We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Miami Hostel to your Saves list
Miami Hostel
810 Alton Road, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Ohana Hostel Miami Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Call for Best Rate
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Hey there,

me and my friends have been in Miami this Spring. First we booked the 'International South Beach' Hostel but after one month the canceled our reservation due to over-bookings (in fact we think they just gave our room to others who paid more).
So we contacted this Hostel and they were happy to help us out!

The place is very cozy and has a nice location (Liquorstore, Wallgreens, etc. close by) with only 15 minutes to the beach!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    22
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
1
35
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

i visited miami for ultra 2013 and this was the first hostel id stayed at and to be honest i was sceptical at first but this place totally changed my mind, everyone id met was cool. even the owners are cool amd down to earth. the bagel and coffee in the morning is a nice touch to get up for, as is the lovely hot tub. the kitchen is always clean and the cleaners are there daily to keep both common room and rooms clean. with many food places nearby plus a liquor store 10 seconds away! all in all great place to stay, beds could be better but still slept ok, lockers were good aswell. would defo recommend this place for a stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Staff was very friendly and helpful. They have free Wifi, a Jacuzzi, very nice common area with is outdoors but with a roof and a bar. Kitchen is equiped and clean with TV in the dining room. They give you beach towels which I think is very helpful and a great service, Breakfast was simple but nice and the bbq on saturday night (burger and hot dogs) was also nice. Hostel is very cheap but they still try to offer a lot. Unfortunately they had some trouble with their promoter during the time we stayed there so they didn't offer any parties or pub crawls. But you can still meet a lot of people and plan something by yourself. Bus station right at the door and just 10 min to Washington Avenue or the Beach. Liquor stores, supermarkets etc. in walking distance! You can bring your own drinks to the common area or your room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was my first time in a hostel ever, and instantly i felt very at ease as i was greeted by the management and shown to my room. After setting up I immediately made friends whilst watching the superbowl and sharing a few drinks and stories with the fellow travelers. Breakfast all be it only a bagel and free coffee is a nice touch bearing in mind the price. It has nice facilities, a fully working kitchen apart from one of the hobs, but again i'm not complaining, it's a hostel you kind of expect it. A nice common room, with pool table and fussball, and also free wi-fi and computers.

The entire place is cleaned daily by two cleaners and the management is more than happy to help with directions or any query you may have. Day trips are offered to the normal places, The Everglades and Keywest and a couple of others that I can't remember. It's only a 10 minute walk to the beach if that, and is well placed when you need to buy food or beer. Would recommend and will stay again at the end of my trip, well done Miami Hostel!!!!!
English Matt.

Room Tip: From the upstairs room i went in, the bathroom was alot nicer, can't remember what room number...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed here for three nights. There is always something on each night whether it was a club crawl etc... We had a free BBQ and went out to Niki beach, which is a cool, large and nice club on south beach. Its a 10mins walk to south beach, not a good thing if you walk during the hot season such as July. But it is very liveable and meant a few nice people. The staff was ok, the lady at the desk wasnt very useful, kind of rude. But the guys are super nice and allowed me to check in before lunch, where as the lady wasnt too happy. Overall, good hostel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for one night while traveling through Miami. The staff is very helpful and courteous, and the room and bathrooms were very clean. I had cool roommates who were fun to chill with. There were plenty of plugs in the common area and room for charging my phone and using the free wifi. Towels, sheets, soaps, blankets and pillows were provided. I will definitely stay there again if I am in Miami!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed here with a friend while travelling America, the accommodation was exactly as you expect in a hostel but it had a great social centre and everyone would sit together and chat at night. The staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miami Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Hostel

Address: 810 Alton Road, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Ohana Hostel Miami Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Miami Hostel is a Party Tropical hostel that is one step ahead of competition in terms of cleanliness and its wonderful atmosphere.If you came to Miami Beach to party and have wonderful time, let The Miami Hostel take care of it. At The Miami Hostel you will you get free breakfast, free BBQ on Saturdays, free linens and towels, beach towels, free drinks before you go out, and a Limo or Party bus ride to the hottest night clubs in Miami. We have tours to the Everglades or Key West. Shopping malls are close by or you can soak up the sun at the beach! We have a fully equipped kitchen, free computers with internet. Free Wi-Fi network. And we recently updated our wireless network to reach all of the rooms in the hostel!You can hang out in the Jacuzzi or after you have had a few drinks join the club tour for that night with your friends. There is a liquor store connected to the hostel with almost anything you need for partying!We also have a 24 hour reception, pool table, vending machines, cable TV, central air conditioning, and an ATM machine!Our 14 spacious rooms are available in 6-8-10-12 Bed occupancies (Mixed Dorms & Female Only Dorms). All dorms include lockers, bathroom, shower/bath, hair dryer, makeup mirror, power outlets, and central air conditioning and secure key card access.Besides Jacuzzi we have a pool table, vending machines as well as tours to Key West, Everglades, Orlando and many other attractions around Miami. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Miami Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Miami Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.