We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Hostel

Save Saved
You added Miami Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Miami Hostel
810 Alton Road, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Ohana Hostel Miami Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Call for Best Rate
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The Miami Hostel was amazing, in every way. Insanely cheap, lovely management, comfortable rooms with bathrooms, and a great common area. You are provided with tea, coffee and bagels each morning, they have free BBQs twice a week, and reduced price nightclub visits for the party animals among us - however these groups leave at 10pm, and all noisy social activity in the areas near the bedrooms is stopped at midnight, so it's very respectful.

The hostel is right next to a liquor store where cheap drinks can be bought, and the staff are very honest, I drunkenly left my iPad in the common area one night, and they held it at Reception for me - quite uncommon for a hostel! You can even borrow free beach towels. The beach is a 10/15 minute walk as the hostel is located on Alton, but this suited me fine as Ocean/Washington/Collins are where all the clubs and bars are, which means loud noise all the time, so you don't want to be too close to that at night.

The only downsides are that there is no laundry facility, and the wi-fi doesn't work in the bedrooms, but this can be overlooked when you experience everything else this place has to offer.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    22
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
35
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raeford, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I booked this place for one night, I ended up booking it for two nights. I seen bad reviews on this place, BUT after staying here and knowing 100%. Must/ALL the bad reviews are lies 100%. EVERYONE was nice, front people. Best part was someone that worked their stayed in the same I booked that had bump beds...so, no one can not say staff was not on hand 24/7. Next time I come back to Miami Beach I will stay here again unless I get married. Nothing gross about this place, and yes there is a liquor store and high end bar beside the place. Its a hostel not a Hotel. You are only paying for a place to sleep not live. Only bad part was no A/C in the room to keep it cool/cold. But like I said....YOU PAYING FOR A PLACE TO SLEEP NOT LIVE.

Room Tip: I was in Room 6 Bed 5 (7/14-16/14)....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

this hostel was gross. right next door to a 24 hour liquor store, so u can image the kind of people lurking around in this area. The rooms are so cramped and gross with ONE tiny nasty bathroom for like 12 people to share. wifi only works in one room so youre forced to use your devices in there. too far from the beach. the person that checked me in wasnt hospitable at all. didnt even offer to help wth my bags. beds looked dirty. sheets looked dirty. If youre trying to save money, just pick another hostel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

In addition to the good hostel rates, the continental hostel breakfast, the sandwich treats, the abundance of AC sockets in the dining room and the patio for its fast Internet, its close proximity to a liquor store in front and to three supermarket within three blocks, its nice mood patio lighting, its hot tub, and its pub crawl (whose organizer also picks up guests from Bikini Hostel up the street and another hostel), all of which I and many other recent reviewers have experienced at the Miami Hostel, perhaps I might add a couple of other observations that some will find useful.

The manager, whom I suspect to be the owner as well, has created this hostel, his hostel, to be a comfortably sociable meeting place for guests of a wider spectrum of social-demographic characteristics than just those hostellers drawn to party-central hostels. Yes, there is energetic music for the 20-something in the evening, when drinking games at times erupt. This goes on until pub-crawl pick-up time after 10 PM. After that, the guests who remain still drink to socialize, only that he does not keep the music blaring till early morning. Yes, I have stayed at other "severely party-central" hostels in Miami Beach and, no, this hostel is not drink-till-you-drop party-central--though drinking till you can't play your part any more in the drinking game seems to be quite OK here :D. As a result of the diligence and dedication of the manager and his colleagues, this hostel might actually be the one where guests, especially the more experienced and more thoroughly-travelled women who like to use their brains (instead of alcohol or other endowments) to meet other travelers who are partying but have not dropped yet, prefer more in Miami Beach.

All in all, the staff and the guests create a caring and cordial atmosphere where partying as well as rest can take place. The beds I had on two stays were both comfortable. Accessing the bathroom shared with my 8 or 10 roommates posed no long-wait challenges. On the first stay my room was an upstairs one in the front block, but it was back-facing, so no traffic noise bothered me (as it did another recent reviewer, Rachel T). On my second stay my room was one right across from the hot tub in the courtyard (but during an off-peak week), and no noise from any reveling was there to keep me up.

Yours truly began hostelling in Miami Beach nearly two decades ago, when the place had 2.5 to 3.5 hostels. The 0.5 or "half" of a hostel was a hotel-hostel which still exists today, then one hostel came onto the scene but folded shortly after. One of the two long-standing ones in that era was operated by a global hostelling institution that offered, well, institutional service. The other one had staff members that made belittling comments of guests whenever they wished. It is heartening to see that today's South Beach hostel scene has so blossomed that hostels are actually competing in the area of service and friendliness, and the Miami Hostel, I think, is surely one of the leaders in this competition.

It might be hard to notice this of the Miami Hostel on a stay of just one off-peak night that also happens to be the day off for the owner-manager (whom it'd be hard not to get to know after a stay of three or four days), but I think the physical décor of the common area of the hostel and how sociably the space is used reflect how this man has devoted himself, even going as far as barbequing for his guests for free on select days, to personally making a stay at his hostel a special experience.

Finally, since recent reviewer Rachel T has raised this matter about the manager of the Miami Hostel in her review, I thought I ought to remind all hostellers that Hostel World's total-to-pay-to-the-hostel amount does not include, as they do exist in the U.S., state and local taxes. I am a newcomer to Hostel World, and so had an experience identical to Rachel T's when I checked in at another Miami Beach hostel six months ago, till I realized the extra stemmed from the tax. This matter regarding Hostel World has been discussed often in the various hostel-review forums.

For the few readers who have actually got to this end section: yes, today's competitive climate in Miami Beach is great for hostel consumers. As I have also stayed in three of the other Miami Beach hostels recently, I will be sure to write and publish my reviews on them shortly, so stay tuned. :D

Room Tip: Back-facing rooms upstairs are quietest for early retirees. Courtyard rooms most convenient for part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I had no problems at all! Great staff who let us check in at 7am despite not having previously requested this. Very large rooms compared to other hostels I have stayed in, with a good sized bathroom in each. My favourite thing was the common area. It had a pool table and bar area (although they do not sell alcohol, there is a liquor store next door where you can purchase it and bring it back to the hostel). There was always people about so it was easy to meet people and everyone is very friendly. Incredibly cheap too, especially since they give breakfast and a couple of free dinners each week. Beach is near, as well as the strip with the bars. I enjoyed the nights out that they organised, so overall I have very little to complain about!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed in this place during off-season. I think they may have let us into our room by mistake because it hadn't been cleaned yet and there was junk of all sorts lying all over the place. We notified staff of the issue and it was quickly resolved with them being a fairly embarrassed and apologetic about the whole fiasco. Other than this the cleaners came rather regularly and did a very thorough job. The beds are horrible and springy and we stayed in a room near the road, the cars driving by were really loud as well as party-goes, loud music and parked cars with their subwoofers blaring. The owner seemed a little seedy but nice enough - but we did get ripped off at the beginning, paying more than what we were quoted on the initial booking. The free sandwiches at lunchtime are actually god-damn delicious though, and location is quite good for what you pay - the ocean and main south beach area aren't far! Supermarket and really good Japanese nearby. Overall, it was s little pricey for the hostel, but you will always be paying a lot to stay in this area of South beach. Would have probably been a fun and cute little place to hang out in peak season to party on a budget, but calling it comfortable would be a faarr stretch.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which isn't bordering the main road - it can get very noisy when you're tryin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, Australia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Well outside the Miami airport you got the free train to take you to the bus, train, hire car station, the bus 150 is just on the bottom of the stairs, so don't get mistaken buy stoping in Alton street at first the bus run around then camelback to Alton street on the other way over wise you going to walk 3 miles. The place is good , clean, the dormitory at 12 bed is ok large and clean, just room 2 and 3 are next to the bar where the music play until 12 am then if you lucky you can have a sleep if someone is not coming by the early time of the next morning. The staff is nice and polite, the common room is clean the wiFi is great, the kitchen is always clean the breakfast is free but you can have as much as you wand coffee tea, bread roll , jam, Nutella , butter, cream cheese. That all you need to the start of the day. For me just shopping next door to publix a bit of eggs and bacon sausages keep me going to the next breakfast . Maximum stay 15 days.

Room Tip: Don't go to room 2 or 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miami Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Hostel

Address: 810 Alton Road, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Ohana Hostel Miami Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Miami Hostel is a Party Tropical hostel that is one step ahead of competition in terms of cleanliness and its wonderful atmosphere.If you came to Miami Beach to party and have wonderful time, let The Miami Hostel take care of it. At The Miami Hostel you will you get free breakfast, free BBQ on Saturdays, free linens and towels, beach towels, free drinks before you go out, and a Limo or Party bus ride to the hottest night clubs in Miami. We have tours to the Everglades or Key West. Shopping malls are close by or you can soak up the sun at the beach! We have a fully equipped kitchen, free computers with internet. Free Wi-Fi network. And we recently updated our wireless network to reach all of the rooms in the hostel!You can hang out in the Jacuzzi or after you have had a few drinks join the club tour for that night with your friends. There is a liquor store connected to the hostel with almost anything you need for partying!We also have a 24 hour reception, pool table, vending machines, cable TV, central air conditioning, and an ATM machine!Our 14 spacious rooms are available in 6-8-10-12 Bed occupancies (Mixed Dorms & Female Only Dorms). All dorms include lockers, bathroom, shower/bath, hair dryer, makeup mirror, power outlets, and central air conditioning and secure key card access.Besides Jacuzzi we have a pool table, vending machines as well as tours to Key West, Everglades, Orlando and many other attractions around Miami. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Miami Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Miami Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.