We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Hostel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Miami Hostel to your Saves list
Miami Hostel
810 Alton Road, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Ohana Hostel Miami Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Call for Best Rate
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good Hostel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was my first time in a hostel ever, and instantly i felt very at ease as i was greeted by the management and shown to my room. After setting up I immediately made friends whilst watching the superbowl and sharing a few drinks and stories with the fellow travelers. Breakfast all be it only a bagel and free coffee is a nice touch bearing in mind the price. It has nice facilities, a fully working kitchen apart from one of the hobs, but again i'm not complaining, it's a hostel you kind of expect it. A nice common room, with pool table and fussball, and also free wi-fi and computers.

The entire place is cleaned daily by two cleaners and the management is more than happy to help with directions or any query you may have. Day trips are offered to the normal places, The Everglades and Keywest and a couple of others that I can't remember. It's only a 10 minute walk to the beach if that, and is well placed when you need to buy food or beer. Would recommend and will stay again at the end of my trip, well done Miami Hostel!!!!!
English Matt.

Room Tip: From the upstairs room i went in, the bathroom was alot nicer, can't remember what room number...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    25
    15
    4
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
3
38
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed here for three nights. There is always something on each night whether it was a club crawl etc... We had a free BBQ and went out to Niki beach, which is a cool, large and nice club on south beach. Its a 10mins walk to south beach, not a good thing if you walk during the hot season such as July. But it is very liveable and meant a few nice people. The staff was ok, the lady at the desk wasnt very useful, kind of rude. But the guys are super nice and allowed me to check in before lunch, where as the lady wasnt too happy. Overall, good hostel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for one night while traveling through Miami. The staff is very helpful and courteous, and the room and bathrooms were very clean. I had cool roommates who were fun to chill with. There were plenty of plugs in the common area and room for charging my phone and using the free wifi. Towels, sheets, soaps, blankets and pillows were provided. I will definitely stay there again if I am in Miami!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed here with a friend while travelling America, the accommodation was exactly as you expect in a hostel but it had a great social centre and everyone would sit together and chat at night. The staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We were two girls travelling North America and came to Miami for the week at the end of our trip. We booked the Miami Hostel because the prices were amazing, it was something like $15 per night! The hostel was always clean and hygienic with a good friendly atmosphere. The kitchen area was very spacious, two big fridge freezers and they offered a free breakfast between 8:00-10:00 every day of a bagel and a free BBQ on Saturdays. The Wi-Fi was brilliant, free pool table although no bar but there is a liquor store next door where you can purchase alcohol and take it to the hostel to drink. The staff were amazing, very friendly and approachable and offered cheap ticket prices to go on a party bus which takes you to different clubs on South Beach every night. We could not have asked for a better place to stay whilst we were in Miami...Absolutely fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interlaken, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I stayed there at the end of my two months backpacking trip. Everything was simply perfect. The welcome\reception was really nice (man from Turkey was really helpful and friendly), the rooms are nice and tidy (cleaning daily), two bathrooms in the room, internet coverage everywhere, good breakfast, felt safe as well. If next time in Miami - here again!

Room Tip: I had room nr ( and everything was cool. There are two bathrooms in this room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The Miami Beach Hostel facilities are generally good and have maintenance. On arrival they ask for a cash deposit, no other payment methods will be accepted.

The kitchen is very spacious and full refrigerators are excellent. It's weird sometimes find such facilities in hostels.

The WIFI access is very good, I had no problem during my entire stay.

Negative point: During my four days hot water was cut in several opportunities. The last time I took a bath, I did it with ice water having reported the problem on the first day frontdesk.

Have to improve the breakfast, it´s extreme poor. A coffee cups of tergopol, just one medium bagel, a little jam and cream cheese.

The attention of the owner is rude and distant, I had an uncomfortable day during my check out, I had to explain in detail to another employee who looked after me that day and hour handed the cash, because the owner I didn´t give me a receipt of payment when asked.

During my stay I used the whirlpool bathtub (under construction), has water almost cold and excess chlorine.

Room Tip: Asked to frontdesk to regulate the air conditioning in your room, sometimes the cold is pretty inten...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miami Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Hostel

Address: 810 Alton Road, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Ohana Hostel Miami Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Miami Hostel is a Party Tropical hostel that is one step ahead of competition in terms of cleanliness and its wonderful atmosphere.If you came to Miami Beach to party and have wonderful time, let The Miami Hostel take care of it. At The Miami Hostel you will you get free breakfast, free BBQ on Saturdays, free linens and towels, beach towels, free drinks before you go out, and a Limo or Party bus ride to the hottest night clubs in Miami. We have tours to the Everglades or Key West. Shopping malls are close by or you can soak up the sun at the beach! We have a fully equipped kitchen, free computers with internet. Free Wi-Fi network. And we recently updated our wireless network to reach all of the rooms in the hostel!You can hang out in the Jacuzzi or after you have had a few drinks join the club tour for that night with your friends. There is a liquor store connected to the hostel with almost anything you need for partying!We also have a 24 hour reception, pool table, vending machines, cable TV, central air conditioning, and an ATM machine!Our 14 spacious rooms are available in 6-8-10-12 Bed occupancies (Mixed Dorms & Female Only Dorms). All dorms include lockers, bathroom, shower/bath, hair dryer, makeup mirror, power outlets, and central air conditioning and secure key card access.Besides Jacuzzi we have a pool table, vending machines as well as tours to Key West, Everglades, Orlando and many other attractions around Miami. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Miami Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Miami Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.