We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Betsy - South Beach to your Saves list
The Betsy - South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Breakfast with Betsy
Ranked #9 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
1 review
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

Traveled here for business, but would definately return for leisure. It's a gorgeous boutique hotel, in a prime spot on South Beach. Service was fabtastic. And the food at the BLT restaurant was amazing as well. I'd highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,113
    332
    111
    40
    15
See reviews for
291
839
69
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orchard Park, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

Husband and I stayed at the Betsy for 4 nights. It was wonderful! The staff couldn't be more courteous or helpful. We liked that the hotel is near the end of the Art Deco district and with an interior room overlooking the pool it was very quiet and peaceful. No trouble sleeping here. The location was perfect for going to the beach. We just crossed the street and we were at the beach where we had chairs, towels, and umbrellas to use. Very convenient. We ate at the hotel restaurant (BLT) and had excellent meals with great wait staff. The popovers, the chopped salad, the steak, the desserts, were all fabulous. And if you're not in your 20's (we are mid 50), it is nice to sit on the front veranda at night, with glasses of wine, and people watch. Loved the place and would go back again. Of course, because it is an older hotel that has been updated, the rooms are moderate size and the bathroom is tiny. This wasn't a problem for us and we did love the modern, updated decor.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

The roof deck is awesome. Great place to lounge or grab lunch. Also the BLT restaurant in the lobby is a bit of a scene. Good bar downstairs. Close to the beach - across the street.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

The Betsy is a stunning hotel perfectly located on South Beach. Unfortunately, we found that it got all the room basics wrong:

- no facilities guide / room service menu;
- only one drinking glass, which was dirty;
- an iron, but no ironing board;

To add to the list, the valet parking damaged our hire car during our stay (luckily we had car insurance). As i've read from other reviews on this website, this is a common complaint with this hotel.

All the nuances and negativities aside, the hotel is decorated in a miami-colonial style, the BLT restaurant is outstanding, and the staff are friendly but lack decent training and leadership. I don't believe the room deserves the $600 a night price tag, as it's certainly not a 5 star hotel. Next time in Miami I would rather spend the money staying at the Delano, as that is truly a superior 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

We loved this hotel. We switched to it mid-vacation, after a very unhappy experience with another hotel down the road. The Betsy is a standalone in Miami's South Beach. Stately, elegant, comfortable. The lobby is wonderful -- lots of action, with good views of the bar and restaurant. The lobby works for sitting and comfortably reading the newspaper or a book, while keeping one eye on the action about you. The rooms are not perfectly sound-proofed, with noises carrying over from the hallway and other rooms. But, even as a very light sleeper, I had two wonderful nights of uninterrupted sleep. This is not a college-scene hotel; the clientele during our stay tended to be quiet. The liveliness is kept to the first floor lobby area and the lower level bar (which is very cool). I would highly recommend this hotel and -- if I were to return to South Beach -- I would happily return to. The staff, by the way, were excellent. I suspect they recognized the post-traumatic stress we were experiencing from our previous hotel!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

What great service! I can not recall the last time I received such personable yet professional service from the staff of a Hotel. I am a Starwood member and there was no availbilty at the W on Ocean Drive and this was the next closest. I have to say I am thrilled that my regular hotel was unavailible.

Reo and Shane.......you could not find better staff if you tried. Room was cozy (King classic) and the food was fantastic although a little pricey. Would go again in a heartbeat. Do yourself a favor and book yourself a stay there.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

The Betsy is in a great location, a few steps from a Starbucks and across from a lovely entrance to South Beach---a bit out of the crazy mainstream hustle and bustle of Ocean Drive. The hotel building has been attractively renovated and the lobby is nicely integrated with BLT Steak which serves a fabulous breakfast, lunch and dinner. The lobby staff is informal, friendly and helpful. However, the hotel promised special, personal and "unforgettable" concierge service and the concierge staff was only ordinary. We asked for restaurant reservations in places that were low key and not trendster. The concierge totally missed the mark by booking all of our dinners in big touristy restaurants. After the first night, we canceled the rest of our dinner reservations and did better on our own. Our room was called a Betsy Grand Suite. While it was attractive, grand is not the right adjective to describe the room, and it was not a good value for the price. There was a lot of wasted space and the closet was in a strange and inconvenient location. We waited 5 minutes for the water in the shower to heat up---every time we used it. The housekeeping staff did a good job but there were never enough towels.
The worst negatives about the Betsy, though, are the non-existent spa, the tiny elevator and the "always booked for a private reception" roof deck. The single tiny elevator holds no more than 2 people comfortably. it is used by both the guests and the staff so, more often than not, carts, food trays, cleaning equipment, and/or luggage take up the entire elevator space. The Betsy promotes and advertises a wellness garden with a full menu of spa services using holistic and natural products, and a roof deck with sweeping views of the ocean--- a "perfect gathering spot" for hotel guests. Unfortunately, the hotel does not have anything that vaguely resembles a spa. Our initial spa services were abruptly canceled due to supposedly windy conditions on the roof. Instead, they were awkwardly performed, in our room, with products and services that did not, in any way, resemble the descriptions on the hotel's website. Of course, we were charged outrageous Mojito Mint pedicure/manicure prices for walk-in-type, minimally acceptable services. We canceled our services scheduled for the next day. As for the rooftop deck, we were only able to enjoy it the first night of our five night stay, as the other nights, the deck was closed to hotel guests due to private parties. When we went up to the deck one night to enjoy a cocktail and the views, we were asked to leave in a very firm and abrupt manor---bordering on threatening.
And so, overall, the Betsy is no more than a 3 star hotel, falling far short of its goal of being a luxury five-star boutique hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy is an elegant, historic landmark hotel located in the heart of South Beach. Relaxed tropical interiors and an intimate courtyard pool create an aura that is passionately low-key. Sharing The Betsy's lobby is BLT Steak, an iconic modern American steakhouse featuring a full Sushi & Raw Bar. Betsy's rooftop Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and complimentary sunrise yoga. The 61 room property cocoons its guests in timeless luxury, while offering an incredible view of the beach, exquisite amenities, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Splendia, Priceline, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Betsy - South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.