We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel.....nearly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Betsy - South Beach to your Saves list
The Betsy - South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A great hotel.....nearly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

My partner and i stayed at the Betsy for four nights in June and thoroughly enjoyed our time. The hotel is perfectly located on Ocean Drive within walking distance to the Lincoln Road area and most of South Beach. It sits at the top of Ocean Drive which is perfect because it is quiet whilst only being a few minutes away from the bars etc.

Our room was upgraded and there was a bottle of Prosecco wating for us which was a nice touch. The problem withe the room was the noise from the air con/boiler, the staff were only too happy to move us and actually showed us three other rooms so it was very well handled. The problem was the noise followed us and it really was quite loud, i used earplugs and my partner who usually sleeps through anything was woken in the night because of the noise.

The staff were excellent and the communal areas have been tastefully restored giving it a luxury beach house feel. The pool is small and there was a lack of service out there but it was still a nice area. The beach is two minutes across the road and you can get sunbeds there included in the price of your stay. Overall a great experience, if they sort the noise out i will return in an instant. The restaurant was very good also.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,043
    296
    94
    36
    14
See reviews for
267
767
67
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

We only got to stay one night at the Betsy and we wished we could have stayed longer. We booked a Classic Pool View Room. The hotel is modern and very chic. The lobby is decorated in neutrals. The room was terrific, it felt like we were staying as a guest in a fabulous South Miami Beach mansion. The bathroom had a built in TV in the mirror and it was super cool. Everything was immaculate, and the bedding was very comfortable. We ate at BLT Steak and enjoyed it very much. The service was excellent at the hotel and restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

This is a unique hotel compared to the other hotels in South Beach. It's not too big, but has all facilities you would expect in a hotel in this range. What makes every hotel stand out is when the staff is good an attentive. And yes, the Betsy has great staff, professional, friendly and attentive. The beach is right across the street with good towel and bed service. The room was not big, but well appointed. And since I like good food, the restaurant did not disappoint me, I had the best sole in years there.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

In the past I've stayed at the Shore Club, the Delano and the Setai ... all of which seem to have seen better days and are resting on their laurels. The Betsy was newly refurbished and in a great location (Art deco district in SoBe) on the beach. Rooms were a touch on the small side, but very comfortable and well appointed. Pool was a little small and only gets the sun between 10-ish and 3-ish .... but the beach is just opposite. I stayed there for four nights (check out their website for any special deals). Only disappointment was the restaurant BLT .... they claimed to have Kobe beef but when I tried to order it, they said they'd stopped serving it due to lack of demand ... not really a problem - but take it off the website and the big board in the restaurant if it's never available! Food was OK .... but just OK. Wouldn't bother eating there again. A slight problem was diplomatically handled by the management (my fault I might add as I was, err ... misbehaving?!?). Would definately stay there again - if they'll have me!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

I found this hotel to be one of the best I've ever stayed in, in particular in terms of overall service. The staff, in all areas, are particularly pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

My stay at the Betsy was wonderful. The room was spacious with an elegant, yet personal, decor. The staff and service were excellent. We were checked in on several tmes to assure that everything was satisfactory and to see if aything was needed. The beach was pristine, and the lounges and umbrella provided by the hotel were a pleasant surprise. The Betsy is a peaceful oasis in the midst of the vibrant husle of South Beach.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominican Republic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

We just got back from a stay at The Betsy and we were very impressed with the hotel, the restaurant and more important, the staff.

I travel a lot with my wife and two small children and this was one of the best experiences that we have had.

Location is great, hotel is in great shape, great lobby ambiance, etc.

What impressed us the most was the staff, I have stayed in SB hotels before and always found the staff attitude to be a bit standoffish. This was completely different, being in the service industry, I was truly impressed by the great attitude of the staff, I can really say I did not find one exception to the rule.

BLT restaurant, very good food, very good ambiance, try the hamburgers, you wont be sorry.

Overall, great place to stay,

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy is an elegant, historic landmark hotel located in the heart of South Beach. Relaxed tropical interiors and an intimate courtyard pool create an aura that is passionately low-key. Sharing The Betsy's lobby is BLT Steak, an iconic modern American steakhouse featuring a full Sushi & Raw Bar. Betsy's rooftop Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and complimentary sunrise yoga. The 61 room property cocoons its guests in timeless luxury, while offering an incredible view of the beach, exquisite amenities, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Betsy - South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.