We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Grand Beach Hotel is exactly what it says it is....affordable luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grand Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4835 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tripadvisor - 17% Savings
Ranked #43 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
League City, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The Grand Beach Hotel is exactly what it says it is....affordable luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We drove in from Key West's Southernmost on the Beach to spend two nights in Miami Beach. The Grand Beach Hotel is as I thought it would be. The lobby was expansive and open with several lovely sitting areas and a bar all bathed in white marble. The lobby has a very modern, clean look. Also in the lobby are an espresso bar, restaurant and shop. There is also on the 7th floor a business office, a sunset deck where you can even get a massage; a quiet pool and a sushi bar with possibly the best crab rolls my husband ever ate. The pool, while crowded, I suppose because the ocean was so cold, was lush and tropical with a beautiful garden path leading to the beach. I've never seem Miami Beach before but I was impressed after missing the "beach" experience in Key West. The water was an incredible aqua blue - absolutely amazing. This hotel is situated perfectly on the beach but a little ways down from the action of South Beach so you will either have to cab or rent a car to get down to where all the restaurants and shops on Ocean drive are located. There are public parking facilities for price.
Beware though - once again as in Key West - this place is built for tourists and they charge you for everything - and charge a lot.
When we checked in, they gave us an upgrade to an ocean view room which was really nice. This was a very nice surprise. And when brought to our room, the bellman made sure that we were happy with what we had prior to unloading our luggage. It was a very large room with a sumptuous bed with premium linens and a sofa sleeper with a partial wall divider giving some privacy. Each sleeping area had its own TV which was really nice. There was a nice tub and plenty of storage space.
There was only valet parking ($29) which worked out fine. They will retrieve your car for you anytime you want with not question. Your only alternative is to park several blocks away at a public lot and it still costs you $. Might as well enjoy the valet service.
The cost for this room was only about $240 a night plus tax and the service here from the bar personnel to the sushi bar, the espresso bar and especially the valet service was top shelf. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the eight floor which was a great location for an ocean view. The only drawback was being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear ThreeofUs1207, thank you for leaving such a wonderful review of your stay with us.
We could not be happier to read we have met your expectations. We are glad you have enjoyed the overall outlook of the lobby and its modern design. Thank you for giving such a good description of the property and its amenities, such as the Espressor bar, restaurant, and boutique in the lobby, as well as the 7th floor Ocean Terrace, where massages are offered; the 7th floor adults only tranquility pool, and the 7th floor Sunset bar, which serves Sushi & Sake. We have just recently started offering Sushi at the hotel and are therefore pleased to read such good feedback on it. The first level pool area does indeed provide for a very tropical feel with its landscape. Since this is the family pool area it does tend to get crowded at times, we therefore recommend the beach area or the 7th floor pool as alternatives on your future visits. You are once again correct in your mention that the Grand Beach Hotel is located further up north from South Beach. While you could take a cab or rent a car to commute, you also have the choice of taking the public bus, which stops conveniently in front of the hotel, costs $2 per person, and runs every 15 minutes, 24-hours a day. We could not agree more with you in your explanation that even though there is a public parking down the street from us, it still costs money to be used; it is therefore a good choice to take advantage of the convenience of the valet parking of the hotel open 24-hours a day and providing in/out privileges. We are glad you have enjoyed your spacious room accommodation, the comfortable bedding it offers, as well as the availability of a sofa sleeper, two bathrooms, and two TVs. We strive to provide excellent customer service; it is therefore pleasing you have received just that while on site.
We appreciate the recommendation and feedback you have provided to other travelers. We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of greeting you on property once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,100
    909
    261
    123
    113
See reviews for
980
840
44
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Ad Dawhah, Qatar
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Everything was simply perfect, I spent one week of my honeymoon there and it was amazing.
Staff was great, the room was the best it could be and above all you will never forget the view.
You just need to know that Miami is a really expensive place so if you are playing to go there make sure you rent a car and study the map.
Its a calm place for honeymooners but bit boring if you stay more than a week.

Room Tip: I was in room 1329, I think all are amazing, just try the upper floors as much as you can to have th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representation at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Ramy_Ragai, thank you for this great review. We appreciate you giving us the highest traveler rating.
We are delighted as we read you review. We could not be happier that you have had a memorable time on your honeymoon spent with us at the Grand Beach Hotel. It is our priority to welcome our guests in a hospitable and friendly environment; it is therefore, pleasing to read you have found our staff members to be “great”. It is great you have enjoyed the room and furthermore the beautiful ocean view it has to offer. Thank you for giving other travelers the recommendation to rent a car as this provides for a great deal of convenience when commuting from the hotel to shopping centers and attractions. For future visits please be advised that you could also move around and visit South Beach by public bus, which stops across the street from our property, costs only $2 per person, and runs 24-hours a day. Other opportunities for transportation such as shuttles and taxis are also available.
Thank you again for this wonderful review. We cannot wait to welcome you back on property in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed at this hotel from Nov 15 thru Nov 19 and we really enjoyed and recommend it.

Pros:
+ personnel very kind and helpful
+ room was enormous, very clean, newly refurbished (and with nice furniture) had a beautiful view to the the bay
+ breakfast (not included) was great, although a little bit expensive: $30 / person

Cons:
- $29 per day valet was a little too much for me and aside from the price, sometimes car took too long (20+ min) to arrive
- ground pool was crowded and almost impossible to get a nice and quiet spot to relax because of the number of children playing (there is a pool at the 7th floor for adults only that could be an option)
- don't like US beaches, but the beach was ok although prices for the chair and umbrella are outrageous ($30 total for 2 chairs and 1 umbrella)

Overall we enjoyed our stay and we recommend it very much.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Rodrigo V, thank you for your honest review. We appreciate you giving our property the top traveler rating.
We are delighted you and your partner have enjoyed your stay at the Grand Beach Hotel and are recommending our property to other travelers as well. At the Grand Beach Hotel, we strive to provide excellent customer service. It is therefore encouraging to read our staff members have treated you in a kind and helpful manner. We are glad you have enjoyed our spacious room accommodations, their modern design, and the beautiful views they have to offer. We have recently modified and extended our breakfast buffet and are happy to be getting such a positive feedback on the change. We are sorry to read you were disappointed by the valet parking rate. Unfortunately, the valet parking fee is a standard on Miami Beach due to the limitation in space. We hope you will be happy to learn that our property has one of the lowest valet parking rates in the area. The ground, family pool tends to get crowded at times, we therefore always recommend our guests to visit the 7th floor tranquility, adults only pool. For your convenience, there is a bar right next to the pool where you can order food and beverages throughout the day. You may also spend some time in the sun at the beach right in front of the hotel. The beach chairs and umbrellas are indeed rentable; however, they are not required. Guests may also use the beach area without feeling forced into renting any of the beach chairs or umbrellas.
Thank you again for the recommendation of our property you have given to other travelers. We hope to have the pleasure of greeting you back on property in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Hotel room was very nice and clean and had great facilities. I loved the fact there was free wi-fi everywhere. Breakfast was very good with great choice if a little expensive. The restaurant had a nice varied choice menu. The location of the hotel is good on the beach with good views from most rooms but be aware there are no shops or restaurants within easy walking distance so you are more or less committed to eating at the hotel or driving or getting a taxi to eat somewhere else. The restaurant prices were probably more expensive because of the lack of competition. Overall I would recommend the hotel for a good value for money trip to Miami.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Christine P, thank you for your great review.
We are glad you and your partner have enjoyed our room accommodations and the in-room amenities they have to offer to guests. We are proud of offering free Wi-Fi throughout the entire hotel and pool areas. It is therefore pleasing you have loved this amenity. We are happy you have been satisfied with the overall performance of our restaurant; the breakfast buffet offered every morning as well as the variety of choices, which the menu provides. It is great you have liked our beachfront location and the great views it offers of both the bay and the ocean. On future visits, we recommend you to take a short, 15-minute walk down to 41st street. This strip offers a couple of dining choices, as well as a 24-hour Walgreens, which is perfect for purchasing groceries. If you would like to visit South Beach, we suggest you to use the public transportation as it stops conveniently across the street from the hotel. It is a cheaper alternative to taxis and is just as convenient, because buses pass by every 15 minutes.
Thank you again for a great review and recommendation of our property to other travelers. We are looking forward to welcoming you back on property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

If you want a 2 star hotel then this is for you. The photos on the website have to be staged as the rooms are nothing like shown and we tried 3 different ones. The carpets in the hallways and bedrooms are filthy, the towels were grey (not white), threadbare and so gross I didn't want to touch them. My household rags look better than that. I will say the bed was comfortable but the bathroom consists of a tiny tub with hand held shower. If you stay in it long enough you will eventually get water to cover your entire body (I am a size 4 and it took a while). It is so far from anything, shops, restaurants etc. that you will spend a fortune on cabs to get anywhere. My advice, pay $50 not $200+ and stay in a Motel 6. Stayed one night and got the heck out of there.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms, we looked at 3 and they were all bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Dee S, thank you for leaving your honest review of our property.
While we are glad you have enjoyed the quality of sleep and the comfort of the bed in the room, we regret that you felt our property was equal to a 2 star hotel. At the Grand Beach Hotel we strive to offer clean and comfortable room accommodations to all our guests. We therefore take the time and effort to replace the carpets in both rooms and hallways almost every year. Furthermore, in order to provide a clean suite to each and every guest we do shampoo the carpets prior to check-in. We are sorry the size of the bathtub was not to your liking; however, we do hope you have enjoyed the feature of 2 full bathrooms within the room. On future visits, we do recommend you to take a 15-minute walk down to 41st street, which is a few blocks south from the hotel. 41st street does offer some options for dining. It also has a 24-hour Walgreens. As an alternative to a taxi ride, we could most definitely recommend you to take advantage of the public buses, which stop right across the street from our property. They cost only $2 per person and run every 15 minutes. They are also available 24-hours a day and take you to South Beach for approximately the same time as a taxi.
Thank you again for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced while on-site. We do hope you will consider our property in the future as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The rooms are junior suit that can accomodate 4. The suites are spacious with a bath room, a shower room and two toilets. There are two TVs, one facing the bed the other one facing the sofa bed, a nice fridge, a safe and all the amenities you can think about.
The service is flawless and to relax you have a lovely beach with the possibility to rent beds and cabanas and also two pools. Since I can't get much in the sun I appreciated that one of the pools is in the shade early in the days while the other one is still in the sun.
I really enjoyed the place and understood that they need to add the tip to the restaurant prices because they have a European clientele which is used to "service compris" and would assume they did not have to add the tip ...

Room Tip: The view on the North side of the building is spectaculair
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Olivia S, thank you for your review and for giving our property the top traveler rating.
You are right on target in your description of Grand Beach Hotel’s room accommodations and in-room amenities. We are glad you have found comfort in your room. Thank you for sharing with us the great view, which your room had to offer by attaching an image to your review.
We strive to serve all our guests in a friendly and accommodating manner; it is therefore pleasing to read you have experienced a flawless service on-site. You are once again on point when you share your experience of our beach area and the two pools available on property. The beach area right in front of the hotel does indeed offer chair and umbrella rentals. The first level pool landscape provides more shade throughout the day, whereas the 7th floor, adults only pool is more or less sunny throughout the entire day. We could not be happier when we read you have enjoyed your stay with us. The tip in the restaurant is indeed not included in the price. We would most definitely share your feedback and suggestion with our food and beverage team, so they can consider the option of including the tip in the price.
Thank you again for an excellent review. We cannot wait to have you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I'm a single women, traveling to Miami to attend Art Basel for the first time. I booked and prepaid my stay in Sept. When I called the Hotel to make sure I had a room with an ocean view and to see if I could "stay a 4 th night free" as advertised, I was told I didn't qualify because I booked through a third party. The interaction was very unpleasant, unsatisfactory and I'm not looking forward to my stay. First impression are everything. Christine Huber

Room Tip: Don't book through a third party like Expedia, but how else would I ever have found this hotel.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Ms. Huber, thank you for your review.
While we are glad you have chosen to stay at the Grand Beach Hotel for Art Basel, we are sorry to read you have been disappointed by your direct interaction with the hotel. Unfortunately, it is indeed correct that the reservations department at the hotel cannot make any modifications to third party bookings. The customer service experience you described in your review does not comply with our service standards and will be addressed.
We would like to thank you once again for your feedback and apologize for any inconvenience caused. We are looking forward to welcoming you on property and gaining the opportunity of improving your first impression of the Grand Beach Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Beach Hotel

Address: 4835 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Beach Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the style and tranquility of the new Grand Beach Hotel where Luxury and Comfort are within Reach! Discover a true gateway to paradise! A contemporary Miami Beach all-suite hotel on the ocean, the Grand Beach Hotel features luxurious accommodations, breathtaking ocean views, and easy access to world-famous beaches, attractions, restaurants, shopping malls, and nightspots. Book your Miami beachfront hotel reservations online today for our Best Rate Guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Grand Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.