We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4835 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tripadvisor – 17% Savings
Ranked #44 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Harrow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Hotel room was very nice and clean and had great facilities. I loved the fact there was free wi-fi everywhere. Breakfast was very good with great choice if a little expensive. The restaurant had a nice varied choice menu. The location of the hotel is good on the beach with good views from most rooms but be aware there are no shops or restaurants within easy walking distance so you are more or less committed to eating at the hotel or driving or getting a taxi to eat somewhere else. The restaurant prices were probably more expensive because of the lack of competition. Overall I would recommend the hotel for a good value for money trip to Miami.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Christine P, thank you for your great review.
We are glad you and your partner have enjoyed our room accommodations and the in-room amenities they have to offer to guests. We are proud of offering free Wi-Fi throughout the entire hotel and pool areas. It is therefore pleasing you have loved this amenity. We are happy you have been satisfied with the overall performance of our restaurant; the breakfast buffet offered every morning as well as the variety of choices, which the menu provides. It is great you have liked our beachfront location and the great views it offers of both the bay and the ocean. On future visits, we recommend you to take a short, 15-minute walk down to 41st street. This strip offers a couple of dining choices, as well as a 24-hour Walgreens, which is perfect for purchasing groceries. If you would like to visit South Beach, we suggest you to use the public transportation as it stops conveniently across the street from the hotel. It is a cheaper alternative to taxis and is just as convenient, because buses pass by every 15 minutes.
Thank you again for a great review and recommendation of our property to other travelers. We are looking forward to welcoming you back on property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,141
    943
    267
    125
    113
See reviews for
1,019
863
44
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

If you want a 2 star hotel then this is for you. The photos on the website have to be staged as the rooms are nothing like shown and we tried 3 different ones. The carpets in the hallways and bedrooms are filthy, the towels were grey (not white), threadbare and so gross I didn't want to touch them. My household rags look better than that. I will say the bed was comfortable but the bathroom consists of a tiny tub with hand held shower. If you stay in it long enough you will eventually get water to cover your entire body (I am a size 4 and it took a while). It is so far from anything, shops, restaurants etc. that you will spend a fortune on cabs to get anywhere. My advice, pay $50 not $200+ and stay in a Motel 6. Stayed one night and got the heck out of there.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms, we looked at 3 and they were all bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Dee S, thank you for leaving your honest review of our property.
While we are glad you have enjoyed the quality of sleep and the comfort of the bed in the room, we regret that you felt our property was equal to a 2 star hotel. At the Grand Beach Hotel we strive to offer clean and comfortable room accommodations to all our guests. We therefore take the time and effort to replace the carpets in both rooms and hallways almost every year. Furthermore, in order to provide a clean suite to each and every guest we do shampoo the carpets prior to check-in. We are sorry the size of the bathtub was not to your liking; however, we do hope you have enjoyed the feature of 2 full bathrooms within the room. On future visits, we do recommend you to take a 15-minute walk down to 41st street, which is a few blocks south from the hotel. 41st street does offer some options for dining. It also has a 24-hour Walgreens. As an alternative to a taxi ride, we could most definitely recommend you to take advantage of the public buses, which stop right across the street from our property. They cost only $2 per person and run every 15 minutes. They are also available 24-hours a day and take you to South Beach for approximately the same time as a taxi.
Thank you again for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced while on-site. We do hope you will consider our property in the future as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The rooms are junior suit that can accomodate 4. The suites are spacious with a bath room, a shower room and two toilets. There are two TVs, one facing the bed the other one facing the sofa bed, a nice fridge, a safe and all the amenities you can think about.
The service is flawless and to relax you have a lovely beach with the possibility to rent beds and cabanas and also two pools. Since I can't get much in the sun I appreciated that one of the pools is in the shade early in the days while the other one is still in the sun.
I really enjoyed the place and understood that they need to add the tip to the restaurant prices because they have a European clientele which is used to "service compris" and would assume they did not have to add the tip ...

Room Tip: The view on the North side of the building is spectaculair
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Olivia S, thank you for your review and for giving our property the top traveler rating.
You are right on target in your description of Grand Beach Hotel’s room accommodations and in-room amenities. We are glad you have found comfort in your room. Thank you for sharing with us the great view, which your room had to offer by attaching an image to your review.
We strive to serve all our guests in a friendly and accommodating manner; it is therefore pleasing to read you have experienced a flawless service on-site. You are once again on point when you share your experience of our beach area and the two pools available on property. The beach area right in front of the hotel does indeed offer chair and umbrella rentals. The first level pool landscape provides more shade throughout the day, whereas the 7th floor, adults only pool is more or less sunny throughout the entire day. We could not be happier when we read you have enjoyed your stay with us. The tip in the restaurant is indeed not included in the price. We would most definitely share your feedback and suggestion with our food and beverage team, so they can consider the option of including the tip in the price.
Thank you again for an excellent review. We cannot wait to have you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I'm a single women, traveling to Miami to attend Art Basel for the first time. I booked and prepaid my stay in Sept. When I called the Hotel to make sure I had a room with an ocean view and to see if I could "stay a 4 th night free" as advertised, I was told I didn't qualify because I booked through a third party. The interaction was very unpleasant, unsatisfactory and I'm not looking forward to my stay. First impression are everything. Christine Huber

Room Tip: Don't book through a third party like Expedia, but how else would I ever have found this hotel.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Ms. Huber, thank you for your review.
While we are glad you have chosen to stay at the Grand Beach Hotel for Art Basel, we are sorry to read you have been disappointed by your direct interaction with the hotel. Unfortunately, it is indeed correct that the reservations department at the hotel cannot make any modifications to third party bookings. The customer service experience you described in your review does not comply with our service standards and will be addressed.
We would like to thank you once again for your feedback and apologize for any inconvenience caused. We are looking forward to welcoming you on property and gaining the opportunity of improving your first impression of the Grand Beach Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I on two night retreat in ocean view suiet, staff was great, not like other Miami beach hotels we have tried. We really enjoyed the room, Much better than the rooms at Lowes and less$... Check out package deals and save a few$

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear bpo47, thank you for taking the time to review our property.
We greatly appreciate you giving us the highest traveler rating possible. We are happy you have chosen to stay in an ocean view suite and have been satisfied with the quality of this room accommodation. It is pleasing to read that you have found our property so suitable to your taste and needs. Thank you for the great recommendation to travelers to review our package deals and promotions when booking.
Thank you again for a great review. We are looking forward to welcoming you back on property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Me and my partner just returned after spending a month in the US. We spent five amazing nights at grand beach hotel. This hotel is flawless from its decor and facilities to the staff. We were very impressed with our suite on the 20th floor with amazing views of the beach and collins avenue. The room itself was amazing all decorated in white and very spacious, complete with two bathrooms and two TV's. The cleaners always did a good job and kept our room tidy. We spent most of our time either by the main pool area on the ground floor or the adult pool area on the seventh floor. Both of these areas were relaxing and enjoyable and the pool staff were always accommodating and friendly. The hotel is located on the beach and the beach was beautiful. The sea was a pleasant warm temperature and a beautiful shade of turquoise. On one of the days it rained whilst we were in the jacuzzi, but the jacuzzi was so warm that it didn't even bother us, in fact we needed to be cooled down. The only issue was the highly priced valet parking at $30 a day. We rented a car whilst out in the US so we parked in a public car park instead. The car park was located three blocks away and was priced at $1 an hour, the only issue was needing to top up the metre daily. So its better not to have a car whilst staying here. The hotel's restaurant was expensive but not too bad for a light lunch. The hotel was only a short taxi ride away from the main south beach strip and didn't cost much but we were happy with the location of the hotel. Overall this hotel is amazing and we could easily have stayed here longer and we would definitely go back. We loved it and will never forget our time at this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear RVVH, thank you for giving our property the top traveler rating.
We are more than happy to be able to provide such a memorable and enjoyable experience to you and your partner. We are glad our room accommodations, their amenities and amazing views of both the beach and the bay have met your expectations and pleased you during your stay. As the entire room interior is white, it does require quite the effort to maintain the room, so thank you for appreciating the hard work of our housekeepers. It is great you have enjoyed some time at the two different pool areas the hotel has to offer and have taken advantage of the direct beach access from the first level of the hotel. We encourage our staff members to provide friendly and accommodating service; it is therefore rewarding to hear they are managing to provide just that. The valet parking rate is unfortunately a standard in the Miami Beach area due to limitation in space. We are happy however to be offering this service 24-hours a day with in/out privileges at one of the lowest valet rates for the area. We would recommend you on your next visit to also try and take advantage of the public buses which stop right across the street from our hotel. They take you to South Beach in about 10-15 minutes, at a cost of $2 per person and they do run 24-hours a day.
Thank you once again for a wonderful review. We cannot wait to welcome you and your partner back on property soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Grand Beach is a good hotel. The rooms are very spacious and clean. A really nice and relaxed hotel. The best thing is the proximity to a lovely stretch of beach. There is no need to use the pools when the beach is so lovely.

The hotel is a bargain but they do charge a lot for all food and parking. The food is absolutely not worth it and the service in Chez Gaston is slow and not up to par with the tagline: Affordable luxury. $22 for buffet breakfast is not worth the dollars.

If I were managing the Grand Beach I would add better food options at different price levels. The hotel is far away from any other food venues so this hotel really needs a good one. For $2 you get and easy busride to South Beach where you'll find lots of nice eateries.

Concierge at Grand Beach really needs to get things straight. We booked a shuttle to Sawgrass mills ($30/pp) and the guy who booked it said it would arrive at 9 am. 9:35am would be more correct. We specifically asked if the shuttle company accepted credit cards. The concierge said: Yes only. Did they? No - only cash. When would we arrive at the hotel again? Concierge: 8:45-9Pm. Reality: 9:50pm. Not much right there. My advice: fix things on your own!

In all I had a nice time and I liked the room, but due to the location of the hotel I would prefer to stay elsewhere next time in Miami.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Annikajeanette, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Grand Beach Hotel.
We are glad you have enjoyed the comfort and spaciousness of our room accommodations. We also appreciate the kind comment of our property as a nice and relaxed hotel. It is great you have enjoyed our beachfront location providing for a direct beach access from the first level of the hotel. The charge for valet parking is unfortunately a standard throughout Miami Beach due to the limitation in space. Hopefully, you will be happy to learn that our property has one of the lowest valet parking rates in the area. We are sorry to read you have found the food choices available on-site to be a bit pricey. As an alternative to the restaurant breakfast, we can definitely suggest the lighter and less expensive breakfast choices available at the espresso bar, also located on the lobby level. Another option would be as you mentioned visiting South Beach or you could also visit 41st street, which is 15-minutes walking distance down the street from the hotel. This strip also offers some options for breakfast. Furthermore, we do offer food and beverage promotions on-site throughout the week. You can find more details surrounding those in our Monthly Events Calendar available on our website under the amenities tab.
We sincerely apologize for your disappointment with our concierge service. We can most definitely understand the inconvenience these small misunderstandings could have caused you. Your comment and feedback is important to us; therefore, we have already brought you review to the attention of our front office management staff. This does not comply with our property’s service standards and we are addressing it with the proper department.
Thank you again for your feedback. We are happy you have enjoyed your overall stay with us. We do hope that you shall reconsider and decide to choose our property in the future as well and not only for the beachfront location but due to its proximity and easy accessibility to South Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Beach Hotel

Address: 4835 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the style and tranquility of the new Grand Beach Hotel where Luxury and Comfort are within Reach! Discover a true gateway to paradise! A contemporary Miami Beach all-suite hotel on the ocean, the Grand Beach Hotel features luxurious accommodations, breathtaking ocean views, and easy access to world-famous beaches, attractions, restaurants, shopping malls, and nightspots. Book your Miami beachfront hotel reservations online today for our Best Rate Guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Amex and Tingo so you can book your Grand Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.