We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“roach in the bathroom” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grand Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 7 more sites!
Grand Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4835 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tripadvisor - 17% Savings
Ranked #44 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“roach in the bathroom”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I stayed for three nights for a conference nearby. Overall it's clean, quiet. However on the last day in morning I discovered a roach in the bathroom. It was running around the bathroom counter and I crushed it with the towel. I reported on checkout to the fron desk and ... "I'm so sorry, I will let the housekeeping know". I did fill out the hotel's feedback survey.
The free WiFi is slow and unstable. There is no option for wired internet.

Other than that, there is nothing wrong about the hotel. Luckily the bug showed up in the last day so that my overall stay at the hotel was relaxed and quiet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear M I, thank you for taking the time and leaving a review of your recent stay with us.
We are glad you have overall enjoyed your stay with us and have found our property as clean and quiet. We are terribly sorry to read of the cocoa roach issue you have experienced. We can assure you that our housekeeping department takes great precautions and maintenance on a regular basis to prevent such unpleasant happenings; unfortunately, our hotel is located directly on the beach, which taken into consideration together with the high humidity in Florida provides for favorable to cocoa roach conditions. The free WiFi is an amenity we offer throughout the entire property and strive to maintain its reliable and fast connection. We do indeed offer a wired internet alternative for our free Internet service in case guests experience issues with the connectivity. Should you have problems with the WiFi on future visits, you should definitely contact our guest service agents, so they can take action and send one of our IT specialists to your suite to assist you with the wired internet set-up.
We would like to thank you for your feedback as it is important to us. We apologize once again for the situation in your room. We sincerely hope you would be willing to give our hotel another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,287 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    996
    826
    238
    117
    110
See reviews for
816
730
38
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We reserved a one bedroom suite which was supposed to include a king sized bed in the bedroom and a pull out sofa bed in the living room. The pull out was totally unusable. We called up housekeeping for a blanket and there was no offer to create a usable bed. I complained to Diana, the front desk manager, and her response was that we had received such a good rate, she could only offer 2 coupons for breakfast. Well there were 4 people in the room, plus an additional 2 in another room, so no thankyou. We paid $429 for this room. Way too expensive for an usable bed and terrible sleep.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Dolceduet, thank you for taking the time to review our property.
We do appreciate the feedback you have provided after your stay with us. It is unfortunate you have been disappointed with the room accommodation booked. Even though we do provide the sofa sleepers within guest suites for additional guest comfort as needed, we cannot guarantee their sleep quality would be as good as a standard bed. We do however offer rooms on property, which come with two queen size beds or if more privacy and space is required we also offer two bedroom suites with a total of three beds in them- two queen size and one king size bed. We are sorry our front desk managers attempt to compensate for the inconvenience did not meet your expectations. We have tried to make up for the inconvenience by offering complimentary breakfast to the guests inconvenienced directly by the discomfort of the sofa sleeper. Unfortunately, we are unable to compensate guests for issues and inconveniences not experienced by them directly.
Thank you again for your review. We sincerely hope you would be willing to give our property another try in the future and experience some of the other suites we offer, which would better meet your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel. Nice and spacious rooms. We found it a bit pricey though consodering that they don't have too many things to offer. One just ok restaurant (the other one besides the adult pool is neglectable). Good access to the beach. Expensive beach chairs and valet services although I guess that applies for Miami in general.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Alejandrotl, thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.
We are glad you have enjoyed the spaciousness our room accommodations offer. It is great our property’s beachfront location and direct beach access have been to your liking. The beach chairs and umbrella rentals are an additional service we offer on property. Unlike other hotels, we do strive to give our guests the freedom to choose the services they would like to take advantage of while on property rather than impose a daily fixed charge/resort fee, which would require guests to pay for all services regardless of whether or not they are being used by the guests. You are correct to mention that valet parking fee is a standard for the Miami Beach area mainly due to limitation in space. We do hope however, you would be happy to learn our property charges one of the lowest valet parking fees in the area.
We would like to thank you for taking the time and leaving a review. We are looking forward to having the pleasure of greeting you back onsite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

From the outside it looks very plain but once inside the stylish hotel comes to life. The rooms are suites with the convenience of a fridge and sink.

When your jet lagged use the gym it's open 24 hours a day.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Dawn M, thank you for leaving such a great review of your visit on property.
We are glad our property’s overall modern design has been to your liking and taste. It is great our room accommodations have satisfied your needs and expectations with their additional seating area and in-room amenities, such as a small fridge and kitchenette area. The fitness center, as you have mentioned, is indeed one of the amenities we offer on property, which we maintain open 24-hours a day for additional guest comfort. It is also easily accessible with just your guest room key.
We appreciate the great feedback you have provided. We cannot wait to welcome you back on property next time you travel to Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I liked that it wasn't in South Beach, unlike some other reviews. Yes, it was inconvenient to not be able to walk to restaurants but the privacy and seclusion of the hotel vs. something in SB is a better trade off for me. We stayed here when we ran the Miami Marathon and we were surprised at the quality of the hotel. Beautiful facilities, great pool areas both in the ground floor and the 7th floor. We booked through a coupon site so I was surprised that they gave us a room on the 7th floor, making it incredibly convenient to go to the pool and see the view of the ocean. The food at the hotel restaurant was pretty ok. I thought it was incredibly safe, I've stayed on SB with rooms that have doors facing the street so I guess safety is different for everyone. The room was clean, comfortable and very spacious for 2 people. i loved having 2 bathrooms, just like at home. The only downside is that there was no microwave, just a small fridge. We travel with race-specific food so we just had to eat it cold. The staff made it a point to ask us how our race went after the marathon. All in all, I'd stay here again, which I can't say for any other South Florida accomodation I've stayed at.

Room Tip: 7th floor is convenient, but there were people coming in and out of the pool at night, so higher flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Scubabrown, thank you for this wonderful review. We appreciate the top traveler rating you have given our property.
We are glad you have been pleased with our hotel’s beachfront location. You are right on target to mention that our location provides for a quiet and relaxing vacation. Furthermore, South Beach is just a 10-minute car, taxi, or public bus ride away. We would like to congratulate you on your participation in the Miami Marathon and hope it went well. We are pleased to read you have enjoyed our property’s overall facilities and in particular the two pool areas available onsite- first level family pool area and 7th floor adults only, tranquility pool. We are happy you have enjoyed your suite on the 7th floor. Even though most of these rooms do not have a private balcony, they do offer an easy access to many amenities, such as the 7th floor pool, the fitness center, and the Sunset Bar. Thank you for the positive feedback on our restaurant’s quality of food and service. We are also glad you have felt comfort and security during your stay with us. It is great you have enjoyed our property’s spacious, clean, and comfortable room accommodations with 2 full bathrooms. Unfortunately, we truly do not provide microwaves within the suites and hope this has not caused you serious inconvenience. We are glad the attention our staff members have extended contributed to your pleasant experience on property.
It is great we have managed to win your loyalty. We cannot wait to welcome you back on property on your future trips to Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had a business meeting at Grand Beach Hotel in Miami Beach last week. The hotel rooms were wonderful, but the logistics for our meeting were not acceptable at all. The wireless access disconnected constantly or would not allow us to connect at all, and we were conducting our meeting across the internet for business partners in Germany to join our meeting. Needless to say, that did not work consistently enough to be feasible. That created a lot of frustration on the part of our meeting attendees in Germany. Then, our catering orders were not delivered in order for us to begin eating at the time we ordered, and on both dates of our meeting, our breakfast foods and beverages arrived incomplete and we had to ask for things to be delivered that were on our order and should have been fully delivered at the appointed time. This was very unacceptable! I would not recommend this hotel for a business meeting, which is unfortunate since their location and sleeping rooms are so nice.

Room Tip: As far as I know, all the rooms were fine, and the only noise I experienced was from other guests co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Rutherclark8731, thank you for taking the time and writing a review of your recent meeting at our property.
While we are glad, you have enjoyed our room accommodations and have found our beachfront location as suitable for a business meeting, we are sorry to read you were disappointed with our meeting services. Even though we provide the complimentary wireless connection throughout the property for guest use and comfort, we do strive to maintain fast and reliable connection. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience the WiFi’s working status has caused you. We do hope you have contacted our onsite IT specialists, so they could check for possible issues and suggest a resolution to the problem. We completely understand your frustration with the misunderstandings surrounding your catering orders, as we do know how important timing is during meetings. We would definitely bring your feedback to the attention of the appropriate departments for consideration and necessary correction.
We greatly appreciate your feedback and sincerely hope you would be willing to give our meeting and events facilities another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This hotel is not consistent and is far from great.The biggest problem was the safety . We were few friends traveled together and the first night when we went to the jacuzzi two completely naked guy came and they didn’t even stayed in the hotel. They came from the behind the wall to go to the baach!I That was too scary! We ran to the room !!The hotel was too noisy so we barely could sleep the frist two nights. Another problem It was far away from everything so we had to spend 30-40 dollors everyday to go to places. Th safe was broken the bathtub was clogged. My advise don’t waist your money for this expensive hotel. I traveled a lot and this is one of the worsth hotel I ever been.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Mandi K, thank you for providing us your honest feedback.
We are sorry to read of the accident you experienced at the pool during your first night on property. We sincerely hope you have informed our front office management for the happening, so they can take control over the situation. What you have described and experienced was definitely a form of trespassing and is unlawful and should have been brought to management’s attention on property immediately in order to be resolved accordingly. Our property’s beachfront location is indeed north from South Beach; however, there is a variety of transportation methods available to commute to and from the hotel. Catching a taxi is an option as well as taking advantage of the public transportation. Public buses cost $2 per person, run 24 hours a day, stop across the street from the hotel, and take you to South Beach in 10-15minutes. We could also suggest you to visit any of the dining options nearby hotels offer or 41st street, which is 15-minute walking distance away from the hotel and has a 24-hour grocery store as well as a couple of dining options. We apologize for the issue you have had with both the safe and the bathtub in your suite. We do ensure you however that our on-duty engineers would gladly assist with solving such issues and restoring your comfort in a timely manner.
It is unfortunate you have been disappointed with your recent stay with us. We sincerely hope you shall be willing to give our property another try in the future after considering the information we have provided to you. Thank you and we hope to see you onsite again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Beach Hotel

Address: 4835 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Beach Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the style and tranquility of the new Grand Beach Hotel where Luxury and Comfort are within Reach! Discover a true gateway to paradise! A contemporary Miami Beach all-suite hotel on the ocean, the Grand Beach Hotel features luxurious accommodations, breathtaking ocean views, and easy access to world-famous beaches, attractions, restaurants, shopping malls, and nightspots. Book your Miami beachfront hotel reservations online today for our Best Rate Guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Amex, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Grand Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.