We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4835 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
TripAdvisor- Save 17%
Ranked #46 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Centurion, South Africa
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Pretty Good but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Located directly on the beach which makes the hotel user-friendly this property is well placed on Miami Beach. The lobby is neat and attractive. We were on the 13th floor - the carpet in the passage on this floor is a good quality carpet but is rather filthy. This makes no sense as the hotels well appointed but the carpet in the passage is a let-down.

We were in a two bedroom suite which had a stark white thick-pile carpet that was spotlessly clean and very comforting under foot. Good bathrooms (two) completed the comfort amenities with a very comfortable king-sized bed.

Valet parking was used but is somewhat pricey; a guest was complaining to the front desk manager on the one day due to a new scratch that was due to the valet attendant. It is really best you check your car every time it is returned to you by the valet attendant.

Breakfast was well prepared and tasty.

Room Tip: A sea facing room is a good idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Danny Z, thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay with us.
We are glad to read you have enjoyed our beachfront, easily accessible location. We would like to congratulate you on your good choice of suite, as our two bedroom suites are one of the best we offer onsite. It is great you have liked the layout of the room, the availability of two full bathrooms, and the comfort of the bedding within the suite. Especially due to the all-white in room décor, we place great efforts on the spotless cleanliness within the suites; it is therefore great to receive your positive feedback on this aspect. The valet parking service is indeed $29 per night. Unfortunately, the valet parking fee is a standard for Miami Beach due to the limitation in space. We hope you will be happy to learn that our property has one of the lowest valet parking rates in the area, which is furthermore available 24-hours a day and provides in/out privileges for guests of the hotel. We are sorry to read you were let down by the hallway carpet condition on your way to the room. Since you have provided the floor number, it would be no issue for us to follow up on your comment and address this issue.
Thank you once again for this great review. We are looking forward to welcoming you back on property in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,314
    1,121
    327
    143
    126
See reviews for
1,200
985
55
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gwynedd Valley, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

How unfortunate. The Grand Beach Hotel is a lovely property - very nice rooms, decent location - that suffers from a total lack of service or even acknowledgement of guests. The place is crawling with staff who do not smile, do not welcome guests, who are slow to respond yet tack on 18 percent gratuity to every bill regardless of the poor service. The 7th floor pool, an adult pool, offers a bar that doesn't open until late, doesn't serve lunch and does not deliver food even upon request. The beachside pool is crawling with kids - this is not the place to come for a romantic getaway. The gym is filthy (how hard is it to vacuum?) and the hallways are hot and muggy. With some focused training of the staff and a commitment to cleanliness, this experience could be totally different. Finally, the hotel would be better served by management addressing these issues rather than providing a quick response by the social media director.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Deee92, thank you for choosing our property and for taking the time to provide your honest feedback.
While we are glad, our room accommodations and beachfront location were to your taste, we are sorry to read about your disappointment with our staff and overall service. Your experience with our staff members does not comply with our property’s service standards. At the property, we strive to encourage a friendly and attentive staff attitude and follow for the provision of such. There are many international guests visiting our property, who are not accustomed to the gratuity practice in the United States, which is the reason for the 18 percent gratuity included. We apologize for the unpleasant experience you have had with our 7th floor bar. The 7th floor bar is currently open (now until January) from 2pm until 10pm Thursday through Sunday. At the 7th floor bar, we do offer Sushi made fresh on open days from 3pm until 10pm. These hours of operation are currently noted on the TVs within the rooms and the guest calendar. In order to meet the demand for food and drinks on the 7th floor throughout the day we do have the beach and pool staff make rounds and take orders for drinks and food. You are correct to mention that the first level pool is the family pool area. Our hotel does indeed prove to be family friendly; however, we do strive to provide comfort for both our family guests and couples. For guests who travel as couples we do recommend our 7th floor adults only pool area or the beach available right in front of the hotel. These two areas certainly provide for more relaxed and quite time suitable for couples. We appreciate your maintenance related feedback. We assure you that the gym is cleaned twice a day on a daily basis- once in the morning and once in the evening. Please feel encouraged to always advise our guest service agents if you notice a breach in this pattern, while onsite. At our property, we do appreciate any feedback we receive from our guests in regards to their stay. We do take the comments and reviews provided on TripAdvisor into consideration and certainly address any issues guests point out. Our goal in providing management responses on TripAdvisor is to acknowledge our guests’ opinion and show appreciation for the time they have taken out of their day to write these reviews.
Thank you once again for leaving a review. We certainly hope you shall be willing to try our property in the future, so we can have the chance to deliver the memorable experience we are capable of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

These are our impressions after the first 24 hours.

The Good:
- Lovely property
- Gorgeous suites. Truly. Modern furnishings. Clean. Quiet. Large spacious room with separate sitting room and TV. A full bathroom and a second bathroom with shower! In room refrigerator. Free wireless. Plenty of room to store your cloths. Gorgeous view of the bayside .... far better than the ocean view IMHO. Balconies available on request although there is limited availability.
- 7th floor adults only pool is a big plus.
- Super friendly staff.
- We asked for additional hangers and they were delivered within minutes.

Room for improvement:
- Service. First impressions matter. Valet service on arrival needs improvement. We drove up and waited. And waited. It didn't seem especially busy. Finally the single valet came over. No porter to help us with our luggage after we unloaded the car ourselves. No doorman in sight to open the front doors for us and the doors were not automatic so we had to struggle given our hands were occupied with our luggage. The 7th floor bar was supposed to open at 11AM. We stopped by at 3PM for happy/sushi hour but the doors were locked. We came back 15 minutes later; the bartender was still prepping and unlocked the doors for us. The sushi chef didn't show up for another 30 minutes.
- Food. The spicy tuna roll was excellent. The tuna carpaccio was more like sashimi and was not cooked in citrus. It was tasty but it wasn't carpaccio. The coffee bar in the lobby only serves a small size coffee. No option for a large.
- Room. The pillows are hard. No vanity which meant my wife had to drag a chair into the bathroom to get enough light to primp. Inadequate lighting around the other two desks in the room made them unsuitable for applying makeup. This is pretty basic stuff .. what woman doesn't need a lighted vanity area?

Overall pretty good so far, but not great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Wavey38, thank you for spending the time to write a review of our property.
It is pleasing to read you are enjoying your overall stay at the Grand Beach Hotel. We are glad our spacious room accommodations, their modern décor, and the views offered from the room are to your taste. You are correct to mention some of the key in-room amenities we offer at the Grand Beach Hotel, such as the two full bathrooms within a standard suite, in room refrigerator, free wireless, a separate seating area, two TVs, and plenty of storage room for clothing and luggage. The majority of rooms on property do come with a balcony; however, we do have limited availability of king bay front suites with a balcony. We are happy to have been able to provide you with a bay front room with a balcony. The 7th floor adults only pool is indeed a great facility, especially for a couples getaway. At the Grand Beach Hotel, it is our priority to provide great customer service; we are therefore pleased to learn you have experienced just that in your encounters with the staff. We are happy to have been able to accommodate your request for more hangers. We apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced upon check-in at the entrance- given that our property provides for a bellman and valet service this should not have happened and we will direct your feedback to the attention of our front office. The hours of the 7th floor bar have recently been changed- now until January. These new hours are displayed on the TVs within the room. You are correct however that the bar should have been open at 3pm and ready to serve sushi. I will go ahead and contact you directly in order to obtain further details on the happening to better address the issue with our food and beverage department. It is great you have enjoyed the sushi we offer, once you were able to try it. We apologize that the hardness of the pillows within your suite was not to your liking. It is also unfortunate we were unable to accommodate your wife’s need for well enough lighted area suitable for applying make-up. Hopefully, the master bathroom within the room offering a lot of lighting and numerous mirrors will provide the comfort you need.
Thank you again for your review; we appreciate the time you have spent writing it. We certainly hope you shall enjoy the rest of your stay with us and would return to our property in the future as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Grand Beach has a prime Mid Beach location in Miami Beach. It is not South Beach in location or in state of mind. The rooms are comfortable and modern, bathroom is ok. Note that Ocean View and Ocean Front are two different things when you book. View is on the side of the hotel with a limited view to the sea. They will try to upgrade you on arrival. The hotels main issue is management. The staff quality is very mixed, some make a great effort others dont really care. Breakfast is plentiful but tastless sometimes very slow sometimes ok. Hotel played the same christmas music throughout during our whole stay. Obvious lack of sense of ambiance and style from management. Stay here with family if you are on a budget yet want spacious comfortable rooms but dont expect anything like the trendier South Beach Hotels.

Room Tip: Ocean View and Ocean Front are two different things
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Florentine11, thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us.
We are glad our room accommodations with their comfort and modern feel were to your liking. Our beachfront location is indeed located in Miami Beach and not South Beach; however, due to our location we offer direct beach access and easy accessibility to South Beach via public transportation, taxi, or personal vehicle. You are right on target when you mention the difference between a Partial Ocean View and Ocean Front View suite. The partial ocean view suite provides for a partial view of both the ocean and the bay; whereas, the oceanfront view suite provides for a direct frontal view of the ocean. The upgrading of a room type upon check-in is available as an option; however, it cannot be guaranteed as it is solely based on availability at the time of arrival. We strive to provide the same level of service in all outlets of the property; we will, therefore, certainly take note of your feedback and address it with our staff. We are sorry our variety of breakfast offerings was not quite to your liking.
We would like to thank you once again for your review and feedback. We hope you will give our property another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed here for just one night in November after a cruise. We booked it based on the great TA reviews.

The good
- impressive entrance and reception areas with coffee bars and huge sofas
- great valet service
- beautiful suites, spacious, very comfortable bed and bedding, excellent bathrooms
- location, right on the beach
- comfortable sun loungers
- adult only bar on the roof with spa - spacious with lovely warm water
- the bistro looked and smelt nice
- set in a pretty quay area


The not so good
- the pool area, whilst beautifully designed, were mainly in the shade under the palm trees
- lots of children!!!
- roof bar had sun loungers which were tied to the railings. Nobody could understand the logic of this. Most of the roof was at most times shaded by the next hotel, so it would have been nice to move the loungers into the sun
- sunbeds on beach were $10 each, which should have been free for guests
- there were no bars or restaurants close by, which meant you needed to drive
- the service at the reception coffee bar was apalling, and once we gave up and walked away. The lady was dithering and easily confused by having more than one customer
- expensive valet parking (no other choice of parking)

The hotel was set a good way out from the Miami, but only 5 minutes drive from the vibrant Lincoln Road and Espanola Way districts. It was also easily acceassible to Washington Avenue which meant you could bypass the busy Collins Avenue and avoid 5th Avenue when wanting to drive back up to Orlando. You definitely need a car - we looked into taking the bus but concierge advised us against it. Parking in Miami was expensive - no free on street parking - and it was very busy even on a Sunday night

Room Tip: Quayside view just as pretty as ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Warnzy, thank you for providing us with your honest feedback.
We are glad you have enjoyed our property’s spacious and beautiful suites with comfortable bedding and excellent bathrooms. We are happy to read you have been impressed with the lobby interior and layout, as well as the beachfront location of the property. It is great you have been able to visit and enjoy our 7th floor adults only pool area and sunset bar. We are pleased our sun loungers have suited your needs for comfort and relaxation in the sun. The first level family pool area is indeed surrounded by palm trees and landscape, giving it a more tropical look. We therefore recommend guests who prefer sunbathing to visit our 7th floor adults only pool area or the beach area available right in front of the hotel. We apologize for the sun loungers on the 7th floor being tied to the railings. The purpose behind this is to keep the sun loungers on the ground and prevent them from flying away and hurting someone or causing an accident when a tropical storm is passing by Miami Beach causing the winds to reach higher speeds. There are beach chair and umbrella rentals offered at the beach for guests’ comfort; however, they are in no way a prerequisite for the use of the beach area. On future visits, please feel free to take advantage of the sun on the beach without renting a beach chair or umbrella. We could also recommend you to visit 41st street, which is located a few blocks down the street from our property within 15-minutes walking distance. This strip does offer some choices for dining and shopping you could take advantage of. Another option is to take the bus down to South Beach- it takes 15 minutes to reach South Beach from our property with one of the public buses. You only need to be cautious past midnight when the buses run every 1 hour instead of every 15 minutes. The parking and valet parking in particular on Miami Beach is indeed pricey due to the limitation in space. We do hope you will be happy to read that our property charges one of the lowest valet parking rates in the area.
Thank you once again for the detailed feedback you have provided of your stay at our property. We sincerely hope you shall visit us again in the future for a longer period allowing you to further explore the property and its amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I was in the hotel last year and payed for a double ocean fron suite 329 Dollars per night over the easter weekend ( I booked on December 30th). It was expensive but that is what you are expecting over the easter weekend. The rooms are nice and spacious, the view is stunning but the breakfast as well as the service is a joke. Now they are asking 509 Dollars per night for the same weekend! A price increase from more than 50%?! It is definaley not worth it anymore!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Peggy H, thank you for taking the time and leaving a review of your stay with us.
We appreciate your nice comment in regards to the spaciousness of our suites. We are also glad that on your last stay with us you have found the views form the rooms to be stunning. You would be happy to hear that since April of this year, the breakfast buffet and choices have undergone some modifications, which are receiving a very positive feedback from our guests. Our property always strives to encourage improvement of the service- it is one of our top priorities. While we are glad you have enjoyed your previous stay with us and are willing to consider returning to property, we are sorry to read about your disappointment with our room rates. We would definitely regret loosing you as one of our customers over rates. Would you please be so kind and contact us directly at mpetrov@grandbeachhotel.com and advise us of your dates of interest for 2013? We would also appreciate it if you would respond to the private message we will forward to you on TripAdvisor.
Thank you and we sincerely hope to be able to change your mind and find a suitable for you rate for a stay at our property in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

I checked in to the Grand Beach hotel looking for a perfect spot to combine work and relaxation. This place was perfect. I was traveling with a friend so we booked a suite with two bathrooms. It was wonderful. The bed was comfy, the two bathrooms were very convenient, the suite was very clean and we had a great view if the bay and downtown Miami.
The pool and facilities were lovely and the hotel is right on the beach. They have a great work out room and a tranquility pool for adults.
I need to also mention that the restaurant is very good. We ate at neighboring hotels in high end restaurants and they were not good.
The service is also excellent. When I return I will stay here and bring my family.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Cinnamongirl2, thank you for leaving a review of your stay at the Grand Beach Hotel. We appreciate you giving our property the top traveler rating.
It is great our property has managed to provide comfort for both work and relaxation. We are pleased to read you have enjoyed having two full bathrooms within your suite. It is nice our bedding has been to your taste and has provided the sleep quality and comfort you require. Our bay front suites do indeed provide a beautiful view of the bay and the Miami skyline. We are delighted when reading about your satisfaction with so many aspects of your stay, such as the hotel beachfront location, separate adults only pool area, as well as food quality at the restaurant. At the Grand Beach Hotel, we strive to encourage excellent customer service; we are therefore happy you have experienced just that onsite.
Thank you for this wonderful review. We are happy to have won you over as one of our repeat guests and we cannot wait to welcome you and your family on property in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Grand Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Beach Hotel

Address: 4835 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the style and tranquility of the new Grand Beach Hotel where Luxury and Comfort are within Reach! Discover a true gateway to paradise! A contemporary Miami Beach all-suite hotel on the ocean, the Grand Beach Hotel features luxurious accommodations, breathtaking ocean views, and easy access to world-famous beaches, attractions, restaurants, shopping malls, and nightspots. Book your Miami beachfront hotel reservations online today for our Best Rate Guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.