We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4835 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
TripAdvisor- Save 17%
Ranked #46 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Grand Beach Hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. The hotel is very clean - we had an ocean view room and had an excellent view to both sides (ocean and bay). The room is very large.

The staff is very accommodating. LOVED the fresh sushi. If you are a fan, a 'must try' is the Dragon Roll! We watched the chef preparing it, and she takes a tremendous amount of pride in her work and it is an edible work of art! Service in the dining room at breakfast was a bit slow, but nothing too concerning.

Had seen reviews that the food here was expensive, but we did not find this to be the case.

We will most definately stay here again should we find ourselves in Miami Beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Pariciah, thank you for reviewing the Grand Beach Hotel and for giving our property the top traveler rating.
We are always happy to learn when our guests have had a joyful stay with us. It is great our spacious and clean guest rooms have proven comfortable to you and you have been able to enjoy the excellent view of both the bay and ocean their private balconies have to offer. The fresh sushi is a fairly new offering on property served in our 7th floor, Sunset Bar. We are pleased you have had such joy in regards to both food and service quality when trying it out. We appreciate your feedback on the speed of the service upon breakfast and would direct it to the attention of the appropriate department. We are glad you have found our overall food pricing to be reasonable.
Thank you again for your wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and appreciate your business and feedback, which will certainly be passed along to the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,316
    1,121
    327
    143
    126
See reviews for
1,201
985
55
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melfort, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Just returned home! The room was beautiful and spacious! 2 tvs, and 2 bathrooms! Loved the view from our balcony - the bay to one side and the ocean to the other! Service was great and special mention goes to the concierge!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear RichelleRogers, thank you for choosing to stay with the Grand Beach Hotel and for taking the time to review our property.
We are pleased to read of your great experience onsite. We are happy our spacious, all-white room accommodations with two full bathrooms and two televisions have met your needs and expectations. The beautiful views of both the bay and the ocean, which open up from the balconies available in the majority of rooms on property are truly an added value to any guest experience. At the Grand Beach Hotel we do strive to greet all our guests in a friendly, attentive, and hospitable manner; it is therefore rewarding to read of your positive experience with staff members on property. It is great you have taken advantage of the concierge desk service offered on property and have been left satisfied.
We would like to thank you once again for your review and are looking forward to having the pleasure of greeting you back onsite in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I found this hotel by researching the area we wanted to stay in and reading reviews about several properties. Since we were traveling with children, I knew staying somewhere too trendy was out of the question. However, we wanted to be in a nice area and be comfortable. This hotel was perfect for us. The location was great because you could walk to both North Beach and South Beach and being on Collins Avenue, you have a nice view of water from the front and the back of the property. Our room offered a very spacious balcony and view of the ocean. Unlike some other hotels just a few doors down, you don't have to cross a boardwalk to access the beach. It's attached right to the pool area. You don't have to fiddle with finding a card key or anything. You just walk right out. The hotel offers chairs and umbrellas for a fee. I'd advise making the most of this by using them as long as you can. We paid, but were only there a short time, so it was kind of wasteful. There is plenty of space to simply put a towel down on the sand and just enjoy the water. We were thankful to have been checked in to our room several hours earlier than originally expected. Knute at the front desk was awesome. We ordered room service and were surprised by how reasonably priced it was. The bar staff at the pool are a little slow and the food is expensive for what you get. Again, this is only by the pool. I'd suggest getting gelato just inside the hotel instead. My children really enjoyed that. The room was spacious with an additional half bath and two televisions. Great for staying with kids. It's unfortunate previous guests in our particular room took pens to the beautiful white couch and the carpet was a little worn, but overall, there was nothing really to criticize. We had a really great time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Defreitasgirl, thank you for choosing to stay at the Grand Beach Hotel and for taking the time to review your recent visit to our property.
We could not be happier to read of your excellent experience on property. You are absolutely correct to mention that our hotel offers great facilities and in-room amenities suitable for a comfortable family vacation. We are glad you found our beachfront location convenient, as it does provide for direct beach access from hotel premises and is, as you have mentioned, in close proximity to both North Beach and South Beach. We are pleased you have enjoyed your spacious suite with two full bathrooms and two televisions, as well as the beautiful views, which open up from the private balcony. It is always great to read when our staff members have provided the attentive and friendly service we encourage throughout property for all our customers. In this sense, thank you for the great feedback on Knute, he is truly a great asset to our team. We sincerely apologize there were some minor critiques in regards to stains on furniture or carpet. Our housekeeping team always does their best to provide flawless and clean room conditions; unfortunately, it does sometimes happen that they come across an impossible to remove stain. We hope this has not affected your otherwise excellent experience on property. Thank you for extending such great advise to other travelers to enjoy the beach area for a day on our beach chairs or for a small part of the day by lying directly on the beach and enjoying the view. We are glad you have experienced a multitude of the food choices we offer on property, such as room service and our gelato station and have enjoyed them during your stay. We do appreciate your feedback in regards to our pool bar service and would most definitely forward it to the attention of the appropriate department.
We sincerely appreciate the top traveler rating you have given the Grand Beach Hotel. It would certainly be our pleasure to welcome you and your family back on property next time you visit Miami Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed here one night after our cruise. Got there early morning and was upset to find out that our room wouldn't be ready for several hours. I know check-in says 4pm but to tell me it is impossible to have a room ready before 4pm when we saw numerous people check out in a half hour of getting there at 8am seems likepoor customer service to me. They offered to call me when the room was ready but did not get a call until 3pm. We got bored waiting and left the hotel on the electric scooters they had. Best part about the hotel! $40 for three hours, we went all over south beach and back. Traffic was bad but not a problem for us we just zipped right through on our bikes barely having to stop at all. Got back to the hotel and finally into our room. Huge rooms and so comfortable. We had a side room which was great we could see the ocean and the bay. Shower heads need replacing unless you like to shower with needles stabbing at you in a stream. Finally ready for bed that's when we saw BUGS! Small bugs crawling all over the nightable. We called the front desk and a guy came and wiped the bugs up and left. 10 minutes later MORE BUGS! Called again and this time after I said ther are still bugs she hung up on me so I wasn't sure if anyone else was coming. The second guy was great, he was so upset for us and promised to clean it all and apoligized over and over. After that they were gone. We checked out in the morning and I told the front desk about what happened and he said "oh". Don't think I will stay there again.

Room Tip: High floor side rooms give a great view of both the ocean and the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Canadiangold2010, thank you for taking the time out of your day to review your most recent stay with us.
At our property, even though we cannot guarantee early check-ins, we always strive to provide them to guests whenever we have the availability. We do understand you must have been tired after arriving at the hotel following your cruise; however, we would like to assure you that the only reason why you have not been able to check-in earlier than 3pm on the day of your arrival has been our availability at the time. We do have our check-out time set for 12pm, which explains the numerous check-outs you witnessed; unfortunately, after a check-out occurs, our staff still needs to clean the room entirely prior to checking in another guest. Another factor affecting early check-ins is the availability of the specific room type you have reserved. Many check-outs do not guarantee that the specific room type you have booked has been made available. We are glad you have taken advantage of the scooters we rent on property. They are truly a great way to commute throughout Miami Beach and better explore the area. It is nice to read you have been satisfied with your room’s spaciousness and comfort after check-in. It is great that the views offered from our side view rooms of both the bay and ocean have met your expectations and made your stay more enjoyable. We are sorry you have been disappointed with the showerheads within the room; we appreciate your feedback and will direct it to the appropriate department. We are sincerely sorry of the unpleasant experience you have had with the bugs you came across in your suite. Even though our property’s maintenance staff takes serious efforts to prevent such occurrences, Florida’s humidity and weather do provide favorable conditions for such appearances. We once again apologize for the inconvenience and are happy to learn our staff members have responded to your request and have managed to take control over the situation and eliminate the issue for you.
We do appreciate your feedback, as it helps us look for new ways to enhance the guest experience we therefore would like to thank you again for your review of the hotel and for sharing your experience. We sincerely hope the incident in your suite would not prevent you from choosing our property again, because we would be happy to have the opportunity of greeting you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

After reading a lot of reviews on area hotels, we chose Grand Beach because it was a bit further down from the craziness of South Beach. Ironically, it was the distance from the shopping and restaurants that was a disappointment! On paper, the distance doesn't look too bad, but in reality you can't walk to shopping, and maybe to a few restaurants---but not after dark for these two ladies. With weekend traffic on Collins Ave, a taxi to the Lincoln Rd. promenade was about $15-20; we did take the bus on one occasion, but it took 30+ minutes to go about 5 miles.

The hotel itself was very nice, just right for a long weekend. There are A LOT of kids at the pool, and dirty diapers in the bathrooms. We stuck to the beautfiul beach and adult pool on the 7th floor. Oddly, the bar at the adult pool was closed most of the time--which was inconvenient. No one enforces the "adult only" aspect of the pool, so the first day a guest had her screaming toddler there for several hours. The view from our oceanfront suite was perfect.

The staff we encountered were very friendly--especially at the coffee bar in the lobby. I do find it annoying that an 18% gratuity is included in everything--even the can of diet coke I purchased over the counter! The restaurant at the pool is average, at best. Very slow service and the food is just OK. We walked down the beach to the Eden Roc outdoor grille, and it was wonderful. The service there was impeccable--and the pool area and bar were way more impressive than Grand Beach. But of course, Eden Roc is in a different $$$ category :)

All in all, a great weekend and a nice hotel stay. If you don't mind paying for a taxi or have the patience to take the bus, the location won't be an issue.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Judy M, thank you for taking the time and reviewing our property after your recent stay with us.
While we are happy you have chosen our hotel for your trip to Miami Beach, we are sorry to read of your disappointment with our location. We are indeed located further north from South Beach, which provides for a more quiet and relaxing stay as you have mentioned. Even though, South Beach is a short distance away and is easily accessible from our property, it is not walking distance away from us. In general both the taxi and bus rides from the hotel to South beach take less time than what you have experienced. If you happened to stay with us over Boat Show weekend, it may explain the longer transit, because such events do create an unusual traffic in the Miami Beach area.
We are glad you have enjoyed our overall facilities as well as the view from your ocean front suite. The first floor, family pool area does encounter more family traffic; we therefore like to recommend our guests to take advantage of both the beach and the 7th floor, adults only tranquility pool, which provide for more relaxing time and great views. We do apologize for the inconvenience you might have experienced the first day at the pool. We strongly encourage guests in these situations to immediately notify our front office staff, so they may once again advise such guests of the adults only rule valid for the 7th floor pool. The bar at this level is now opening at 12pm on the weekends. For the reminder of the week, we do usually have the pool attendants take drink orders throughout the day.
At our hotel, we do strive to provide attentive and friendly service to all our guests; we are therefore happy to read you have experienced just that in your encounters with staff members. We are sorry you have been disappointed with the included gratuity fee. Our property is however visited by many foreign guests, who are not necessarily familiar with the gratuity standards established within the U.S. We are thankful for your comment and will direct it to the appropriate department.
We greatly appreciate the feedback you have provided and sincerely hope our location would not affect your decision to visit our property again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

... in every way! They sure live up to the slogan "affordable luxury" with great service, very friendly staff and lovely rooms. The hotel is located right on Miami Beach and only 10 minutes drive to South Beach. We had a lovely view of the Bay and even though the room was located next to the fitness room, it was very quiet. Our kids just loved the pools and the 20 seconds walk to the ocean!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Ulrikkruse, we would like to thank you for sharing your experience and for giving our property the top traveler rating.
We are pleased you have been satisfied with every aspect of your stay at the Grand Beach Hotel. We certainly strive to live up to our slogan “affordable luxury” and are glad you have experienced just that during your visit on property through our customer service, friendly staff attitude, and room accommodations. You are right on target in your description of our Miami Beach beachfront location, which is easily accessible and only a short drive or bus ride away from South Beach as you have mentioned. It is great to read you have enjoyed the view and quiet setting your onsite suite had to offer. The first floor family pool area allowing for a direct beach access is truly a great amenity for children to enjoy.
Thank you once again for your wonderful review. Now that you have experienced and enjoyed what Grand Beach Hotel has to offer, we would like to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The entire experience at this hotel was pleasant however, the service by the pool restaurant is terrible. On the first day we waited for over 20 minutes to be acknowedged until we decided to order our own food and drinks form the pool bar after being told by another table of six that they waited an hour to be served. We basically served ourselves even though we were part of the restaurant table. The next day during breakfast we had a similar experience although a little better. I do have to say that the rooms were great and very spacious. My only other complaint is the lack of upkeep in the hallways. All in all, I enjoyed this hotel and hope that they get their service issues straighted out because I would like to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Myddam, we are glad you took the time to review our property as a result of your recent stay with us.
While we are happy you have been pleased with your overall experience on property and have been satisfied with our spacious room accommodations, we are concerned with the feedback you have extended in regards to the restaurant service and hallway upkeep. We assure you that our property strives to maintain high maintenance standards throughout the entire hotel. It is our priority to provide each and every guest with attentive and friendly service and we would like to take the opportunity to apologize to you if you have received anything less than that during your visit. Your feedback is from great importance to us, as it helps us find ways to improve the guest experience. We will therefore immediately forward your feedback to the concerned departments.
Thank you once again for sharing your experience. We are pleased you have the intention to return on property and we will do our best to improve upon your feedback and provide you with an even more enjoyable experience next time you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Grand Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Beach Hotel

Address: 4835 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the style and tranquility of the new Grand Beach Hotel where Luxury and Comfort are within Reach! Discover a true gateway to paradise! A contemporary Miami Beach all-suite hotel on the ocean, the Grand Beach Hotel features luxurious accommodations, breathtaking ocean views, and easy access to world-famous beaches, attractions, restaurants, shopping malls, and nightspots. Book your Miami beachfront hotel reservations online today for our Best Rate Guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.