We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good vibes!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Hostel

Save Saved
You added Miami Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Miami Hostel
810 Alton Road, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Ohana Hostel Miami Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Call for Best Rate
Milan, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good vibes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Super friendly staff, repetion open 24 hours. The place is clean and there is a very cool atmosphere.
I've stayed there just for one night, but I felt very good.I think that next time in Miami I'll stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    22
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
35
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

The front desk personel is lovely. Rooms are clean, the overall atmosphere is awsome. Free breakfast and dinner and some times even lunch. The out door comunal part is a really Nice place to enjoy a drink And meet people you can also enjoy the jacuzzi And the snooker/pool table.
10 minutes by foot ton the beach, market places are really close And thé walgreen is open 24/7. The parking is 15 dollars a day (affordable compared to others in Miami).

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Staff is exceptional! Hostel is very clean with modern look.

Free food with dinners available until very late

Location and entertainment options can cater all travelers’ needs as (1) the hostel is located on quitter side of South Beach with easy access to main entertainment location within few-minute walk; (2) on-site parties ending at reasonable time not to distract those who want to sleep; (3) staff helps with organizing tours at discounting price

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Pros:
Very engaging, sociable environment. Many people are from all over the world.
The bar, the pool table and the shuttles to every night's nightclubs bring much fun!
Very nice managers, lunch and dinners.
Free beach sheet.

Cons:
Gets noisy at midnight, which makes sleeping worse.
Very cold in the dorm. Can't adjust the temperature of the A/C.
Dim light in the dorm.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mablethorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I stayed in three hostels in Miami, Miami Hostel, Bikini Hostel and Freehand. there really wasn't a lot to choose between them.

Freehand had very nice beds/rooms and the decor was much nicer there, but there was no real atmosphere, and it was the most expensive. Probably would be best if traveling in a small group.But there was no where quietish you could sit down and just use the internet ect, This really annoyed me. . everywhere played loud music all the time! Internet didn't extend to the rooms either. also breakfast wasn't great. Its just in the lobby which means very cramped with nowhere to sit. and they started building work early in the morning which actually sounded and felt like a small earthquake going off!

Bikini hostel was ok, But had the worse beds ever! and the most annoying and loud motorised door locks. other than that it was ok, Nice common areas. ok / average atmosphere.

Miami hostel was similar to Bikini in price and the level of facilities, I didn't think the beds were as bad here, but they were very similar squeaky metal bunks. Ok/ average atmosphere again, nice common areas. Best of all though, Free food, it was nice to come in in the evening to Pizza or pasta and not have to worry about finding somewhere to buy food. ok it was for the most part basic, but it was good.

Service was pretty average for all hostels, nobody appeared especially friendly, But Miami Hostel did let me check in 3 or four hours early, so they win here for me! :)

Location was about the same for all 3 hostels, Free hand was closer to the beach, but further away for everything else.

the other two were pretty similar, possibly Bikini has the slightly better location, but there really isnt anything in it.

All of them charged More than was stated on the Hostelworld Website, From memory some would not include Hostelworlds 10% in the price, even though thats the deal with paying through Hostel world. and the prices seemed to vary daily!

I don't think you'll go far wrong staying in any of these, but again, nothing really makes one stand out over the others. If I were to stay in Miami again, I'd probably go for Miami Hostel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights with a large travelling party. Great atmosphere and amazing value. One of the best hostels I've stayed in for atmosphere and walking distance from south beach. Would recommend to all young US travellers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I LOVED my stay at the Miami Hostel. After traveling for a month, it was my favorite hostel in the USA by far. The staff were so friendly, helpful and down-to-earth. The communal area was very cool - bagel breakfast every morning, great kitchen facilities and incredible international social vibe. Walking distance from everything in South Beach, the location was great too! Bottle store next door and pool table outside area was buzzing every night with inter-cultural social activity. Loved it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miami Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Hostel

Address: 810 Alton Road, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Ohana Hostel Miami Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Miami Hostel is a Party Tropical hostel that is one step ahead of competition in terms of cleanliness and its wonderful atmosphere.If you came to Miami Beach to party and have wonderful time, let The Miami Hostel take care of it. At The Miami Hostel you will you get free breakfast, free BBQ on Saturdays, free linens and towels, beach towels, free drinks before you go out, and a Limo or Party bus ride to the hottest night clubs in Miami. We have tours to the Everglades or Key West. Shopping malls are close by or you can soak up the sun at the beach! We have a fully equipped kitchen, free computers with internet. Free Wi-Fi network. And we recently updated our wireless network to reach all of the rooms in the hostel!You can hang out in the Jacuzzi or after you have had a few drinks join the club tour for that night with your friends. There is a liquor store connected to the hostel with almost anything you need for partying!We also have a 24 hour reception, pool table, vending machines, cable TV, central air conditioning, and an ATM machine!Our 14 spacious rooms are available in 6-8-10-12 Bed occupancies (Mixed Dorms & Female Only Dorms). All dorms include lockers, bathroom, shower/bath, hair dryer, makeup mirror, power outlets, and central air conditioning and secure key card access.Besides Jacuzzi we have a pool table, vending machines as well as tours to Key West, Everglades, Orlando and many other attractions around Miami. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Miami Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Miami Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.