would like to apologize, if the service you have experienced during your visit has been anything less than that. We take our guests’ feedback seriously; therefore, we have notified our front office and food & beverage departments of your comments regarding your experience with the concierge service desk and room service. Our property’s General Manager did in fact reach out to you in an attempt to respond to the problem he thought you were experiencing at our hotel. We would like to assure you that all of our staff members undergo not only a serious hiring process, but also continuous training process to ensure that our property’s service standards are maintained. In that regard, we do appreciate your feedback as it definitely helps us to enhance the guest experience on property.
Thank you again for your review and we hope you shall give our property the chance to gain back your trust upon your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We initially made reservations on South Beach but were advised to move our stay to the Grand Beach Hotel instead. Great call. This place is classy, nice beach, and with good size rooms. Will definitely be back here the next time I need to be in town. Only downside... we had a car charger taken from our car by the hotel's valet service. When we reported it to the valet staff, they practically begged us to tell hotel management since they were tired of receiving these reports about theft by one of their own. I hate to even have to mention this since the check-out staff was wonderful in dealing with it and removed all valet charges from the bill, but Trip Advisor clients need to be aware so that they don't leave something in the car. Hope the hotel's management deals with this soon. Will definitely be back and will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Go high for best views of the ocean! The elevators are new, quick and silent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear MSPPJA, thank you for taking the time to inform us of your recent experience at the Grand Beach Hotel.
It is great to read you have enjoyed the overall ambience our property has to offer, as well as the nice beach area accessible directly from hotel premises and the good size suites we provide to guests. We are pleased you have chosen to stay with us and have not been disappointed with that choice. We are very sorry to read of the incident with your car charger and are glad our on duty front office management has dealt accordingly and in a timely manner with the issue, you have experienced. On property, we do advise all guests, who are using the valet parking service, to take all valuables with them and avoid leaving them inside the car. This policy is listed on all valet parking tickets we hand out to guests as well. We appreciate your feedback and will direct it to the attention of our front office management staff.
Thank you for giving our property the top traveler rating. We are happy to have won your loyalty and cannot wait to have the opportunity of greeting you back onsite next time you visit Miami Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Only stayed one night before catching an early flight in the morning. Wish we could have stayed longer. The room was large, clean, comfortable and offered a beautiful view of the ocean. Arrived early, room was not ready but we were able to use the pool and beach area until we were able to get into our room. Pools are heated and the kids enjoyed swimming after sunset. Able to take a long walk on the beach...beautiful!!

Room Tip: Ocean view room was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Colleen F, thank you for taking the time to write a review of your most recent stay at the Grand Beach Hotel.
We are glad you have enjoyed your oceanfront room accommodation and the spaciousness, cleanliness, and comfort it has to offer. Our oceanfront suites truly provide for a beautiful view of the ocean and beach from their private balconies. Even though we cannot guarantee early check-ins on property, as they solely depend upon our availability at the time, we do strive to provide guests the maximum comfort possible by supplying them with towel cards for the pool and beach area and also encouraging them to store their luggage at no charge with our concierge desk. You are absolutely correct that all three pools on property are heated, which truly makes for an enjoyable swim. It is great to read you have taken advantage of the beach area accessible directly from hotel premises and allowing for a great, long beach walk.
We would like to thank you once again for your feedback and we sincerely hope you would choose our property again in the future for a longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Beach Hotel

Address: 4835 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Beach Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the style and tranquility of the new Grand Beach Hotel where Luxury and Comfort are within Reach! Discover a true gateway to paradise! A contemporary Miami Beach all-suite hotel on the ocean, the Grand Beach Hotel features luxurious accommodations, breathtaking ocean views, and easy access to world-famous beaches, attractions, restaurants, shopping malls, and nightspots. Book your Miami beachfront hotel reservations online today for our Best Rate Guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Loews Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Amex, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Grand Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.