We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more to want?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Hostel

Save Saved
You added Miami Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Miami Hostel
810 Alton Road, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Ohana Hostel Miami Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Interlaken, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What more to want?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I stayed there at the end of my two months backpacking trip. Everything was simply perfect. The welcome\reception was really nice (man from Turkey was really helpful and friendly), the rooms are nice and tidy (cleaning daily), two bathrooms in the room, internet coverage everywhere, good breakfast, felt safe as well. If next time in Miami - here again!

Room Tip: I had room nr ( and everything was cool. There are two bathrooms in this room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    16
    7
    1
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The Miami Beach Hostel facilities are generally good and have maintenance. On arrival they ask for a cash deposit, no other payment methods will be accepted.

The kitchen is very spacious and full refrigerators are excellent. It's weird sometimes find such facilities in hostels.

The WIFI access is very good, I had no problem during my entire stay.

Negative point: During my four days hot water was cut in several opportunities. The last time I took a bath, I did it with ice water having reported the problem on the first day frontdesk.

Have to improve the breakfast, it´s extreme poor. A coffee cups of tergopol, just one medium bagel, a little jam and cream cheese.

The attention of the owner is rude and distant, I had an uncomfortable day during my check out, I had to explain in detail to another employee who looked after me that day and hour handed the cash, because the owner I didn´t give me a receipt of payment when asked.

During my stay I used the whirlpool bathtub (under construction), has water almost cold and excess chlorine.

Room Tip: Asked to frontdesk to regulate the air conditioning in your room, sometimes the cold is pretty inten...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed in this Hostel in December 2012.I could honestly not fault this Hostel in any way,I was very impressed with this establishment and would encourage people to stay here if in the South beach area and would stay here for sure again myself.The price is also excellent(about 18-20 dollars per night).There is a very nice atmosphere at Miami hostel and the staff are all very nice+helpful.
Location is great you can walk to Washington avenue and Ocean drive in about 7-12 minutes and the same to the beach area.There is a excellent Liquor store beside the Hostel and and a grocery store down the street along with other stores and places to eat etc.Most of the bars/clubs/restaurants are over towards Washington avenue area.I got a taxi to this Hostel which cost 32 dollars.I was more than satisfied with my stay and encourage anyone to stay here its a well run Hostel which im sure will impress you,the price as mentioned above is also excellent!

Room Tip: I think they are all the same they are all very close to one another maybe only 10-13 rooms here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wardha, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Excellent location-just next to the bus stop and in the most happening locality of south Beach. Wi-fi, free breakfast are bonus. You can fill a bagfull of breakfast and actually avoid costlier lunch outside! ;-) A pool table and some disco lighting gives it a feel of a discotheque! Only problem is you might feel a bit too cramped in bunk beds as the rooms are very small. For the same reason, cleaning doesnt occur frequently. But a great value for money. I would stay there again!

Room Tip: 8 and 12 bedded dorms can make you claustrophobic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Only happened upon Miami Hostel as we had an awful experience elsewhere and decided to move here. Don't know why there are bad reviews about it. Staff couldn't have been any friendlier and were extremely helpful. Hostel and rooms are very very clean, free breakfast, organised tours and nights out, bus free outside the door. Couldn't fault it!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirano, Italy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a really nice place, with wonderful people, and ten min walking from the beach and even cheap.... You are in the right place!!!
You will find a great common room with a pool table, a jacuzzi and free breakfast. They even give you the towels for the beach!!! What else do you pretend for 15$ per night?!?i really suggest to go there

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

If you want to lost your stuff,
If you want to go to the jail because you complained of losting your stuff
if you want dirty room
if you want to treat you improper, so this is the right place for you.
My story is that i paid for 8 days and the 2nd day i tried to find my stuff in the common friedge after the cleaning of kitchen staff. I went to complain and the kitchen staff started screaming to me. I went to the front desk and explained the situation. The man there at the begining tried to find out my stuff but after came to me and he told me that he didn't want to stay any more in the hostel. I called the police and this man told them that i tried to hit them. The police arrested me without any reason. I tried to call my embassy but the police didn't allow me, neither let me speak with sb in my language. After, one day in jail with homeless, drug people released.This is my story! If you want to have the same experience you can live it! GOOD LUCK!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Miami Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Hostel

Also Known As:
The Miami Hotel Miami Beach
The Miami Hotel
Address: 810 Alton Road, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Ohana Hostel Miami Beach)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 53 Specialty lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Miami Hostel is a Party Tropical hostel that is one step ahead of competition in terms of cleanliness and its wonderful atmosphere.If you came to Miami Beach to party and have wonderful time, let The Miami Hostel take care of it. At The Miami Hostel you will you get free breakfast, free BBQ on Saturdays, free linens and towels, beach towels, free drinks before you go out, and a Limo or Party bus ride to the hottest night clubs in Miami. We have tours to the Everglades or Key West. Shopping malls are close by or you can soak up the sun at the beach! We have a fully equipped kitchen, free computers with internet. Free Wi-Fi network. And we recently updated our wireless network to reach all of the rooms in the hostel!You can hang out in the Jacuzzi or after you have had a few drinks join the club tour for that night with your friends. There is a liquor store connected to the hostel with almost anything you need for partying!We also have a 24 hour reception, pool table, vending machines, cable TV, central air conditioning, and an ATM machine!Our 14 spacious rooms are available in 6-8-10-12 Bed occupancies (Mixed Dorms & Female Only Dorms). All dorms include lockers, bathroom, shower/bath, hair dryer, makeup mirror, power outlets, and central air conditioning and secure key card access.Besides Jacuzzi we have a pool table, vending machines as well as tours to Key West, Everglades, Orlando and many other attractions around Miami. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Miami Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.